Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2013
Great book and entertaining read - is more focused on preparation than the actual journey, so if you're looking or help with routes then this is probably less useful. Still a worthwhile read for what to bring, keeping crew happy etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
Most publications do not live up to the billing of the publishers on the cover. This is the exception. The snippet from the Cruising Association review actually says it all, "Brimming with practical advice interspersed with absolutely stunning photgraphs." We couldn't agree more! This doesn't look a big book, but you cannot believe the sheer quantity of information contained in it, The content is brilliantly thought through, making referencing easy and the layout is superb, making this packed volume easy on the eye. It's not a substitute for pilot books. It isn't intended to be and it doesn't pretend to be. It's a planning tool and a companion to the adventure itself. All the choices are there before you, but it doesn't pontificate on 'the right way', leaving the choices to you. This approach applies throughout, to preparation, to equipment, to passage options and to hazards.

We bought this book recently, as we plan a very slow dither around the UK and Ireland, starting in 2012. Our boat is already very well equipped, as we fitted out for the Baltic a couple of years ago, but there are still useful tips here. This guide will be our bible and our enthusiasm for the trip increases with every chapter read. This book sets a benchmark standard for guides that follow. Well done Sam and Imray!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
What a help this would have been before we did our trip! In my opinion this is THE book to digest before you go. I liken it to "Sell Up And Sail" (Bill & Laurel Cooper) in that it advises you what to take into account before you set off on a cruise around all or part of the UK and Ireland.
The coverage of the practicalities is truly comprehensive. The inclusion of the piece on Fender Boards, as just one small example, would have demystified (well it was a mystery to this 'Solent sailor') a simple technique for us before we went.
I like the fact that whilst it gives routing guidance it avoids being prescriptive. This means that the pros and cons of "clockwise / anti-clockwise"; canals or "round the top"; "when to go" etc are covered and then it's for the reader to make their plans and stock up on appropriate almanac, pilots, charts etc for their specific trip.
I think the "10 of the Best" sections on places/locations are an excellent feature as they illustrate the huge variety of highlights to be experienced on the way round.
If you're thinking of such a trip I commend this book to you.
If you're dreaming about sailing around the UK but wonder if you could do it, this book asks all the right questions.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2011
This book has everything you need to know about planning a voyage round GB (and Ireland). It has chapters on Planning your route ( this includes Canals), Finances, Preparations , Stores and Equipment, Provisioning, Mooring and Anchoring, Weather, Staying in Touch, Navigation, Life onboard, Safety, Hazards in Coastal Waters and Engine Maintenance and there is a whole chapter on where to go - set around themes of Ten of the Best: eg ten of the best castle anchorages, wildlife encounters, Whisky tasting, Culinary experiences etc.The book is packed full of useful tables and backed up by a lots of research from many yachts and motorboats who have done this trip before. The authors has included the odd story from her trip which make it entertaining and an easy book to read. Throughout the book there are stunning photographs which make me want to set off again.... we did the trip in 2007 and sadly this book didn't exist at the time - but reading it brought back many happy memories. Even if you weren't planning to go round the UK it has valuable info for planning any cruise.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
Sam Steele's book is a very easy to read comprehensive guide to planning a circumnavigation.It is packed withvery useful information, checklists and draws on and compares data gathered from 71 other circumnavigator's experiences in both sail and power boats.
The subject is clearly broken down into the various aspects of planning such a cruise and with the many excellent photographs it makes for very enjoyable reading.
I would reccommend her book to anyone who plans to cruise or already cruises whether or not they make the whole trip or enjoy just sections of our coast.

Clive Sparrow, Vice Captain of Cruising RLymYC.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
Essential reading for anyone planning to sail round the UK. Lots of great info in how to plan your trip plus suggestions on where to go. Also includes other people comments from their own trips, and how they did it.
After reading it you will want to get on and plan your own trip .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
We have a plan to sail round Britain next year and I wanted to get some practical advice. This book is well researched and was just what we needed. It has lots of common sense advice about planning but also "living" the dream. It has an informal style which makes it easy to read - it a well written planning guide. It is a great investment. It is also very honest - which gives us more confidence that this is an achievable dream. I liked the ten of the best chapter - it has given us food for thought of where we should go. Thank you we feel a step closer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Been sailing for donkey's years but Sam's book was enlightening and dare I say it "essential". As an old hand I take things for granted, do things without thinking and that's a problem on a big trip. Sam focuses the mind and takes you through what you should be thinking about. Whether you take her advice is up to you but for me I learnt an awful lot about planning and my trip went without too many glitches.

Thanks Sam, a book for new and old sailors.

billy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
I bought the first edition and this updated version has significant additions. A 'must' for anyone planning a circumnavigation of Britain or taking the Caledonian 'short cut'. Full of useful data covering just about every aspect of the journey. Good companion guides to this book include Cruising Scotland (Clyde cruising club), the West Country Cruising companion (Wiley Nautical) and the East Coast Pilot (Imray)to name a few.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Very handy to help you guide you way round the U.K. And Ireland a good source of information and is very helpful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)