• RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £2.00 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders dispatched by Amazon with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Jail Bird has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Fun Meister
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: A book which is in good overall condition. This means that it will be largely free of page markings, the spine will still be in solid, tight condition and there will be no pages which are missing from the book. The pages may have slightly turned corners but overall the book should be clean to touch and enjoyable to read.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Jail Bird Paperback – 27 May 2010

4.5 out of 5 stars 344 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£1.25 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders dispatched by Amazon with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Jail Bird
  • +
  • The Make
  • +
  • Nameless
Total price: £25.96
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Exclusive Extract
Take a peek at the prologue and first chapter of Jail Bird.

Product details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (27 May 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007349408
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007349401
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.8 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (344 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 102,248 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Praise for Jail Bird:

'Fans of Martina Cole will love this' Teesside Evening Gazette

'Keane's have a grittiness and strong sense of place and character that make them especially compelling' Choice Magazine

Praise for Jessie Keane:

‘This is a riveting story, with gutsy, gritty characters and a genuine feel for the period.’ Books Monthly

‘A cracking story from a great new writer’ Mandasue Heller

'Jessie Keane gives us a fascinating insight into the rivalries and lifestyles of those who make fortunes out of a criminal way of life and of the lowlifes that carry out their orders.' Lincolnshire Echo

'Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante' Glamour

'Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel' Closer

'This is the sort of competition Martina Cole could do without and if Keane does hit the No. 1 spot it could be handbags, or more likely knuckledusters, at dawn' The Northern Echo

About the Author

Jessie Keane is the bestselling author of Dirty Game and Black Widow. Her most recent novel, Scarlet Women, the third in the Annie Carter trilogy, shot straight into the Sunday Times bestseller list. Jessie lives in Hampshire.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Jessie Keane is an author that had her debut novel `Dirty Game' published in 2008. It was the first in the Annie Bailey series of books and was followed by `Black Widow' and `Scarlet Women' in 2009.

I read her first book and was hooked. Annie Bailey was such a great character and I was fearful that Jessie Keane would follow the all too predictable path that others do of relying too much on a good thing.

After reading all three in the Annie Bailey Series I was even more worried. How on earth could she top her last three books? Not only did I love her style of writing but I fell in love with the characters. How would I feel with a new lead character? Would it be any good or would she fail at the first hurdle? To my absolute relief Jessie Keane is made of sterner stuff. Through my letterbox came her latest offering entitled Jail Bird and I excitedly ripped it from its box and settled myself in for the duration.

Lily King has just been released from prison. She has spent the last 12 years of her life behind bars for the brutal shooting of her husband Leo King. When she is released she is determined to set the record straight. Not only does Lily have to prove she didn't kill her husband, she has to find out who did. She is battling not only Leo's family who want her dead, but her own daughters who can't stand the sight of her.

This book was an absolute corker and I read the book cover to cover in 2 days. It is everything Jessie Keane does but better. We meet a great leading character in Lily, she has guts and determination and is absolutely focused on finding the truth. She has her battles along the way and the characters that make up the King family are right on the money.
Read more ›
2 Comments 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Great read. Don't want to put it down. Better than Jessie's previous 3 books. Great if you're a Martina Cole fan too.
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Oh Jessie Keane, what an unusual book, I couldnt put it down, read it
in two days. such colourful characters, we have all met people
just like them.. cant wait for the next book by Jessie Keane..
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Lily King is out of prison for the murder of her errant husband Leo. His brothers immediately threaten her, but, Lily is adamant that she was fitted up. She hires a private investigator to help and this uncovers the extent of Leo's infidelity. Lily embarks on a quest to determine if one of his mistresses is responsible, or if the true culprit be business associate or even closer to home.

The truth is revealed in some tense, highly dramatic final few chapters.

The King's of course are a significant crime syndicate, but this book doesn't really focus on their activities. So, this is a departure from a formula established by the likes of Martin Cole. The background of the family does however allow the author to portray events that would only happen given the underlying criminal background.

Once the highly dramatic conclusion is reached all the loose ends are neatly concluded too. It's a terrific read.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Jessie Keane never ceases to suprise me, I loved this book and can't wait for her next one. Very enjoyable and although the character Annie Carter wasn't in it, it was excellent.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
like this author cant spell either good read bit expensive sometimes cheaper in shops so I going to wait a while before I purchase more my friend bought this in shops for half the price but good reading
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I read a lot of reviews that said this book was not Jessie's best but i read it anyway and i thought it was brilliant. Half way through the book i was convinced i knew how it was going to play out but was pleasantly surprised. Would recommend to anyone who likes Mandasue Heller or Kimberley Chambers. Cant wait to read more of Jessie's books.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Lily King has just served twelve years for killing her husband Leo. Now she is out and is going to find out who really killed him as she knows it wasn't herself, but it's not going to be easy.

My Thought:

This book is very much in the vain of Martina Cole but not as gritty. The story is good and it did keep me guessing till the end.

For it's content the book was quite mild compared with Ms Coles books but not in a bad way. Yes there is the bad language and the violence but there is a good story too.

Lily King is quite a likeable character and it would be nice to come across her again to see how her life would pan out further. This is a stand alone book which is a shame because although this part if her life is sorted there is room for more.

A very engaging thriller that did keep me guessing and then there was a final twist. Anybody who does enjoy Martina Cole should try Jessie Keane.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback