Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
62
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2017
very god as are all Thompson's books
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
I love this piano course, there are some lovely. Little tunes in this book and the course clearly shows you things like sharps, flats, and others relevant signs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Great books, very simple to follow. My son uses these books for school lessons and has progressed well with them
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
Perfect teaching material for an absolute beginner. A modern child who likes current music will love this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Just like Vols 1-2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2007
As a teacher I use John Thompson's easiest piano course with almost all of my pupils and the majority of them enjoy using his books.

Some of the first pieces in this book are easier than the concluding ones in book two but the level of difficulty soon increases and the last pieces are in E flat major and A major (in other words there are three flats and three sharps respectively).

The pieces are generally more tuneful than many of those found in other courses. Moreover, although the left hand sometimes plays chords it often is given a more interesting role.

On the negative side, the book is less attractively presented than books one and two. The illustrations are not as colourful and there are fewer of them. Moreover, the page layout is less appealing for the notes are smaller and thus harder to read.

Most of my pupils thus prefer to use copies of the original classic 1950s edition which has more illustrations (albeit in black and white) and is easier to read. New copies of the original edition (and new copies of the other original books in the series) are available from chappellofbondstreet.co.uk. You can of course also try ordering them from your local music shop.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
Ther are two versions of this book, the only difference is that one comes with a 'Training CD'. The book is very good, the CD is pretty awful. Most tunes are played at different speeds, but with absolutely terrible additional backing. This is just not needed, and makes it very difficult to hear what you want to hear, the piano. Save some money, buy the book only version.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Bought for my son ( 8 years old ) and myself both of us are beginners. Really like the book and my son finds it right for his level, the only one gripe is that the duet part for me to play is quite a bit harder than his and so I find it a little trickier. Nontheless would recommend as with all the other books in the range.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
I have 2 copies of this book (one is more than 50 years old!). Although most of the pieces are the same it has been modernised well. It's helpful as a parent because there is lots of explanation - to enable you to help your child. Nice pictures / diagrams so keeps the interest of small children
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)