Johnson: Orchestral Music... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Johnson: Orchestral Music, Volume Two [Royal Scottish National Orchestra; Paul Mann] [Toccata Classics: TOCC 0452]

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £9.31 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
David Hackbridge Johnson: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 29 Jun 2018
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Frequently bought together

  • Johnson: Orchestral Music, Volume Two [Royal Scottish National Orchestra; Paul Mann] [Toccata Classics: TOCC 0452]
  • +
  • Johnson:Orchestral Music Vol 1 [Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra ] [Toccata Classics: TOCC0393]
Total price: £24.63
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: Paul Mann
  • Composer: David Hackbridge Johnson
  • Audio CD (29 Jun. 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Toccata Classics
  • ASIN: B07DCZ3V4X
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 37,892 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. I. Preludio Tragico. Molto Moderato
  2. II. Marche Funebre. Lento
  3. III. Scherzo Spettrale. Presto
  4. IV. Epilogue. Mesto
  5. Benedicite Maria Et Flumina, Op. 337, No. 4
  6. I. Allegro Con Brio
  7. II. Poco Lento
  8. III. Allegro Alla Burlesca

Product description

Product Description

The orchestral music of the English composer David Hackbridge Johnson (b. 1963) is one of the most important discoveries to have been made by Toccata Classics. This second volume brings two mighty symphonies: the dark and tragic No. 10 (2013), cast in a single monumental span, and the three-movement No. 13 (2017), a fierce and fiery affirmation of life. They are complemented here by an orchestral motet' which passes plainchant in kaleidoscopic review. Writing in Gramophone, Guy Rickards said of Hackbridge Johnson's Ninth Symphony: what is so astonishing is not his ambition in attempting such large, big boned structures [] but that he possesses the compositional technique to achieve them so completely. [...] This is a profound, complex and visionary utterance'.

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?