Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2017
There isn't much I can add here which hasn't already been said, I suppose. But I felt like writing something because I enjoyed these programmes so much and feel almost bereaved that I've completed them all - almost the way I feel when I've had a good holiday and can't imagine how life can go back to normal.

I vaguely remember this being on telly in the early nineties when I was a young man (an aeon ago now it seems), and always thought this version definitive in the same way as Jeremy Bretts's Sherlock Holmes is claimed to be definitive.

I've never read P.G. Wodehouse, to my shame, but love Fry and Laurie both together and separately and can remember them being on telly back to the early eighties in Alfresco and The Young Ones, etc. Both men are geniuses with a breadth and depth of talents in music, writing and acting - comic and otherwise, both well educated and from fairly well to do backgrounds almost on the periphery of what still remains of the world Jeeves and Wooster occupy - all of which comes together in these stories.

The stories all more or less follow the same pattern: a trifling matter arises that Bertie needs to intervene in (e.g. matchmaking for a friend in order to avoid marrraige himself). Jeeves suggests a plan to solve the problem, which doesn't go well. Following the bungled attempt at the plan Bertie finds himself in trouble - this may or may not be Berties own fault (though Jeeves seems to have no problem taking risks and getting Bertie into trouble). Finally, Jeeves hatches another plan, again risking Bertie, which this time saves them. They exit the situation quickly and go back to London either by steam ship or Bertie's exquisite Astin Martin Lagonda(?).

The stories take place in Bertie's posh rooms in London or New York, The Drones Club (a raucous cresh for upper class twits), several vast country houses or the odd location like Budleigh Salterton or a village fete. The characters are all grumpy but titled and wealthy uncles, battle axe aunts, simple minded dilettantes, openly conniving and blackmailing dilettentes, or idle, dimwitted young men. (A stand out is Spode, the pompously fascist 6th Earl of Sidcup, and possibly my favourite).

The characters all have old fashioned names like Bertram, Dahlia, or Augustus, which don't suit them or childish nicknames that do: Corky, Tuppy, Stilton, etc. Everyone dresses for the occassion, evening dress for dinner, or a morning suit with a cane, etc. The men all drink and smoke at all times of day and all know each other from Eton and Cambridge.

Bertie himself probably isn't as dim as he's painted, and certainly isn't as crass as many of his friends at The Drones. He has a quick wit to be fair, and is amiable and good natured to the point of being gullible. Also he has no wish to take responsibility for anything and trys to avoid marraige at all costs. Certain individuals take advantage of these traits in various stories and Bertie appears to bring it all on himself.

The sphere these people all exist in is the high society of the British Empire in the 1920s, they are the 1% of the time and the rules are different for them. They mostly don't work, they have no real problems, certainly not money problems, and there are no consequenses to anything they do. Everything else is taken care of by the gentleman's personal gentleman.

Nothing serious happens but it's all frivolously amusing, and takes you away from the real world for a bit - I loved the stories and it's about time I read the books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
This is along awaited remastered version of the classic series and does not fail to meet expectations. Fry and Laurie's portrayal of the P.G. Wodehouse twosome is flawless, and this is an overdue much improved quality version. I only wonder if it will ever make it onto Blu-ray?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
This review would probably help those people interested in buying this set of DVDs and enjoying the presentation without ever having never read P.G.Wodehouse! Those who have read Wodehouse, well what can I say.

This set of 23 episodes presented in a Sepia-like colour effect and packed in a wonderful plastic box that contains all 8 DVDs, has a charm of its own that is difficult to describe. Being grainy, the individual episodes could have benefited from a digital 'restoration' that would have done them wonders. However, I feel that if modern/natural colours had been used, the charm of these episodes may have been robbed.

Be that as it may, Hugh Laurie who plays the hapless aristocrat Bertie Wooster who always finds himself in strange if not ridiculous entanglements, is ably rescued by his suave and debonair butler (technically, Valet) Jeeves played perfectly by Stephan Fry. Each episode is separate and not 'directly' linked to the previous though there does exist a connection as far as characters and events are concerned. My suggestion is that you should begin watching right from the first episode rather than starting, say Series 3 first!

Anyway a good bargain at the price it is available from Amazon and a delight to possess. So, sit back and begin with the arrival of Jeeves (Series 1, episode 1) immediately after Bertie is fined for having stolen a policeman's helmet, and is totally drunk.

What ho, guys!

2nd April 2012
I also purchased the new 'digitally restored' version of Jeeves and Wooster. The colours are much crisper and grain has been reduced as compared with the "non digitally enhanced" version. However, the aspect ratio as specified on the box is wrong. The presentation continues to be 4:3 and NOT 16:9 as specified on the back of the DVD carton. I don't understand how the information on the back cover clearly shows the aspect ratio to be 6:9, which it is NOT. The shopping page also specifies aspect ratio to be 16:9. This is something Amazon MUST check - how a product which clearly specifies the aspect ratio to be 16:9 is still 4:3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
It's the 1930s, London, UK. Hugh Laurie plays the spoiled and idle 30-ish playboy-wannabe, Bertram Wooster, who never does anything sensible. He seldom has any real intention to attach himself to anything or anyone, but spends his days playing golf, socializing and playing practical jokes. All of which he is terrible at.

In the first episode, after a night of heavy drinking and a fine (of 5 pounds) for knocking off a policeman's helmet, he hires Reginald Jeeves, a professional butler, on the spot - after Jeeves makes some sort of miraculous anti-hangover drink. Jeeves is played by Stephen Fry, a man only slightly Wooster's senior in years, but much so in experience - about practically anything.
Which comes in handy as Wooster is constantly getting himself into trouble.

Laurie's Wooster is certainly a fair cry from his role as Dr. House, but "Jeeves and Wooster" is a must for fans of oldfashioned British satire.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
I have watched them over and over ,I never tire of these great classic oldies!I just love Aunt Agatha!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
superb acting consistently good writing and high production values
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Great watch. Hugh Laurie is made for the part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Got this as a present, and I was in stitches.... Really brought back a lot of memories as did the other Fry & Laurie series.
This is a cracker... Really funny and worth watching.

Something you would NOT want to miss
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
My husband and I just can't wait to get home from work to watch another episode or two of this superb series. It is the epitome of classic British humour. Jeeves is always one step ahead of his charge. The era in which the series is set is just perfect for this type of comedy. Love the costumes, the elegance, and the decadence of the times. I would definitely recommend this one and will be re-watching over again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Very funny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)