Ireland: My Song Love Unk... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ireland: My Song Love Unknown (Lincoln Cathedral Choir/ Aric Prentice/ Charles Harrison) (Naxos: 8573014)

4.4 out of 5 stars 10 customer reviews

Price: £9.18 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 3 Dec 2012
£4.78 £3.48
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
19 new from £4.78 2 used from £3.48

Frequently bought together

  • Ireland: My Song Love Unknown (Lincoln Cathedral Choir/ Aric Prentice/ Charles Harrison) (Naxos: 8573014)
  • +
  • Ireland/Moeran:Choral Works [The Carice Singers; David Norris, George Parris] [NAXOS: 8573584]
  • +
  • Warlock: Choral Music [The Carice Singers, George Parris] [Naxos: 8.573227]
Total price: £25.32
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: Aric Prentice
  • Composer: John Ireland
  • Audio CD (3 Dec. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Naxos
  • ASIN: B009TBNX4G
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 10 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 181,933 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Te Deum in F
  2. Benedictus
  3. Communion Service in C
  4. My song is love unknown
  5. Elegiac Romance (organ solo)
  6. Evening Service in C
  7. Christ the Lord is risen today (Sampford )
  8. Four Unaccompanied Carols
  9. Greater love hath no man
  10. I am trusting (Eastergate)
  11. Ex ore innocentium - Charles Harrison
  12. Capriccio (organ solo)
  13. Island Praise
  14. Evening Service in F

Product description

Product Description

Spiritually at home in the liturgy and fine choirs of High Church Anglicanism, John Ireland wrote much loved hymns and carols throughout his life. A fluent Edwardian style can be heard in earlier works such as the Stanford-influenced Te Deum and the Communion Service. The anthem Greater love hath no man took on affecting resonance when sung during memorial services during the First World War, and the ravishing Ex ore innocentium movingly responds to the agony of the Crucifixion in a rich, post-romantic musical language.


Here s an excellent idea: a whole CD of John Ireland s church music, which tends to be scattered piecemeal in anthologies. The impression it makes is very positive... the clean attach and alluring tonal finish of the boy-girl sopranos catch the ear particularly... the tutti singing is convincingly uninhibited. 4*/4* --Terry Blain, BBC Music Magazine January 2013

A committed performance here from Prentice and his Lincoln choir. --Philip Reed, Choir & Organ Jan/Feb 2013

[The Three Services] are so well sung here by the Lincoln Cathedral Choir, very sensitively recorded in the great building that is its daily home, that no listener of whatever persuasion can miss the atmosphere... the clear lines and clean attack, so necessary in the spacious acoustic, have been honed to good effect by Aric Prentice. --Piers Burton-Page, IRR January 2013

Lincoln Cathedral Choir under Aric Prentice s enthusiastic direction give excellent performances, with impeccable blend and ensemble. The balance between the lower and upper voices is ideal, and the overall sound is crowned by the bright-toned trebles.... A very enjoyable and rewarding disc, showcasing the fine quality of British cathedral music-making. --Christopher Nickol, Gramophone January 2013

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 10 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

19 December 2012
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
19 December 2012
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
31 October 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
14 December 2012
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?