Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 March 2008
Sorry for gushing but I'm a real fan of Jack Vettriano's work - I love the story-telling within each piece and the glamorous world he paints. This book, I admit isn't all about the paintings - it is actually a look at the artist - how he creates the work and his inspirations. So you get to see into his house, his books and the models he paints. I'm quite nosy and this is a classy piece of "through the keyhole" work. You get to see the artist in his natural surroundings. Plus I love the new paintings.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Really gives you insight into what makes the artist tick. In many ways his best book. Very useful for research purposes. As a matter of fact I have obtained a second copy to send to my model. It will give her useful information as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2008
I really liked this book, the pictures are great quality and being able to see Vetrianos studies was interesting. However as another reviewer said you don't actually get to see or read much about how the artist works other than some brief talk of music and inspiration, even with these small flaws it's still a book worth reading and one I come back to often for inspiration myself.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
Vettriano Disappoints.

This book has been long awaited by Vettriano fans; it was due out last year. The question is, was it worth the wait and does it live up to expectations?

The sub title: ‘Studio Life’ gives the content away. The book sets out to show Jack Vettriano in his studio with some of his many models. However, we are also given a tour around Vettriano’s studio, all three of them, as well as his various apartments. Oddly, being a book on ‘Studio Life’, we are shown very little of Vettriano’s working methods. In fact, all we are really shown are photographs of Vettriano taking photographs as well as some of the end results. Only one photograph shows us his work in progress and, as this is in the very early stages of that work, it will mean little to most.

Photographs there are plenty of, however, many are wasted space: just how many photographs of jack Vettriano’s palette do we really need? How many close ups of his ‘fag ends’ is the reader interested in? Is anyone really interested in a close up of Jack Vettriano’s paint-spattered shirt?

Considering the fact that this is primarily an art book dedicated to one of Britain’s leading modern-day painters, it is disappointing to find only twenty-nine reproductions of his paintings and, of those, only about three are new. On this level, therefore, the book disappoints. If you are a died-in-the-wool Vettriano aficionados then you may be able to overlook the books shortcomings. If, as are many, you are looking for a book of Vettriano’s paintings then you will be certainly disappointed. If, attracted by the sub title: ‘Studio Life’, you think you are going to have a feast of pictures showing Jack Vettriano’s working methods then you too will be sadly disappointed. If you are new to Vettriano and have nothing else, then this may well whet your appetite.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
I'm going to gush too....I love Jack Vettriano's work - all of it! I've got another book of his but this is now my favourite! The book gives you insight into Jack the man, the plot behind the painting plus a lot more. The paintings are beautiful, the text inspiring and tells a story about Jack the man. I think he's exposed a lot more of himself here than he's done in other books. I'm really glad I bought this book. It's a proud addition to my coffee table. If you haven't bought one yet, get ordering!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
This book deals mainly with life in the artists studio rather than with his pictures.
There are 3 sections -1) in the studio 2)asense of place and 3)cultural influences. Apart from aeasonable text the book focuses mainly on pictures of the artist at work in his studio,the stodio and the artist in the environment.
Most of the pictures are quite good but many of the artist himself are so terrible they should never have see the light of day.
Not nearly as good as the authors previous books.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2009
My interest in Jack Vettriano's style was fully covered by this book. As a novice it was very encouraging to see how someone self-taught can achieve such a high degree of success. There are many lovely illustrations,which help the beginner understand how a picture is seen and portrayed.This is a truly comprehensive and enjoyable book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
Love this book, it is interesting and informative and worth reading more than once. This guy is Brilliant.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Whatever you may think about him, getting even a small insight into the workings of Britain's most successful living figurative artist is well worth the read. Great photos of many of his paintings, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here