Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
11
3.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2015
It's a great book for the student, but I did find some of his layouts for explaining the cases confusing. That said, I really like the exercises and the proses he introduces by the seventh lesson. A knowledge of German is a great help, but Mr. Baker fills each chapter with information and facts and grammar. I am on my second reading of the book and learning a great deal. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
I have begun to read through it, the first three chapters, and I am happy to have bought it and to recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Excellent book with very good understandable explanations!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
Very clear, logical, reliable and all in all a good solid academic book on the subject. I'm not sure how good it actually is as the initial book someone uses to learn Old English but it worked brilliantly for me after I completed Teach Yourself Old English. As well as teaching you the language it also teaches runes, Old English handwriting as found in original manuscripts and a great deal of history.

For me the book is a great reference for me if I every forget any grammar. It also has quite a few texts included at the end of the book so you can read some real Old English works. So it is an invaluable resource.

I'll also add that (as of writing this) the only review to give Introduction to Old English just 1 star was a very confused sounding one attacking the author for speaking of the "cowardice of the Britons". They seemed to take this very personally and as if the author was insulting the modern day British. I'll point out that Peter Baker was actually quoting the English monk Bede who was referring to the ancient Britons (the Celtic inhabitants of Britain) who were defeated by the invading Anglo-Saxons (the tribes who gave their language, identity and culture to their English descendants).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Very helpful book and smooth transaction. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
The author leads the reader into the language by explaining chapters of the grammar. This is an approach I appreciate more than what other books do, viz. offering a piece of text and explaining bits and pieces of it. Once you have worked your way through the grammar, you can start using it. And I admit, the explanation of the grammar is done well, although it quite like helps that I have had Latin quite extensively at school once.

However, few readers will memorize a whole table of case endings or ver declensions in one go, so you find yourself frequently leafing back to those sections to review those tables. And this is where the book falls short. The lay-out of those tables really isn't up to the job. Placing the accusative between nominative and genitive when it in other books and languages uses to sit in the fourth position unnecessarily complicates reading. Forgetting one dot on the c of "ic" makes you unsure whether the rest of the table would be correct or not. A letter such as d is completely absent from the pronunciation section, leaving the reader only to presume it is like modern English even though that is not the only possibility withon the context of germanic languages. Being gender-neutral by alternating he and she may be commendable for an American author, only it doesn't help the student the least. Tricks to memorize case endings seem very personal but are to me evn more complex than the real thing. Those who know other germanic languages will come up with much easier memory aids.

The book ends with a glossary, which is nicely complete, but contain a lot of unexplained code numbers.

The book frequently refers to on-line content, but all the links are outdated. If anyone ought to be aware that books are for eternity and the web is not, it should be the Old-English specialist... Then, once you've found the online resources at their new locations, most of them appear behind a password wall.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I found the lessons engrossing, well thought out and overall, simple to understand. A very interesting book for someone who wishes to read and understand original works without having to rely on someone else's translation and gives a good feel for how the English language has evolved from those early days.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Arrived in good time, satisfied with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
The book is really interesting but it is full of special Old English characters that don't display well on Kindle reader. I had to give up in the end - but much of it is available on the internet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)