Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
30
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 21 February 2015
This series about British navy under sail is looking as if it will be as good as others I have read.The depth of knowledge is outstanding.I would recommend this author to one and all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
A new author for me but I will certainly be reading his later books in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Vg
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2008
This book was a great read for someone like me who is not an expert on naval history as it was easy to get into and really made me feel I was there. The characters and situations felt realistic and engaging. The descriptions of the ships and the battles were clear and entertaining. The plot was original and thoughtful. I was not only entertained but afterwards felt much better informed about an important time in Britain's naval past. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2008
An excellent novel which deserves to be better known. Has a lot of well developed characters which gives good insight at all levels of the ships company and contains probably the best description of the Battle of Cape St. Vincent I've read in a fiction novel. Also seems to be a well developed back story for the characters as you get hints of their past on the 'Proteus' which leaves you wanting to know more. If you haven't read it, I recommend it and I'm looking forward to the sequel. The Jackass Frigate
review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2008
Not a bad read and quite enjoyable, but I did not feel the excitement that you get when reading an Alexander Kent novel. If the Author follows this up with a sequel maybe the charectors will become a little more expanded.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
I loved this book. It was ideal escapism, fresh and fast paced. The way it incorporated real hero's and historical events around an intricate and twisiting story was refreshing. I am not normally a nautical fan but this book has converted me. The only problem was it came to an end.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
This book is rather different in that there is NO single hero (progressing from Cabin boy to Admiral).
Well researched it is the story of members of the ship's crew and personages of the day. The author keeps the reader interested and carries one with him throughout the tale. It is significantly different from other stories of its ilk - though it shows the harshness of those days not a single seaman is flogged and the story rather promotes the spirit and cooperation necessary to make a successful fighting ship in those days. A super read with plenty of action.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Excellent start to what looks like a really entertaining series. Rather than build a plot around a central character Bond has developed excellent storylines around a ships company with great success. Should appeal to all fans of Jack Aubrey and Thomas Kydd.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse