Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2014
At last, clear evidence of the establishment's craven appeasement of Islamofascism - don't they learn that the more you give in to a bullies, the more aggressive they become? What I hate is the way Islamic fundamentalists whine about their rights, but as soon as they become the majority, they take away everyone else's freedom. Murray's wonderful book is memorable for a single image - liberal secularists poking the paper hornets' nest of largely dead institutional Christianity for years, and they are shocked when they get stung by a living colony of religious hornets - running away as fast as they can. 'Brave', edgy comedians mock everything EXCEPT Islam because in essence they are neither brave nor edgy. The only exception to this is the wonderful Chris Morris and 'Four Lions'. Murray's book opens your eyes to the self censorship that Morris refuses to engage in, showing how freedom to criticise Islam is rapidly becoming illegal as a 'hate crime'. Read Murray's book and begin to see the conspiracy of silence...
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I have watched Douglas Murray in action in debates against the likes of Mehdi Hasan and Maajid Nawaaz, and I have been a fan ever since. While I may not agree with everything he says about neoconservatism, I do enjoy and look forward to hearing him espouse his arguments. And that's what this book highlights - the need to be able to have dialogue that others may find unsavoury. Islam and censorship have become almost synonymous in recent times, and it's high time that those who have enabled the despicable nature of this religion to stifle opposition, are held accountable. Which is what Douglas does so brilliantly, and humorously, in this book.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Murray, as ever swimming against the tide and telling it like it is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
This is an essential critique of fawning celebrity endorsements of a religion singled out for uncritical praise by a host of well-known people whose privilege and basic freedoms reside in the liberal democracy they take for granted and which would be unceremoniously crushed if they actually lived under the Sharia law they claim to respect. Douglas Murray entertainingly shows that whilst naturally none of these fêted twits will actually convert to Islam and practise what they ostensibly preach, many are eager to be seen publicly to validate Islam, in a show of bad faith designed to avoid potential violence from the Prophet's adherents, which befalls some who dare to find fault with the religion. Murray argues that when even "independent -minded" and iconoclastic writers like Martin Amis backtrack so cravenly after fearing that their criticisms might cost them their lives, then we must strenuously oppose indiscriminate and baseless "Islamophilia" before a simply muted society becomes irremediably mutilated.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Read it in half an hour but it contained some extraordinary insights in to the bizarre world of Islamic apologists here and abroad. Timely... but I feel Murray should have held out longer for even more material that seems to surface on a daily basis. Obviously, if you read this essay, you will be partitioned by the left as an islamophobe, a racist, a nazi and a Zionist. However, this is the modern world and if you are equally angered and laughing out loud at its content, there are worse things than name calling. You will always know you are a realist and an intelligent human being, regardless of the apologists method of debate.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Plumbs the depths of British dhimmitude. Hilarious if it weren't so utterly tragic and hopeless for the country and what goes for leadership these days.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Aside from Chris Morris' Four Lions there have been virtually no satirical works of art on Islam in recent years. This is odd considering the potency of Islamic extremism. There have been fierce debates on the topic of integration. The Muslim population of France is now around 10% and France's values are really quite different to those of Islam. Marine Le Pen is looking like a plausible presidential candidate - scary considering her predecessor/Dad was a holocaust denier.

If moderate voices don't take the lead in this debate then extremists will. But so few liberal minded people have anything negative to say about Islam, whereas they will gladly attack the Judaeo-Christian tradition. It's as if post-imperial guilt is too much to bear, and one must reserve one's rage for America and Israel. Israel, its economy is smaller than Greece's and it's surrounded by enemies. Yet liberals in the West will go out of their way to denounce it - but will they extend those sentiments a Muslim country? Only if they really have to.

Douglas Murray describes, in hilarious detail, the moral cowardice of everyone from Prime Ministers to leading novelists. They present themselves as free thinking, maybe even radical, but they swiftly suspend their critical faculties when conversations turn to Islam.

The West is becoming increasingly secularised. Tony Blair's spin doctor famously said 'we don't do God'. Christian's say they feel increasingly marginalised and they kind of have a point - we tend to treat them with tolerance or ridicule. But why do we fear criticising Islam? Charges of Islamophobia are instantly bandied around when we do. Murray argues that the charge of Islamophilia - love of Islam - is a more appropriate accusation these days.

Question: would there ever be an Islamic equivalent of The Life Of Brian? I'd like to think so, some day - but it seems unlikely.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Following the London Bombings and listening to politicians, the BBC, news and current affairs shows we may well have, if taking the pundit view without any mental examination, believed that Islam is indeed a religion of peace and as they were so quick to point out, that the massacre of 52 Londoners had nothing to do with the faith.

Evidence from around the world showed otherwise so I got a bit of education.

This came via Amazon and consisted eventually around 35 books on the subject.

They ranged from history to doctrine and back again because in the final analysis it all boils down to the origin and its unchangeability by believers.

Our establishment has fallen hook, line and sinker for the disinformation, quite readily in fact, and those books set me on the straight and narrow of the truth.

Murray is a true gem and I bought this book, incidentally introducing me to kindle in the process.

He pedals lightly and there's no blazing fire, yet his understated British style resonates all the more because of that.

Confirming my view that the grovelling and lying appeasement does far more harm especially to Islam whereby a public perception that we are being lied to enrages an already unsettled public, this book opens up a debate which has been suppressed for far too long.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
A different stance is taken in this book. Usually is is about Islamophobia. My guess is that there are many, many more people in government and other influential places who defer to Islam. Fear is a terrible breeding ground for this to happen, as Douglas Murray shows.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Douglas Murray sharply skewers the cowardice and ignorance of Islamophiles, those western "useful idiots" who enable and praise the retrogressive religion of Muhammadanism, or Islam as its benighted and touchy followers insist we call it.

The book's only fault is that it's a little too short, a squib when it could have been a metaphorical stick of dynamite.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)