Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2013
This book was purchased for our son, who decided when he was five that he wanted to be a paleontologist. It is a substantial and in-depth book with detailed information and an excellent development from basics to more intricate information. One of the real bonuses is the full bibliography, which gives the chance to continue exploring the science. It's an excellent preparatory book for someone wanting to develop their knowledge on an independent basis.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2013
If you are a beginner or are thinking of embarking on a course on Palaeontology then this book is for you. The book will give you a good understanding of the subject as a whole.

I studied Palaeontology many years ago at university and would have been glad of a book such as this before I embarked.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
I find the book is very valuable. It is easy to read and offers not only up-to-date text, but also state of the art scientific insights. The "Further Reading" and the "Links" offered to interesting mail addresses are gorgeous. That, by the way, is a common pattern of all the books in this remarkable series. Highly recommended ifor all those interested in the title front page !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
It is an A5 format book and thus smaller and shoer than I anticipated.
The photos are lovely but sometimes not so well linked in with the text.
Some diagrams with labels might have helped here.
As an introductionit works, so I probably should give it more stars but I was disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
It is hard to know who this book was written for. It's too complex, in some ways, for the keen amateur, but contains insufficient information and detail for students. One problem in particular, though, was that the English was not as good as it should have been. There were a number of places where the text was ambiguous and this was not helped by the punctuation style. Many of the illustrations were beautiful, and all are marked clearly and properly with their origins, but none have any sort of scale on them, which is unfortunate in an electronic book (where being told that an image is 0.5X or 3X is of no help at all). In general, it's nice to have the book as a summary but what's really needed is the full version, perhaps three- or four- times as long.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
It has no index, so things are hard to find. It has many mistakes, some of which are pointed out in the link I have attached below. Its diagrams are irritatingly oversimplified at times
[...]
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Presnt for my grandson. He seems to be happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Great book - No problems at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
A1 Service will buy more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse