Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
393
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 November 2006
If you've never seen Jonathan Creek, you don't know what you're missing. Easily one of the BBC's best comedy-dramas of the last 20 years, this series combines mystery, magic, humour and some quite superb acting performances from Alan Davies, Caroline Quentin and latterly, Julia Sawalha. A number of guest stars also add to the talent on view, notably in the regular appearances of Stuart Milligan as Adam Klaus.

This box set combines the four series and the Christmas specials. Even having seen them all before, I still had to rack my brain to remember just how some of these complex storylines eventually resolved themselves (on many occasions, forgetting altogether). This series is a reminder of just how brilliantly Caroline Quentin, in particular, can adapt to any acting challenge. The chemistry between the leads is perfect and it all adds up to a hugely enjoyable series.

If there's any gripe at all, it is that the extras, while good, are few and far between. Surely an outtakes section for each series wouldn't have been too much to ask? All we really get is a brief discussion of how the series was conceived, a commentary on a single episode, the original screen tests of Davies and Quentin and a few deleted scenes. All but the latter of these appear on the first disc. So if you're looking for a lot of bonus materials here, you'll be disappointed.

That aside, this still gets the full five stars because it's a brilliant series and one that every fan must own. Magical!
44 comments| 140 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
This box set contains the first four series of Jonathan Creek and Christmas specials featuring Alan Davies (also best known as a panelist on QI) in this highly successful murder mystery drama series. Jonathan, magic expert and scruffy amateur sleuth extraordinaire. teams up with investigative crime writer Maddy Magellan (Caroline Quentin) in Series 1-3, and theatrical agent-turned-TV presenter Carla Borrega (Julia Sawlha) in Series 4, to solve a string of seemingly impossible cases. The characters are wonderful, and they evolve greatly over time.

All the episodes from Series 1 and 2: 'The Wrestler's Tomb', 'Jack In The Box', 'The Reconstituted Corpse', 'No Trace of Tracey' and 'The House Of Monkeys' and from Series 2 are: 'Danse Macabre', 'Time Waits For Norman', 'The Scented Room', 'The Problems At Gallows Gate' and 'Mother Redcap'.

All the episodes from Series 3 and 4: 'The Curious Tale of Mr Spearfish', 'The Eyes of Tiresias', 'The Omega Man', 'Ghost's Forge', 'Miracle in Crooked Lane', 'The Three Gamblers', 'The Coonskin Cap', 'Angel Hair', 'The Tailor's Dummy', 'The Seer of the Sands', 'The Chequered Box', 'Gorgons Wood', 'Black Canary', 'Satan's Chimney'.

Fantastic crime drama, with a great twist!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2008
This is offered so that you can purchase both the box set and the Charistmas specials - be aware that the christmas specials are included in the box set - so if you click to order both you will recieve 2 christmas specials,and waste money
22 comments| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2005
This collection is quite simply brilliant. I've been an avid fan of the Jonathan Creek series since the first ever episode, 'The Wrestler's Tomb', was aired.
It's clever, it's funny, and just incredibly entertaining. Alan Davies plays Creek brilliantly, and both Caroline Quentin and later Julia Sawalha are both fantastic as side-kicks.
There isn't really much that I can say about the series that will will come close to doing it justice- it is THAT good. Buy it, enjoy it, and see if you can solve any before Jonathan does. Brilliant!!!
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2005
I am totally addicted to Jonathan Creek. The acting and writing of this program is excellent. Alan Davies is brilliant as he solves all the insoluable cases. It far eclipses other mysteries here in the States. But then, it IS British and that alone makes it a superior product to me. Please make plans to release it for our region. Even though zone free players are available, it would be nice to simply use the one I already own.
You'd be surprised to know of the popularity of this program in the US. Remember how Doctor Who took off??????
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2005
This is the complete collection of unedited episodes (apparently there are some cuts to series 4 in the two individual box sets).
A really great series which offers something different from your standard detective stories. Writer David Renwick clearly has a gift of thinking "outside the box" and has come up with 26 lovely stories where his lead character has to do likewise to solve some devilish crimes.
The first two series plus the two excellent Christmas specials are the best of the bunch, things went a bit downhill towards the end. But a lovely set nonetheless.
There is a featurette on the disc which features interviews with most of the major players in the first two series. This was a little dry, which was a shame as with some more judicious editing it could have been a nice piece. Still, it's better than nothing and helps wrap up a nice set.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2008
The box set is great but you already know this if you have ever saw any episode of Johnathan Creek, so I would definetly recommend buying this box set. However what I wouldn't recommend doing is buying the Christmas specials, which amazon says is frequently bought with this item, as the Christmas specials are included in the box set so there is no need. A lesson I learned much to my cost, due to the fact amazon told me they are frequently bought together.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
Recieved today, Opened and checked discs all in order and not blank like some other reviews have mentioned, good start. Just to clarify this boxset sent to me BBCDVD3327 only contains the early two Christmas specials - Black Canary and Satans Chimney as per Amazons dvd review, some other reviews state they have recieved the lastet two
Christmas specials as well, so well done if you get them, it seems that is a bonus. In this set you do not get The Grinning Man or The Judas Tree. I personally will buy them separately but it would have been nice for them all t have been in the box but one can't really grumble for the price.

Great series and will look forward to watching them all by which time i will have got the lastest two Christmas specials to watch, only 4 stars due to not being uptodate with having the other two in, no reflection on quality of series.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 September 2005
I really like this series; it is weird, funny and has a brilliant theme tune. One of the main reasons that I like Jonathan Creek is because it isn't always a murder that has to be solved, with the characters having to solve anything from the disappearances to thefts and premonitions this show is a breath of fresh air compared to many other mystery programs. Replacing Caroline Quentin with Julia Sawalha for the forth series is good as it introduces a bit more conflict and tension that was missing from the tail end of the third series. Another great thing about this series is the number of guest stars that are involved, especially Bill Bailey as a bumbling magician. This is a must buy for any fans of mysteries.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
As almost everybody says this is an excellent set of DVDs. One point about viewing: The Christmas specials should be viewed between the third and the fourth series, then it explains what happens to Caroline Quentin.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)