Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
885
3.9 out of 5 stars
Colour: Pink|Change
Price:£9.83+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2013
JVC Xtreme Xplosives In-Ear Headphones HA FX101-A

On package :
Frequency Response : 5Hz - 20000Hz
Sensitivity : 101dB/1mW
Cord Length : 1.2m
Driver : 10mm
Accessories : 2 extra sizes of pads
Gold plated plug 2.5mm

as tested on a scale from 1 - 10 :
Noise isolation: very good (7 - 8.5)
Bass Response : excellent (8.5 - 9.5)
Mid-range (vocal music) : acceptable (4.5 - 6.5)
Mid-range (Speech) : good to very good (6 - 8)
Treble : very good to excellent : (7 - 9)
comfort : very good (7 - 8)
Overall : very good (8 - 9.5)

Comfortable and snug, they don't fall out easily. The sound isolation is very good.
The bass response is outstanding. the treble is very crisp (too crisp sometimes) but mid-range suffers a bit during (normal) vocals which are almost drowned out by the bass and treble.

Compared to Genius HP-02 LIVE Earphones (which, for the price, are amazing) these have much nicer bass and treble, and about the same mid-range.

If price is an object ... go for the genius ... you can give them away if you don't like them and they come with a little velvet bag to keep them in.

Overall these in-ear are outstanding for the price. I recommend them for Dub-step, Heavy Bass, Pumping rock, Reggae, Rap, Ambient, classical music ... I don't recommend them for vocal/opera vocal classical/live rock (although they sound great ... the genius are more linearly responsive and therefore better all-rounders).
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Never understood how important bass was in headphones until these. Amazing quality, really love them. The cord is long enough but not too long that it gets in the way, great. And love the purple color, makes them easy to find.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
They have amazing sound quality, they are very comfortable to wear.....they are just great and I am enjoying using them.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
work great, fit nicely in the ear. About all I could want from headphones basically..
and apparently I need 5 more words...
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
AWESOME SOUND QUALITY AND VOLUME, BOUGHT TWO SETS BECAUSE MY SON TOOK MY FIRST SET BECAUSE HE THOUGHT THEY WERE GREAT.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
These headphones are awful, the wire is so thin, it was almost damaged by the time I got it out of the packaging. The sound quality is average as well. I was disappointed so returned them straight away. I previously owned the JVC HAFX1X and they were brilliant, nice thick strong cables and superb base, would definitely recommend the older ones over these pieces of cheap rubbish, the JVC HAFX1X came with a nice box as well and these ones didn't. It seems to me that JVC has tried to reduce manufacturing costs. Overall, I have nothing good to say about these, if you like the appearance/design of these headphones go for the JVC HAFX1X.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
my only criticism is that these are a bit big for in ear headphones . that said they do make a big sound .
great choice of colours now . i lost my first ones which were red (the only colour at the time), and decided i liked them so much i was going to get another pair (green this time).they look cool with the lime green cables .
like all in ear phones they come with a selection of tips to ensure snug fitting .
the tips are angled into the ear canal and the main chamber sits in the ear nicely.
the sound for the price is staggering .
thumping , booming bass . low subs , well rounded mids and clear highs .
may need a bit of running in but sound pretty good after a couple of hours play . (may sound a little flat at first).
sound isolation is pretty good and cable noise almost non existant .
i listen to most kinds of music from classical and kate bush right through to thrash metal , dub step and hardcore dance , these phones work well on all at all volumes and improve with use .
the next phones above these for sound quality are the sound magic e10 's but you are looking at double the price .
for budget in ear phones , these are up there with the best .
if you don't want to spend hundreds of pounds for big sound earphones (some of which can be very clinical and bright in there soundstage) you can't go wrong with these barrels of warm sound tucked into your ears ..... and if you don't believe ME read some more reviews .
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2012
These headphones are by no means great, however i bought then for a smudge over £14, and so for the price they are pretty good.
Now, dont believe people who say that these are better than say sennheiser's or the like. These may have good bass (very good actually, especially when used with an equaliser like DSP manager) but the mids and highs are muddy and not brilliant.
However having said this, these headphones are great for going out and about when you may not want to take your £100 headphones (the reason i bought these) or if you dont really care about the overall sound quality, or just want the bass for dupstep or similar.
These are really bright, and while feeling flimsy, they look really nice and you cant really hear knocks on the cable, so these are quite good for gym or other excerise.
These cans stay in your ears pretty well, and they block sounds really well for the asking price, id estimate they block out about 70-80% of noise. But if you want really good isolation and comfort i reccomend trying to get hold of some COMPLY earbuds (quite costly) these tips are availible on thier website, and need shipping from america so this may put you off.
If you get thorugh headphones easily, these headphones arn't really for you, but most people will probably find these adiquate for travelling and day to day use.

So in summary (or for people who CBA to read the main body of this review) :
Pros:
Stay in your ears
Block a good amount of noise/ have good isolation
Good bass response
Look really nice
Cheap.

CONS:
flimsy
muddy mid's and high's

My advice: Give them a try, for £14 you really cant go much wrong.
EDIT: just bought another pair (lost mine) and the new packaging is terrible! a nightmare to get open, cut my fingers.
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Loads of bass ,and a good compromise between sound quality/size.As others have mentioned the cable is a bit fragile and you do need to take care not to damage or they won't work for long ,hint don't pull them out of your ears by the wire and hold the jackplug when removing from your device, but are genuine not fake as some buyer 's state after breaking them due to mistreatment .For a tenner I don't think you'll find better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
I have bought these headphones not ONCE, not TWICE, but TWO TIMES. They are great. The first ones I had were red and now I am trying green because I am an outgoing young fellow. The sound quality is great - I listened to an album by The Beatles the other day and I'm sure I heard Ringo do a fart. Incidentally I would rather hear Ringo fart than listen to his solo album ever again. Not even JVC XTREME XPLOSIVES can make that a pleasant experience. Before I go let me tell you some other useful information about this product.

There are 3 bud sizes so whether you have tiny weeny ear holes or echoey cave-like ear holes you are safe. I use medium because I'm not a freak of nature. It feels like a little music bug is nestling in my ear, like the babel fish from Hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy, but musical. I call it the Rave-L fish because I listen to a lot of trance music.

They will last for TWO YEARS. Well, my first set did. That's about as long as a hamster or rat will live. If I had to choose between a hamster/rat or these headphones I would choose the headphones. I know this is true because I literally just bought my second set of headphones, instead of a hamster/rat.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 24 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)