Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
239
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£19.29+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2009
'Ip Man' is based on the life of the martial artist, Ip Man who was the real life Kung fu master of Bruce Lee. The movie concentrates solely on the events, which occurred around Ip Man in the city of Foshan (China) between 1930 and 1940 during the 'Second Sino-Japanese (China/Japan) War'.

In the movie, the main form of martial art that is displayed is Wing Chun, which specializes in close-range combat. Ip Man was the first martial arts master to teach the Chinese martial art of Wing Chun openly.

Ip Man is one of the finest martial arts movies produced by the Hong Kong movie industry. It was released in December 2008 to a widespread deserved critical acclaim and box-office success. The movie was nominated for 12 Hong Kong Film Awards, winning awards for Best Picture and Best Action Choreography.

The star of the show is the really underrated Donnie Yen who enacts the role of Ip Man. He is simply underrated because he has not been involved in many high grossing movies, whereas the likes of Jackie Chan and Jet Li have. Donnie Yen, if not better, is equally as talented as Chan and Li. In the movie, the way he performed the action scenes is worthy of an applause, simply jaw dropping. Yen performs the action scenes with natural ease making the fighting look beautiful and artistic. Now, coming to the acting, this is clearly Yen's career best performance as he portrays both a 'Hero' and a 'Wounded lion' with total conviction and raging aggression. The way he expresses his emotions both facially and physically is SUPERB. Ip Man is a Donnie Yen show from beginning to end.

The character of the main villain is portrayed by the Japanese actor, Hiroyuki Ikeuchi. His portrayal of the formidable Japanese general is impressive.

The movie is directed by Wilson Yip who provides excellent direction, succeeding in keeping the audience glued to the screen until the end. Ip Man is the fourth collaboration between Yen and Yip after the brilliant 'SPL: Sha Po Lang (aka Kill Zone)', the enjoyable 'Dragon Tiger Gate' and the entertaining 'Flash Point'. All these movies are of the action genre and showcase the chemistry and talent of the duo. All three movies contain stunning martial arts especially 'Sha Po Lang', which was hailed as a return to the classic Hong Kong action cinema. Ip Man is the best effort from the duo to date.

The stunning action choreography, which is a treat to watch is provided by the legendary Sammo Hung (Hong Kong Actor/Martial Artist/Director) who has starred in classic movies like 'Wheels on Meals', 'Project A' and also 'Sha Po Lang'. The beautifull choreography by Hung is displayed on screen by Yen's martial arts skills with finesse. The fight scenes, which are real and brutal are the best I've ever seen and will leave your heart-pounding.

Another hero of the movie is the background music score, which is composed by the Japanese composer, Kenji Kawai. The music is moving and compliments the narration and Yen's action scenes with sheer perfection. The music combined with the martial-arts display by Yen simply inspired me to learn Wing Chun, but after carrying out a reality check, I think I'll leave the martial arts to Yen.

The Blu-ray quality is excellent, providing crystal clear picture and heart-thumping sound. The screen resolution for the Blu-ray disc is 1080p (1920 x 1080 progressive scan), the sound format is HD MA 5.1 Dolby Digital, the audio language is only in Cantonese and the subtitles, which are non-removable are only in English. The disc is in PAL format and region B.

Ip Man is not a normal martial arts movie as it contains all the essential elements of an out-and-out entertainer. It's one of my favourite movies as it has a moving/emotional story, with a great narration, brilliant action, terrific performances and to round it all off, soothing and inspiring music.

It's an inspiring feel-good movie with Ip Man being portrayed as the real 'Peoples Hero' who fought for his people. Once the movie gains momentum you'll be rooting for Yen subconsciously and in the process you just might discover the 'Hero' within you.

Ip Man is strongly recomended as it is one of the greatest Hong Kong movies ever. As a result of the movies success Ip Man 2 is currently in the making and is being planned to be released in 2010, can't wait.

Once Ip Man receives international recognition (for some reason it hasn't yet) it'll become an instant classic.

Magnificent!
2121 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
I stumbled upon this blu-ray at the video store and almost didn't get it since it was hyped as the "film about Bruce-Lee's master". I thought it was just going to be a cheaply made and dumb kung fu flick riding the coat tails of Bruce's success. What I got instead was one of the best films I have seen all year, kung fu or no. The film is very well made, the emotional aspects very well acted out and integrated throughout the film. The characters are all very believable and IP Man is definitely the people's hero.

The film and story in itself is just a treat to watch as we follow Master IP Man's life just before and during World War II including the Japanese occupation. The Kung Fu fight scenes are just incredible. I had to watch each one a number of times because they were so cool. I can't fault anything about the choreography or the style as it is just fantastic from start to finish. Donnie Yen does an excellent acting job and shines in the fight scenes.

The film makes you feel good, although some of the fight scenes are a bit brutal and bloody. In the end, it turned out to be a movie that I am going to buy.

The blu-ray has great picture quality and great sound. Neither are reference quality but still worth the blu-ray. The story is what will induce you to buy this epic film though.
33 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 November 2011
This is undoubtably one of the best Kung Fu type martial arts films I have seen. I am not going to go over the story as this is covered in numerous other reviews. I will say however that I found the Blu-ray quality more than acceptable but not cutting edge. Considering that the Blu-ray disc is only a couple of £ more than the DVD I would definitely recommend the Blu-ray.

In my opinion Donnie is the nearest to Bruce Lee that you will see today. He is visually very impressive, better than Jet Li or Jackie Chan. With martial arts choreography by Sammo Hung. The supporting cast includes Simon Yam, Lynn Hung, Lam Ka-tung, Xing Yu and Hiroyuki Ikeuchi. I would also recommend the follow up Ip Man 2 (Special Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] also starring Donnie Yen and takes up the story where the first one left off. The sequel centers on Ip's movements in Hong Kong, which is under British colonial rule. You may also be interested in The Legend Is Born: Ip Man [DVD] staring Dennis To in the title role, who gives a very credible performance. One of the highlights of the film is a special appearance by Ip Chun, son of Ip Man, who plays Leung Bik in the film. The film focuses on Ip Man's early life and the story of how he learned the martial arts style of Wing Chun.

If you like your Martial Arts films ala Bruce Lee rather than Chinese Flying Circus style then you will love these films. Try out Ip Man, I am sure you will want to watch the others afterwards.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
Despite loving this film and giving it 5 stars, I'd like to contradict other reviews and say that this is not first and foremost a martial arts film, so if you are looking for a simple action movie and don't want to think, look elsewhere. If however, you are looking for a beautifully crafted, cinematic gem then watch Ip Man. For me, the focus of the film was the superb acting skill of Yen in the title role. His gentle demeanour and exquisite expression lift this film above the norm. It is primarily the story of a man of peace and humanity, plunged into the chaos of war and fighting only to protect his family, friends and country. The cinematography is beautiful and the use of colour for the opening hour, switching to an almost black and white feel punctuated by the red of the Japanese flag as a counterpoint during the latter stages when Japan invade and occupy China, is a powerful visual move. The film has moments of humour and pathos and some scenes which will bring a tear to the eye. Yes, the fight scenes are amazing and beautifully choreographed and performed but do not overly dominate what is essentially a story of the triumph of the human spirit. The film has obvious political messages in it's style and particularly at the end, which extols the virtues of China and the Chinese people to the extent that it has an undertone o communist propaganda, but it does not detract from what is a brilliant movie.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
I grew up watching Chinese Martial Arts films in the early 1980s and kept up the interest into my adult years.

Having watched many beautiful Martial Arts films, it would not be conceit if I declared that Donnie Yen's "Ip Man" is easily my favourite Martial Arts film ever. It is no wonder that I have recommended it to almost all my friends and even bought this DVD several times in order to offer it as a gift.

The movie's brilliance in my view centres on 3 key aspects;

1. A philosophical outlook on the amazing character of a Wing Chun Grandmaster, who is unassuming and friendly but incredibly skilled. The character is fully developed with a sweet disposition yet is ready to explode if need be. This character is also charismatic owing to Donnie Yen's good looks, coupled with unsurpassed skill in the art of Wing Chun Kung fu.

2. Amazing choreography. The movements in this movie are graceful and realistic. This makes the film, riveting.

3. The film has a sombre and realistic atmosphere as it is loosely based on events that took place during the domination of China by the British Empire. This adds to it's appeal owing to the "based on a true story" genre.

This is simply my best Martial Arts film yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
First off I don't know why they called this movie Ip man, when his name is Yip man, maybe that's just the American release. Anyway, I really like this movie because it is about the guy that trained Bruce lee, so I don't care how true it is. I say that because I have done a little looking up on Yip man and how accurate this movie is, and found out that some of it is true but a lot of it isn't. If you are a fan of martial arts movies, with a lot of spectacular fight scenes and Donnie yen, then I would definitely recommend this movie. Also if you know Donnie yen movies then you know he does a lot of MMA, but this is 100% wing chun, so if you are ok with that, then you will love this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
'Ip Man' is based on the life of the martial artist, Ip Man who was the real life Kung fu master of Bruce Lee. The movie concentrates solely on the events, which occurred around Ip Man in the city of Foshan (China) between 1930 and 1940 during the 'Second Sino-Japanese (China/Japan) War'.

In the movie, the main form of martial art that is displayed is Wing Chun, which specializes in close-range combat. Ip Man was the first martial arts master to teach the Chinese martial art of Wing Chun openly.

Ip Man is one of the finest martial arts movies produced by the Hong Kong movie industry. It was released in December 2008 to a widespread deserved critical acclaim and box-office success. The movie was nominated for 12 Hong Kong Film Awards, winning awards for Best Picture and Best Action Choreography.

The star of the show is the really underrated Donnie Yen who enacts the role of Ip Man. He is simply underrated because he has not been involved in many high grossing movies, whereas the likes of Jackie Chan and Jet Li have. Donnie Yen, if not better, is equally as talented as Chan and Li. In the movie, the way he performed the action scenes is worthy of an applause, simply jaw dropping. Yen performs the action scenes with natural ease making the fighting look beautiful and artistic. Now, coming to the acting, this is clearly Yen's career best performance as he portrays both a 'Hero' and a 'Wounded lion' with total conviction and raging aggression. The way he expresses his emotions via facial expressions and physically is SUPERB. Ip Man is a Donnie Yen show from beginning to end.

The character of the main villain is portrayed by the Japanese actor, Hiroyuki Ikeuchi. His portrayal of the formidable Japanese general is impressive.

The movie is directed by Wilson Yip who provides excellent direction, succeeding in keeping the audience glued to the screen until the end. Ip Man is the fourth collaboration between Yen and Yip after the brilliant 'SPL: Sha Po Lang (AKA Kill Zone)', the enjoyable 'Dragon Tiger Gate' and the entertaining 'Flash Point'. All these movies are of the action genre and showcase the chemistry and talent of the duo. All three movies contain stunning martial arts especially 'Sha Po Lang', which was hailed as a return to the classic Hong Kong action cinema. Ip Man is the best effort from the duo to date.

The stunning action choreography, which is a treat to watch is provided by the legendary Sammo Hung (Hong Kong Actor/Martial Artist/Director) who has starred in classic movies like 'Wheels on Meals', 'Project A' and also 'Sha Po Lang'. The beautifull choreography by Hung is displayed on screen by Yen's martial arts skills with finesse. The fight scenes, which are real and brutal are the best I've ever seen and will leave your heart-pounding.

Another hero of the movie is the background music score, which is composed by the Japanese composer, Kenji Kawai. The music is moving and compliments the narration and Yen's action scenes with sheer perfection. The music combined with the martial-arts display by Yen simply inspired me to learn Wing Chun, but after carrying out a reality check, I think I'll leave the martial arts to Yen.

Ip Man is not a normal martial arts movie as it contains all the essential elements of an out-and-out entertainer. It's one of my favourite movies as it has a moving/emotional story, with a great narration, brilliant action, terrific performances and to round it all off, soothing and inspiring music.

It's an inspiring feel-good movie with Ip Man being portrayed as the real 'Peoples Hero' who fought for his people. Once the movie gains momentum you'll be rooting for Yen subconsciously and in the process you just might discover the 'Hero' within you.

Ip Man is strongly recomended as it is one of the greatest Hong Kong movies ever. As a result, Ip Man 2 is currently in the making and is being planned to be released at the end of 2010, can't wait.

Once Ip Man receives international recognition (for some reason it hasn't yet) it'll become an instant classic.

Magnificent!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Donnie Yen' plays legendary Chinese Martial-Arts Master 'IP Man'
'IP Man' lives with his wife 'Cheung Wing-Sing' (Lynn Hung) and young son in the city of 'Foshan' they are wealthy and
live in their own home.
Their World is turned upside down in the late 30's when the invading Japanese invaders over-run the city leaving the
couple homeless and having to scrape a living.
The occupying forces are indeed a brutal regime, many residents have fleed 'Foshan' those that remain struggle to find
enough to feed themselves ad their families.
Because of the struggle for food gangs emerge adding to the strife of the residents....
IP Man's reputation has gone before him, the Japanese commander a martial-arts expert himself seeks to have his kung-fu
guards trained-up in the art of 'Wing Chun' by 'IP Man' something he is reluctant to do, ultimately the Commander will seek
to match his skills against that of his Chinese counter-part.
'IP Man' will do everything he can to protect his fellow citizens from the gangs, but more importantly will inspire his fellow
citizens to stand up to their Japanese overlords.
This is quite simply a very good film which has a strong story-line in addition to the well enacted fight sequences, there are
moments of tension and indeed moments of an emotional nature along the way that all combined will engage your attention
throughout.
Features -
Trailer Gallery featuring Wilson Yip, Donnie Yen, Lam Ka-Tung, Hiroyuki Ikeuchi, IP Chun, Fan Sui-Wong, Xiong Dai-Lin, Sammo
Hung, Simon Yam.
Making of Gallery (x5 Featurettes)
Location/Set Design Gallery (x3 Featurettes)
Gala Premiere
Deleted Scenes Gallery (x5)
*World Exclusive - From IP Man to Bruce Lee - Tracing the Legacy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Its a masterpiece film from start to finish.one gets a glimsy of what it was like during the Japanes occupation of China at that time.the sound, the picture, settings , the kick ass martial stunts all a thing of beauty. This film is a MUST for all collectors regardless of movie genre.5 stars no doubt.The character who plays the legendary artist is a gentleman slow to anger but once pushed beyond the limits all hell breaks lose.i have not seen martial fighting like this in a very long time.buy the blu-ray for maximum finest picture and sound.A MUST
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I Have to say that Donnie Yen is amazing as IP Man this really is a first rate martial arts film with correct Wing Chun moves being shown..this film is definitely a great advert for that style of Kung Fu,
the story line follows roughly the era in IP Mans adult life before and during the second world war, and follows challenges he is known to have received it was not uncommon in China or japan for martial arts masters to be challenged to fight to show whose particular style was best as it was the most direct form of advertising for students.
he is known to have rescued a man from a police officer who was beating him up giving the officer a swift kicking, this is not portrayed in the film, instead it is shown in a different way..but i wont give the game away.
safe to say that this is an excellent film that faithfully portrays China & Chinese martial arts the 1930,s and of IP mans early life once he was already established as a Ying Chun master
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)