Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
23
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2014
A good enough book, I read with an open mind, the story of a magic mask was a bit far fetched and didn't really feature much. The thing that annoyed me most was the book was littered with spelling mistakes and dozens of grammatical errors. Clearly not proof read. The ending was really weak, there was no big crescendo, it kind of fell a bit flat and in no way really explained why the main character was the way she was. It should be re-titled 'Unbelievable you' All in all, a freebie on my kindle so no money wasted.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
Liked this one less than previous ones I have read by this author. One or two typos (spellchecker presumably substituted incorrect words) I didn't like the heroine & was rooting for her to be abandoned by all the men that she cheated.
Kindle edition read in 2011
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Have read several Victoria Connelly novels and really enjoy her fun,easy style of writing. However, what was really disappointing was the number of typos - especially from an established author. What happened to proof reading? It might not bother some people but, for me, it really detracted from the otherwise excellent story.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
First off, how gorgeous is this cover?! Venice is the perfect setting for this book. It's magical and mystical. Dark and light at the same time. Exactly like Elena's story. Elena never meant to hurt anyone, but in her quest to decide who is her soul mate, she hurts a lot of people.

The magic of a Venetian mask helps her make her choice. It helps Elena discover her true self and she has some fun along the way.

There is a wonderful, warm cast of characters in this book. The 3 fiancés are all loveable in their won way. Fiery, passionate Reuben, solid, dependable Mark and Prof, the alluring, captivating older man. Elena's sister Rosanna is amazing. She compliments and contradicts Elena perfectly. They are so similar but at the same time, so very different. I loved their relationship and balance.

I knew who I wanted Elena to end up with from a very early stage. I was rooting for my man all through the book. And I was pleased with the outcome, although quite surprised.

This was a wonderful, magical story about discovering your true self and what you really want in life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
It's a bit lightweight for me but good for its type.

I thought Prof disappeared rather abruptly and would like to have known when happened to him. Also, I was disappointed that the character Want to wasn't developed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
Elena Montella is engaged to Mark, her work colleague.
Elena Montella is also engaged to Reuben, an artist.
Elena Montella is also engaged to Prof, her night school teacher.
Surely nobody can handle having THREE fiances?!
Elena decides to visit her sister Rosanna in Venice. She needs to clear her head and decide what she's going to do with her life. She finds herself wandering the streets of Venice and stumbles upon a mask shop. The shop owner gives Elena a gift, a mask that isn't quite what it seems...
Will the mask help Elena sort out her problems? Or will it just cause more problems than before?

Victoria Connelly has once again written a fantastic magical romantic comedy. The narrative allows us to get into the mind of all of the characters, there are plenty of laughs and some quite heartbreaking moments as well. Well done Victoria, another brilliant book!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Best for light hearted romantics... well written but found main character too frustrating for my tastes and this spoiled my enjoyment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
The story is quite simple, but OK for the money paid...what is really disappointing is all the spelling and grammar mistakes, it seems that no proof reading has been done. Also, most of the Italian words used are misspelled, wrong or terribly offending when the characters are swearing. I'm Italian and I believe she's been ill advised, especially when Rosanna says, quite often, "porca M...". This book could have been so much better with some attention to detail and English and Italian proof reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
this was my first victoria connelly book. well i have to say what a brilliant book and for free even better. i read it over a few days whilst on holiday. i couldnt put it down. a good holiday book. not a time waster worth a read. well done victoria connelly on an excellent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Not really a fan of unrealistic romance novels, and this did not change my opinion. The main character Elena is quite a likable character, however I wouldn't say the plot is very good at all, just feels like reading one possible outcome after another. Shes engaged to three different men, so goes to Venice, all three fiancees turn up, a magic mask gets thrown in, which doesn't really fit in but felt like an afterthought to make the book longer, then she decides to return to England and declare her love to her chosen fiancee and eveyones happy, it was really swallow and the ending was dull. A good beach book maybe?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here