Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
176
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.55+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2011
This is NOT a review of The Ipcress File as a film, see all the other glowing reports for that, but as a Blu-ray release.

Unfortunately, this Network Blu-ray release seems to have been sourced from the same master that was used for the old ITV Studio Blu-ray produced in 2008. Like the old ITV presentation, the soundtrack goes totally out of sync at 1 hour and 33 mins in...
A real shame, it spoils the ending badly. I've played it back on different systems with no improvement. It's certainly not a dubbing problem from the original film.
Has anyone else noticed the same fault? It is on both the original mono soundtrack and the 5.1 remix.
It's still worth owning, there are loads of extras and the film itself has never looked better.
However, it's a pity the sound problem was not identified and corrected by the otherwise excellent Network Distributing.
If it wasn't for this irritating sound glitch I would have given this Blu-ray 5 stars out of 5.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
one of the best films of the cold war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2003
Carlton has absolutely destroyed this movie. The strongest points of the film in it's original version are the atmospheric cinematography and John Barrie's haunting score. Unfortunately the 4:3 presentation offered here reduces it to an experience something somewhat akin to an overlong episode of 'The Champions' or similar 'ATV' production from the same period - 'kitch' with 'cool music' but nothing much else to recommend it.
The worst part of watching this DVD is that during the title sequence the movie temporarily reverts to widescreen and you catch a glimpse of how it should appear - a tantalising and frustrating 'taste of honey'.
Assuming your DVD player is capable, I would strongly advise searching for the US "Region 1" version of this movie instead which:
1. Is in original Widescreen format
2. Contains a director's voice-over and other bonus items missing from the UK version.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
The Ipcress File certainly has artistic merit for its camera angles and the framing of shots but for all the time the cameraman must have spent laying on the floor shooting the ceiling it doesn't become a distraction, though you are aware of it, and above all it's just a great 60's British yarn with a young Michael Caine at his best. The picture quality is very good for a 1965 film. I think we'e all guilty of expecting every Blu-Ray release to look so detailed and pristine that it's as if we are actually on the set seeing it with our own eyes...there is plenty of grain to be seen (a 60's patina, if you like)and some shots have a grainy haze apparent in the out of focus background areas but overall it looks very good. While it is mastered in 5.1 don't expect anything to actually happen around you. From what I can determine it's in glorious original centre mono with a bit of this bleeding into the rest of the channels to fill it out a bit. It's a 60's film...what do we expect? It sounds strong and clear. Die hard fans of the film should be thrilled to have it looking this good and newcomers will get to see a good movie that has been mastered to Blu-Ray at a standard that many old films can only aspire to.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
One of my favourite movies. Really evokes London and the cold war. Really strong performances not just from Michael Caine - never tire of watching it despite knowing the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Brilliant Michael Caine as Harry Palmer another great film score, John Barry. I believe this is now on blu ray but not the other two which would make a decent box set collection. Hollywood explosive films are becoming tiresome and predictive and the acting is secondary to British actors.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2004
In spite of the other reviewer who says this is the digital remasterd and wide screen version, it's not!
I still got the horrible Carlton 4:3 version. The picture quality and sound are really dreadfull, don't buy this one.
The picture for this DVD must be the US version of "The Ipcress File".
Amazon please change the picture of this DVD, it's not the one customers are getting!
33 Comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
A super transfer to Blu-ray with vibrant colours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2017
Decent film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse