Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2017
Very good introductory book in particle physics. A must for beginners. Very easy to follow. Classic Griffiths style. Not solutions at the back, but you can easily find them online.

A good combination with Halzen and Martin book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
I'm a physics student, and own all 3 books written by Griffiths on Electrodynamics, Quantum Mechanics and Particle Physics. Griffiths unique and informal style of writing is very intuïtive, and is great for any introductionary book. The text doesn't just teach you particle physics, but tries to create a deeper understanding for the subject, by addressing questions you may have and presenting insights which other books neglect. The exercises are also very good, and try to give some history along with insight. In general the book tries to make you grasp the subject fully, instead of just explaining it in a correct formal fashion.

I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in physics, along with Griffiths' other books.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of the most interesting and most intellectually far-reaching areas of modern Physics is Particle Physics. No other area of Physics has as conceptually profound implications for our understanding of how the world works on the very fundamental level, and nowhere else have the experiments been as monumental and imposing. And yet, particle Physics is rarely if ever taught in undergraduate Physics curriculum. The reason often given for this is that mathematical sophistication required for fully understanding this subject is far beyond the capability of most undergraduates. However, if done properly, the mathematical sophistication need not be beyond what is required in an upper level Electricity and Magnetism or Quantum Mechanics courses. To the contrary - the most important results in Particle Physics can be obtained by mathematical means that are not nearly as demanding as those in those other two upper level Physics courses. A perfect example of this are the textbooks by David Griffiths. He has been well known to generations of Physics students who had used his Electricity and Magnetism or Quantum Mechanics textbooks. These textbooks have become a de-facto standard for teaching those subjects. These textbooks are also known for many very demanding problems that require many, many pages of mathematical manipulation. And yet, most of these manipulations are much harder than anything you'll encounter in Griffiths' "Introduction to Elementary particles." There is still a collection of worked-out examples, but nowhere nearly at the level of what one finds in his other books. The presentation is characteristically accessible and pedagogical. A considerable amount of space is devoted to historical and experimental considerations, and this textbook also serves as a useful history of the development of particle Physics.

The second edition greatly streamlines some presentations and introduces a few new topics that have been of interest in particle Physics in recent decades - most notably the neutrino oscillations. The chapter on future developments is mostly descriptive, and mercifully short on certain topics that have enjoyed a lot of attention lately but have been woefully short on experimental verifications, such as supersymmetry and string theory. In the end we are left off with a picture of current understanding of particle Physics that shows this field of research both as a tremendous success and still a work in progress. Hopefully in the upcoming decades we'll be able to fill in many of the holes and come up with a more streamlined understanding of nature at the most fundamental level. Until then, textbooks like this one will be the best and surest way of getting the basic facts about the nature of elementary particles.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2003
After struggling for a year or two with Halzen and Martin's `Quarks and Leptons' I wish I'd found this book sooner! It covers much the same material as Halzen and Martin, but unlike that book it doesn't skip over non-trival lines of algebra and it does take the time to explain in a clear manner the principles behind what is going on. I'd always found the language and explanation in H+M hard to follow, especially because of the overly formal style and frequent use phrases left undefined. Griffiths has none of these faults. The style is friendly and engaging whilst covering all the physics and calculations thoroughly. I'd highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to gain a really good fundamental understanding of the basics of particle physics (probably at final year undergraduate or new postgraduate level). Alternatively if you already own H+M as I do, this will explain what it's talking about!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
As the other two books of Griffiths, it's the best book on it's level.
Griffiths begins with the interesting History of elementary particles, form the electron to the Standrad Model (I've never read it before), letting you how every kind of particle was discovered. Then it makes a review of the elementary forces and gives a intuitive notion of how their behaviour. Then, it explains the Dirac's equation and explains its solutions. After this, each elementary force (QED, QCD and weak), are explained. It has also has a chapter on gauge freedom, SU(2) group and Higgs mechanism. It aso has a final chapter with the future and the challenges of the Elementary Particles such as String Theory, Dark Matter and Grand Unification Theories.
The writing style is mainly fenomenological and one doesn't need high level mathematics. Even though it uses Feynman diagrams (only at first order), it's not explained where they come form and one might think they are pure mathematical stuff, or worst, the lines are the actual paths of the particles. So the diagrams should be covered with a Quantum Field Theory book.
It's also remarkable the friendly style that characteristizes Griffiths.
So, excellent book to adquire an intuitive idea in the world of the elementary particles and their forces. If you want a formal and rigurous mathematical background you should check a Quantum Field Theory book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
I have three of Griffiths' books...QM, EM and this one. All three have a common theme. Clarity. The explanations are outstanding in this book (like the others); he takes the time to "talk" to the reader and take them through the material. Granted, some of the material in this book ain't easy, but the clarity of his explanations make it much easier that it could be.

If you are interested in a mathematical introduction to particle physics or (like me) just wanted to understand some more of the detail around the standard model, the Higgs and all that...then I would recommend. Not cheap...but worth it.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2009
I agree with one of the previous reviewers that this book served as a saviour during exam period. I knew nothing about particle physics and I learned 70% of the book over two months or less time, and I passed my particle physics exams. Some of the mathematical treatment may be a bit too rigorous in a sense that it does not explain step-by-step as it assume some prior knowledge and/or competency in such areas so that some detailed steps are ommitted. Overall, this is a very good book. Chapter 1 sounds a bit talkative, but the rest of the chapters are really good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2005
It was five days before the exam, I hadn't attended any lectures and all I had was a battered pile of lecture notes (photocopied off some guy), which made as much sense as the recommened book (which in this case was approximately exp(-9999)).
But then I stumbled upon simple looking book, a bit rough and dog eared, its title was also the same as the course so I reached up and took it.
So off I went with a small stack of books hoping somehow I could salvage my degree, within hours I realised I had stumbled upon a small gem, simple and modest, yet it emitted an unexplainable feeling of contentness and well being.
The next week I stepped into the exam with a small flame of hope deep inside.
What happened next????? Well I left Uni with a 78% in elementary particles.
Buy it.
By the way I'm sorry for the physics joke, I know we have a hard enough time already without people like me.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2008
This is a book on particle physics that a mathematician can read, and that's a lot to say! If you are fascinated by particle physics, but you find physicists' ideas too messy to get through, this is the book for you (the rhyme wasn't intended...). This book demonstrates that physics and clear thought are not incompatible.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2001
Excellent book for student and for teacher. This is book with most clearest and pedagogical approach in this subject.Students will benefit definitely but it is real treasure for teachers. They can learn a lot from this book, how this subject should be taught. Definitely must buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here