Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 February 2010
As I'm studying veterinary medicine, I wanted a book that I could keep and use...so I opeted for 'Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook'.

It starts off with basic biology and chemistry, such as cellular structure and function, and goes on to tissues and such. I found this particuly useful in brushing up on anything from A/AS level and a bit beyond. all relavent to application in veterinary. The rest of the book covers mainly dogs and cats- skeletal, muscular, nervous, urinary, respiratory, endocrine and reproductive systems. And it's easily applicable to to other species...it helped me to learn the names of bones and different planes especially, as the diagarams are well thought out and very eay to follow; and they are often accompanied by x-rays pictures...so you can actually apply them to real-life.

The last few chapters cover exotics, other mammels, reptiles and fish, and horses; covering the same systems but applying them more directly. Again very useful.

At the end of the book is a 'test yourself' section where you can pick from the different chapters and check you know the stuff. Good if you want to check you covered everything.

Overall I found this book very useful for getting a basic grasp on many different topics, and it's been my first port-of-call on anything new. It explains everything clearly and is well thought out in my opinion. Ideal for a first or second year vet student/nurse (and other animal degrees I would imagine too...or if you have an interest but don't want anything too difficult to understand)...and useful if needed to look back in later years (I would imagine). Definetly worth the price, which is really good for a vet book!

Good Points:
Easy to follow and understand
Good diagrams
Covers alot of topics
Index is actually useful

Bad Points:
Only basic coverage of other animals (eg. horses)

However, I would still recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
This is essential reading to refer to over and over and over again. Clearly written with excellent diagrams. No-one can be without this who is in the vet nursing industry. Fantastic value, don't hesitate, buy it!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
This book is value for money. I am studying animal science and am about to start anatomy and this book includes all of the inforamtion needed. The information is easy to understand, read and is explained with illistratoins which is ideal. It covers the different systems: skeletal, muscular, nervous, respiratory, digestive etc of dogs, cats, exotic species. I also liked the fact that it has questions and answers at the back of the book.
This book also came earlier than expected which was ideal.
I would recommand this book. Peace!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2007
Consise, well oranised and very informative, can be read little by little and used as reference as has simple english but thorough explanations. Ideal for those starting out in vet science, nursing, assistant etc..
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
This book is the best book I have read in Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology. Everything is very simplified in an interesting way. What makes it wonderful is that it adequately covers most relevant topics.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
This book is really helpful when studying to be a vet, everything is written is clear and simple language so it's really easy to understand. It has loads of really good diagrams and anatomy pictures too. It's not a really thick book meaning that not everything is covered in any great detail, however it is much easier to use for revision than a big, scary looking text book! I used this book a lot over first and second year and even now as a 4th year, it's still handy to have a quick flick through every now and then. Highly recommeneded!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2008
Purchased this book a while back. I was thrilled to bits when i got this book, it is such an easy read. It is well put together and makes the subject of anatomy less daunting and easier to learn. Has lots of diagrams and is well referenced.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I bought this book for my Brother who is a trainee veterinary nurse. He is finding the book very useful and using it all the time as reference as well as for his studies.
Delivered in excellent time :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
One of the best anatomy and physiology books out ! It is easy to read and understand and the diagrams make the explanations so much clearer ! Any veterinary student must have one of these books ! Xxx
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
I love this book! It was in great condition. If I have any worries about a topic or feel I have gaps in my notes then this is a brilliant resource. I would recommend this to anyone on a veterinary related course. It has all the essential anatomy based on the cat and the dog. Also in the back sections there are species specific chapters to highlight the differences in anatomy. These include, the horse, the bird and small mammals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)