Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £5.99

Save £2.00 (25%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Jamaica Inn (Virago Modern Classics Book 12) by [Maurier, Daphne Du]
Kindle App Ad

Jamaica Inn (Virago Modern Classics Book 12) New Ed , Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 462 customer reviews

See all 67 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£5.99

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights (Emma Frost Independent)

A dark tale. A brilliant thriller (Daily Express)

Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner (The Times)

Book Description

A memorable novel rich in character and imagination.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1184 KB
  • Print Length: 302 pages
  • Publisher: Virago; New Ed edition (7 Jun. 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00825921I
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 462 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #6,630 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It's been years since I read this book so i picked it up once again to reread it with the motivation being the fact that I will be visiting Jamaica Inn in Cornwall sometime soon so I wanted to refresh my memory.

The story is about a young orphan , Mary Yeller who comes to live with her aunt following the death of her parents. When she arrives at the inn she sees her aunt is a shadow of her former self. Although Mary doesn't like it at the Inn she doesn't want to leave her aunt on her own. As Mary uncovers secrets and the evil lurking in the inn which is only frequented by criminals and not any respectable citizen, she gets drawn into some dangerous situations and finds the truth is even darker then initially anticipated which when discovered changes her forever. Along the way she meets Jem, her Uncle's horse thieving brother who forms the main love interest although there isn't a romantic bone in his body :) and also the mysterious albino Vicar Francis Davey.

A haunting tale of an evil and brooding inn landlord up to no good amongst the backdrop of the forbidding moors.

Lovely book, makes me want to visit Cornwall more then ever.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By emma on 8 Aug. 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The book is a masterpiece , the plot and feelings flow and twist and turn throughout. When you actually visit The Jamaica Inn it is exactly as its portrayed. You can sit in there and feel the atmosphere that was captured in the book , and let you mind wander past the modern look to what it would be like then ! And the other places look and feel as portrayed. I think that the actual places are features that can be seen in real life puts a real twist to the story which brings it to life for me. So is a must to read before taking a trip to Cornwall as with its narrative bring an already beautiful place in to its own , so take a trip and see the places it makes the story so real I'm smitten by both the book and the place I love it
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
One of my all time favourties! The most incredible book with twists and turns throughout. I absolutely LOVE this book. Give it a read!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really love Du Maurier but didn't find this to be her usual level of spellbinding suspense. I was disappointed by the main character going from independent woman to man obsessed. Of course it's a different time and place but would be nice if she hadn't gone from brave, different and independent do weak and dull. Also, aside from the genetic link to her aunt, I couldn't understand why she stayed at Jamaica as there is nothing to like in the aunt's character.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Can't believe I've never got around to reading this book before. Stopped off at Jamaica Inn often enough over the years for a meal and a pint, but I'd never been tempted by Du Maurier's book. A real ripping yarn of a story, which I'd thoroughly recommend to anyone young or old.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Daphne Du Maurier is an amazing story teller. Her characters are perfectly painted in words. It is a joy to be walking along the track from Bodmin to Launceston. I enjoyed every page.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A dark tale superbly written, the writers ability to describe the character's ,the landscapes, and events is fantastic, the book is gripping from beginning to end, but not a book for the faint hearted.
I am hooked on this author, and I will be adding more of her work to my collection.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Very good
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?