A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £11.00 (73%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£3.99
Kindle price
£14.99
Hardcover price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£11.00 (73%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Usually dispatched within 5 to 7 days.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Infinite_Books
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Order will be shipped within 24 hours from our UK based warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. We offer a full money back guarantee should you not be satisfied with your order in any way.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Jakob's Colours Hardcover – 9 Apr 2015

4.5 out of 5 stars 54 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£14.99
£4.49 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

There is a newer edition of this item:

Jakob's Colours
£8.99
(54)
In stock.
click to open popover


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton; First Edition edition (9 April 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444797670
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444797671
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 3 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 54 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 97,530 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

I thought it was a remarkable book - brave, big-hearted, and beautifully written. Harrowing too, of course, at times almost unbearably so, but Lindsay Hawdon meets the material with such honesty and courage we, as readers, can stay with it without feeling crushed by it. It's a first novel that clearly announces the arrival of a very talented writer. (Andrew Miller, author of Costa award-winning PURE)

A memorable debut ...There is a theme here that fits the complicated structure, about the stories we tell to spin hope from despair. The prose is poetic and on occasion luminously beautiful ... a powerful story. (The Times)

The book's fairy tale tone, and its themes of hope and beauty are matched by Hawdon's poetic language. (Independent)

As mesmerising as it is heartbreaking (The Times)

A deeply involving tale, hazardous and harrowing, Hawdon has a fine eye for detail in description... [her] feel for the subject matter is instinctive ... a well realised and unquestionably admirable enterprise. ... she'll go far. (Guardian)

There are moments of real beauty, and the central story is as mesmerising as it is heartbreaking. (The Times)

She writes with raw power. This book demands to be read. (John Humphrys)

Tackling the story of the lesser-known Gypsy Holocaust, Hawdon writes powerfully and sensitively about individuals deriving courage from what the can empathise with, during a terrible time. (The Lady)

Lindsay Hawdon certainly didn't pick an easy subject, but by heck it's an important one, and she's more than done it justice with this mesmerising and moving tale. A bewitchingly beautiful and utterly captivating story, which shows that hope exists even in the very darkest of places. (Heat)

Lindsay Hawdon's novel will crack your heart open (Sunday Express)

Book Description

For readers who love Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief, this heartbreaking and tender novel weaves back and forward in time and place between Austria during the Second World War, to Switzerland and 1920s England to tell the interlinked stories of Jakob, an 8 year old gypsy boy, his father Yavy and his English mother Lor.

See all Product description

54 customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 54 reviews

28 June 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
7 August 2015
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
26 April 2017
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
14 June 2015
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
17 June 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
5 August 2015
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
10 May 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
7 September 2015
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?