Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
54
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2017
Often a second book tends to be a disappointment after the first. Not in this case. This is not a continuation of the previous story. It is more of a detective story. That said the proof reading is still poor. There are fewer spelling errors in this book, but it seems obvious to me that no one read it through for misused words of which there were many.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
This is the second book in the author's 'Tales of Empire' series. The books largely stand on their own, and, although there are a few links between them, you can read one without having read the previous one.
This episode is well written, and well thought out; it isn't the most original or surprising story, but it still kept me interested right until the end.
Unfortunately, the grammatical and spelling errors crept in again towards the end, although they weren't as bad as some self-published efforts. However, it really does spoil the overall impression.
Overall, a readable story, in an imagined world. If you haven't read anything by this author, and you like historical fiction, then I would thoroughly recommend this series, or his 'Marius Mules' series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2017
A second saga in the series and every bit as good as the first. Simon Turney keeps the reader on the edge of their seat as the plot twists and turns with deceit, murder and intrigue. A sad but credible end to this episode with a twist at the end that was quite unexpected. Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
Ironroot is the first of this author's work I have tried, and what can I say? It's dark, tense, pacy, delightfully twisty and evocative and I found myself being sucked into the Roman-like world in which it is set.

From the poetic and vivid opening chapter I was hooked and then only sleep or work could pull me away from my kindle as it wound its way around the lands of the Empire, following a tight-knit trio of characters as they bonded in the face of espionage and skullduggery. Indeed the characters really grew on me as the story unfolded, so much so that I was parrying every sword-blow with Varro and his entourage before long!

The 'hook' factor has left me wanting to explore the world of the 'Tales of the Empire' series, so I'll definitely be reading more of this series and the author's other works.

One of the finds of the year so far for me!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Just read it and even thought they are set in the same time frame they are independent stories with a hint of characters from the other stories. Just moved on to Dark Empress and again not disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Book 2 of 3 in the series and SJA Turney dosnt let the pace drop one bit, following on some 20 years after the first book we follow a great set of new characters and their journey for revenge, no plot spoilers here ( just buy the book), needless to say the picture painted in words is top quality making you wish you were there with them, a nice touch for me was the personal narrative at the start of some of new chapters by the main characters gave the whole book a more personal feel, and a deeper insight to what was happening, again SJA Turney delivers us a top quality read that is difficult to put down once started, on to book 3 next !!!!, if enjoy Simon Scarrow you should find the time to read more by SJA Turney, you won't be disappointed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Given the fact that I have read many of Simon Turney's books I would have thought by now that it would be nigh unto impossible for him to surprise me. I am used to the plot twists that he infuses into his novels, indeed I sort of expect them. However, in Ironroot, the second of three books set in a pseudo Roman world, he managed to do just that.

The protagonist Varro, a Captain in the Imperial Army, is wounded during a skirmish and is subsequently told that he is dying because the weapon used on him was laced with Ironroot, a poison with no antidote. When it becomes apparent that he was specifically targeted, a conspiracy to cover up a senior officer's treasonous activities unfolds. Thus begins a race against time as he and an enterprising member of an engineers cohort seek out the truth and possible revenge. What follows is an exciting tale of action, loyalty and a steadfast belief that they were chosen for this mission by a local tribal deity.

Now the author could have gone in many different ways with this including a formulaic one but this is where all the surprises in the plot come to the fore. The climatic scenes are wonderfully portrayed demonstrating Mr. Turney's vivid imagination and abundant sense of irony. I would love to be more specific but that would be unfair to the author and to prospective readers...after all, they deserve to be as surprised in their reading of this novel as I was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 June 2011
S J A Turney just gets better with every book, im just amazed that no mainstream publisher has not picked up on this yet and signed him up.

Ironroot:
Do the Gods control the destiny of men? Can the dead avenge themselves?

Captain Varro of the Fourth Army is about to have the worst day of his life, but in the face of hopeless odds, Varro will find justice, honour, friendship, love, and the favour of Gods.
In solving a personal mystery, Varro stumbles across a twenty year old tale of treachery and violence that threatens once again the security of the Northern Provinces.

As you would expect from one of his books you get a great combination of action pace, plot flow and great characters, all blending together to make a great story, one i will be recommending to all my friends.
(Parm)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2016
An enjoyable read that will appeal to all those who appreciate military historical fiction. However, the author would benefit from some editorial input. This is a common issue with self publication, but a little less 'growling' and fewer spelling errors would greatly enhance this book and others in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
this historical roman read is fully worth four stars , when commenced you want to continue reading to see how the main caricture Varro overcomes his problems ably assisted by his younger ,junior rank friend.
Quite similar to the Simon Scarrow Novels , altogether a very good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here