Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
29
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
This book is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
If you're hoping for a "I joined the IRA but now I see the error of my ways" type account, forget it. Unapologetic account of a fighter who did serious damage to the British forces in the north of Ireland. Hair-raising stuff. I think it also vindicates Gerry Adams's strategy to end the campaign. By the late 1980's the British, with seemingly unlimited resources, were well on top.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
Sadly this book does not live up to anything near the blurb on the cover.Incidents are glossed over in a matter of paragraphs and in some cases by a few sentences.It is mainly a brief synopsis of the history of the Provisional IRA from its birth in 1971 to its eventual collapse in 2005.The book could be used mainly as a reference point to explore in depth a number of different times and events in the history of the "Troubles" and in particular the PIRA's involvement in them.The birth of the PIRA,Internment,the H-Blocks(Blanket protests/Hunger strikes)and the eventual Peace process.All these areas are covered in far more depth in other publications

Gerry Bradleys comments weaved throughout the book in between Brian Feeneys history lesson are insightful but are too few to label this book as his story.He is merely a character used to highlight the various eras in which the PIRA operated.The book itself is padded out to over 300 pages with the use of large type with plenty of spaces between the words and the sentences.3-4 hours should see the whole book read.

A useful story for people starting to explore Northern Irish politics but not the grand expose promised by the author on the cover.If Gerry Bradley was hounded to his death because of this books content then those who did the hounding need to take a serious look at themselves.Other than some personal recollections by Gerry there was nothing in this book which I didn't know already.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
hard hitting book about all Ireland's troubles . it was a bit one sided and two or three things came out of a John Wayne script . it did show very well what the people had to endure for years
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
This book was very well written I thought, and an exploration of the mindset of the IRA as seen through a prolific operator. I don't know if I would have enjoyed it as much if I didn't have a good knowledge of Belfast's geography: I remember than when I lived in Belfast 20+ years ago that the places described in the book were very sinister to an outsider. Unity Flats in particular fascinated me. An awful, run down yet very small place right at the foot of the Shankill. What must it be like to live there? I used to think as I hurried past. It was the sort of place where, even 20 years after the bulk of the events described in this book you felt anything could happen, at any time.

This part of Belfast has changed beyond recognition, with the Divis and Unity Flats gone, and the roads completely remodelled so that it's impossible to imagine now how menacing Millfield and Upper Library Street were. The book evoked those feelings, unique to Belfast for me, better than anything I've ever read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Not as good as I thought it would be having read various books on the troubles in Northern Ireland, although I have read worse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
This is a useful record for future chroniclers of the so-called NI conflict, compiled by Brian Feeney, who is a competent historian. I write this from the POV of a democratic Irish nationalist who believes that the generation of mayhem in the North contributed to mostly by the Provos but also loyalist paramilitaries and State forces was a disaster for all the people of Ireland and whose long-standing belief that the Provisional movement was hopelessly riddled with informers and traitors is being vindicated by the day.

The late Gerry Bradley was brought up and spent most of his life within a very small area of North Belfast, the Carrick Hill/Unity Flats area. Over 30 years he caused mayhem within his area by planting bombs, organising scares, punishment beatings, picking fights, etc. Exiled for a while to New York, he just continued the same pattern of life.

He was cunning enough in the narrative not to implicate himself in any actual murders, but he must have despatched plenty of people to their graves. He co-operated with Feeney because he felt 'betrayed' by the Peace Process, and the head honchos of the movement filling their boots with loot, houses in Donegal and on the Continent but he had absolutely no insight into the fact that he was a useless, aggressive, mal-adjusted sociopath who contributed absolutely nothing to society during his singularly miserable life. He was driven to suicide, asphyxiating himself in a car park in Carrickfergus and the world would have been a better place if he had never been born.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
the author of this book, Gerry Bradley, died shortly after the publication. He was driven to his death by book burners, and regardless if you agree with the authors's words, you should buy this book just to confound those apes who would wish us all to have no personal thoughts. The book actually is very enjoyable and gives an insight into one man's viewpoint of why he fought in a war. There are other excellent books out there wrote by ex-IRA men and two I would highly recommend. The Blanket Men by Richard O'Rawe Blanketmen: An Untold Story of the H-block Hunger Strike and of course the classic, On The Brinks On the Brinks by Irish crime writer, Sam Millar, now available on Kindle On The Brinks: The Extended Edition
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Why did I buy this I ask. It suddenly came to me that people like this should not be rewarded for their past actions. A dismam tale of vandalism and criminality.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
GREAT! Well worth a read even if opposed to what the IRA did. Bradley is not afraid to criticise his own & i did get i feel of honesty, but remember Gerry Bradley believed in the course.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)