Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
31
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2007
The photographs in this short book are quite good, it's just that the quality of tattoos in this book are very average, by Japanese standards. The text is extremely light and you learn practically nothing you didn't already know. There are several much, much better books on Japanese tattoos. Try Bushido & Japanese Tattooing Now. Both are infinitely superior to this. And much better value for money.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2002
Wow what a great book I have recently had a japanese tattoo as a back piece. Having looked through loads of tattoo magazines I bought this book from amazon and it sparked my creative side.Not only does the book contain lots of photographs of japanese tattoos it also gives the history behind the japanese tattoo style.
This book is a serious must have for anyone who is considering a japenese tattoo.10 out of 10 5 stars...
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2000
This book has the most fabulous photographs. It has more photographs than written content. The camera used to photograph the people is a very special purpose built camera only 5 of these actually exist in the world! The photographs capture all the detail right down to the skin pores. It is nothing at all like those cheap tacky tattoo magazines, the colours are all true to life. I think that this book and another book also called The Japanese Tattoo by Ian Buruma together would make an excellent box set. Congratulations to both Sandi Feldman And Ian Buruma (who incidentally wrote the introduction to Sandi's book) for delivering such a richly written and illustrated information to my own background as a Japanese Tattooed person. Thank you.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
i am an artist, designer and illustrator and a lover of japanese art, i bought this book due to considering a japanese tattoo and for my love of koi art. i was not disappointed! the large format of the book makes it easy to see all the detail in the photos, and the detail is amazing. there is a big chunk of writing at the start but not much throughout the book, the small text blocks that accompany the images are to the point and give a small amount of information, it would have been nice to know a little more than what the book states.
my only qualm with this book is that although the images are amazing, there are a few blunders in the mix, shots that have been taking too close, unrecognisable body parts in some shots too, also larger shots of the same tattoos appear every now and then, but you cant complain for the price!
overall taking into account that this book was first published over 25 years ago the work and images are a must for any fan of tattoos and japanese work!
Thanks
Banana jim
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
The book is ok but is more of a reference / history of certain japanese tattoos. Perhaps i didnt research it enough but this wasnt much use to me as i was looking for a large number of quality photos of tattoos for inspiration and ideas for myself. If you are looking for a book for the same reasons then this is not it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After reading the other reviews on this page I wasn,t sure what to expect,but let me assure you that this book is worth every penny.Great pictures.The only trouble is it,s not long enough. Buy this NOW
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2007
I like this book. Great art by some great artists. The text is simple and minimal, and the photo's are great quality large images. It is however very very old school. If you enjoy the flat simple technique of early japanese tattoo art this book is a must have. It's not that the tattoo's are of a lesser quality, it is just that they are very traditional. If you are seriously considering a great traditional japanese tattoo, or are interested in simply learning more about it, this book will be useful for you to see a good overal collection of the most common elements with short simple explanations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
Am very pleased with this purchase, though would have liked more of a written account on the meanings. Good for pictures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
i was looking at getting a cover up and started to do a bit of research as to what i wanted. i liked the look of japanese tattoo's so decided to buy this book to get some ideas. it is truly stunning. some of the art work is out of this world and it also tells you the story behind each character within japanese folklore. the book was first printed 25 years ago but dont let that put you off. i now know what i am getting done and can not wait for the work to start in november. a must buy... :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2008
This book is great! Having just flipped through it, you can see right away that the pictures inside are big and easy to see the detail. It also gives a little background to the different images used in a Japanese Tattoo. For example, it tells you what the dragon symbolises and where it originated from in the tattoo format.
I would recommend this book for any tattoo enthusiast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse