Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
60
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2008
I saw this film twice at the cinema. It tells the immortal story of Akbar, the greatest Mughul Emporer, as well as the circumstances surrounding his meeting, marriage and early life with his new Hindu wife, Jodhaa. The two protagonists do stirling work of portraying their characters and have great chemistry - something that is absolutely needed in a film such as this. It left me with such good feelings after seeing it I will be looking to buy the DVD when released. The only downside of the DVD that could seriously make me rethink my purchase is the running time. It is advertised as 120 minutes on Amazon. At the cinema, the film was three and a half hours (210 minutes)long. This may seem a long time to some but it flew by and every part of the film was needed to the proper flow, pacing and development of the story. I sincerely dread to think where they have made the cuts which is nearly an hour lost. Too much for a film of this calibre which really should be released on DVD at the same running time as in the cinema.
44 comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Lavish. That's the best word to describe this film. The packaging itself is lavish - a card sleeve with metallic looking images holds the 3 disk set, even the message at the beginning of the feature to say that no animals were harmed during filming is done in an extravagant way! The colours jump out at you in this film, almost every scene is saturated in a mixture of deep or bright tones, often contrasting to stimulate your eyes into an optical frenzy!

The film starts like a good old fashioned war epic, but the stylish modern directing style is evident and brings the film right up-to-date. The plot is a bit spoon-fed, with a narrator establishing the scene and describing the state of Hindustan during the 16th Century. But in a film of complex political intrigue and dynastical bonds - a little help is welcome!

As someone with a limited knowledge of religion - this film proved to be a fascinating insight into the basic differences between Hindu and Islamic faiths, and the consequences of how strong the reaction can be when the two clash. And the centre of that clash is the budding romance between the Emperor and his new, but reluctant Empress.

In many ways this is the ultimate feminist film, Jodhaa calls all the shots and everything that happens, happens on her terms. Hritik is perfectly cast as the Emperor Akbar. His physique commands the power such a role needs, whilst his boyish charm reflects the vulnerability and compassion of a man who came to power when just a child. The romance between the two is genuinely intriguing, and is given energy by the opposition it receives from all those around it.

In a nutshell: This is the story of how a boy Emperor becomes a man and though often ruthless, he attempts to unite the nation by preaching acceptance. His decisions court controversy, and gestures and actions are loaded with politics and power play. The Emperor Akbar and his Empress Jodhaa, are both united and isolated by a very unconventional marriage.

Despite the description (unless the page has been updated) this is a 3 DVD set. The first and second DVDs contains the first and second parts of this three and a half hour film, whilst the third contains special features.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
If you read fact not fiction, if you prefer gritty realism or disturbing violence, then stop looking at this film now because you will despise it.

Yes, it's long and carefully paced. Yes, there are a couple of moments which seem quite extraordinary or even trite to a Western filmgoer. But if you love beauty and colour, if you are tired of modern cynicism, then buy this film now and fall in love with it. The story of Akbar and Jodhaa's love is intertwined with that of Akbar growing into his strength as Emperor, with intimate court scenes sandwiched between epic battles. Every shot is saturated with colour, the lighting is exquisite and, for a non Hindi speaker, the English subtitles perfectly match the mood and timing of the visuals and dialogue. Hrithik was born to play this role with every thought and emotion that Akbar feels expressed in his eyes, Ash has never been lovelier and the film climaxes with the most stunning fight in cinema history. Just be warned - you will watch this epic film over and over again, and all others will pale into insignificance.

Note for the blu-ray dvd: Although the detail is staggering, the blu-ray version appears to be less letterbox than the ordinary dvd, with the ultimate sides of the film removed (someone tell me what the technical phrase is for this, please!)so if you prefer to see all of your widescreen film, you might want to stick with the ordinary dvd.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
This film is not just one for the Bollywood fans. It's based on real events about the love of Akbar, one of the greatest Mughal Emperors, and a Muslim, for a Rajput princess Jodhaa who is a Hindu. It is an epic with the usual Indian film cast of thousands but it is filmed in the locations where the story is set so if you have travelled to Rajasthan you see what the palaces looked like furnished with silks, perfumed with precious woods and cooled by fountains etc.
In this modern era of secular distrust between Hindu and Muslim, it is nice to see that toleration is encouraged and many of the Muslims are good people.
If you buy this film, go for the extended version. Apparently it is longer then the single disc.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2008
Let't get one thing straight , you haven't watched anything so opulent, so magnificent like this one in a long long time on the hindi screen.
It's not just body beautiful, but there's soul as well!. It looks gorgeous, the red brick palaces, the desert forts, the green flashes of parrots , the snowy white fantail pigeons,It's all a visual feast.

Coming to performances, the main stars showcase natural chemistry and personify their charecters so much that you forget you are watching actors playing a role!Aishwarya Rai is a ravishing Jodhaa,and Hrithik Roshan looks picture-perfect as Akbar.

As a director, every frame of Jodhaa Akbar is impressive!!!The magnitude to put together a historical film and blending a love story is no easy feat. Ashutosh Gowariker succeeds in producing a film that is sure to be among the best of 2008.

To sum up Jodhaa Akbar leaves you spellbound, entranced and awestruck!!I felt privileged as a moviegoer. Privileged that such a film had been made!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2008
Visually stunning, beautifully acted, moving, battle scenes that dont have the cloned-by-computer look that we've seen recently in the west.
It is basically a beautiful evolving love story that is very 'from the heart'. It is also about a great and good ruler who is wise, caring and had unusually high principles for his times..
It is sumptuous and shot in some stunning palaces and sets.
There are some battle scenes but they are short and symbolically violent rather than going on about realism as Hollywood seems to prefer (and I avoid thesedays). Some may not like the lack of realsim in that but frankly I got the point long ago about war and I dont need to see gut-wrenching images to drive that point further home. This isnt about war even though old power struggles and conspiracies are part of the times and woven in.
The ending is satisfying and the film reminds you about the higher points of being loving, wise and evolved as a human being.
The music is more subtle and traditional and Hithrik doesnt get to dance yet the music is also evocative and I tracked it down for its own merits even though I usually prefer the upbeat catchy Indian music.
Even the English subtitles are credited with the name of the translator. Rightly so as the words are poetic and beautiful.
Very fine performances from Hithrik and Ashwairya who were born for these roles.
Its cinematography is beautiful and the whole movie not only isnt amateurish but is superior to most coming out of Hollywood.
Beautiful.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2008
I haven't actually watched the DVD yet, as I only got it today... But I thought people might find it interesting to know that this is the collector's edition with 3 DVDs and postcards. It didn't say it was this edition in the product details, so imagine my surprise when I opened the box to see that it was the collector's edition with deleted scenes and extra features!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
I must admit that I haven't watched a Bollywood film in years, and when I have, the theme has always been the same -good triumphs evil and lots of singing and dancing! So, when I was at home with my family at Christmas, my eyes rolled when my mum said that she wanted to watch an Indian film that apparently had won lots of awards. As I rarely get to spend much time with my parents, I thought what the heck I'll sit and watch it with them, but had a book by the side of the sofa just incase

Jodhaa Akbar is a sixteenth century love story between Jalaluddin Muhammad Akbar (known as Akbar the Great) widely considered to be the greatest of the Mughal emperors, and his Hindu wife Jodhabai.

When Akbar won the allegiance of the Rajputs, in order to further strengthen relations, the King offered him his daughter to marry, Jodha, a fiery Rajput princess. Jodhaa initially resented the political marriage of convenience; she was strong to her faith and continued to practice her religion and was clear to point this out to Akbar. Akbar allowed her to practice Hinduism despite protestations by his Muslim entourage. The film revolves around Akbar's challenge to win the love of Jodhaa. Of course there are people who try their best to spoil things between them, but lo and behold they get there in the end!

I never thought that I'd sit through the whole film, but it was a pleasure to watch. The actors, Hrithik Roshan (plays Akbar) and Aishwarya Rai (plays Jodhaa) were not only pleasing to the eye but superb. I can only imagine that this film must have cost a lot to make...

My mum & dad enjoyed it soo much that I bought it off Amazon for them to add to their collection of films.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
This was my husbands favourite movie so I decided to surprise him with it. It is an amazing story that everyone should watch at least once even with subtitles. It came quicker than expected and nicely packaged I definitely recommend this!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
One of the best Bollywood Films of all time. Plus based on a real life story. Princess married to a King of great Honour, Respect and Integrity. Can the man behind the Kings status win the heart of his wife and his people?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)