Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
198
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: HD DVD|Change
Price:£13.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2006
Inside Man is something of a departure for Spike Lee, a director usually more at home with biting social commentary, particularly on the lot of African Americans. By comparison, this movie is mainstream, throwing a host of top names into a soup of tension, intrigue and genuine thrills. From beginning to end, Inside Man plays with our preconceptions of the genre; characters are turned in on themselves, twists and thrills come thick and fast. Lee's direction is clinical, sharp. The script is quick and filled with intelligent, sometimes provocative, lines. The acting is superb throughout, Denzel Washington deserving of particular praise, though Clive Owen does a magnificent job considering you don't see much of his face throughout the movie. Thoroughly entertaining and wonderfully put together, Inside Man deserves its place in any DVD collection. Just brilliant.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2006
Any film with Denzel is going to be a winner but when the cast expands to include such names as Clive Owen, Jodie Foster and Willem Defoe you know this won't be any old bank-heist movie. And `The Inside Man' is anything but predictable. You think you're so sure going into this movie that you know how it'll pan out but don't fool yourself! The twists and turns in the plot are well thought out and every time you think `this is where it goes predictable' something else is thrown into the mix. I can't explain the plot without giving away spoilers so I won't go there.

What I can say is that there are some fantastic performances here. Clive Owen for me was the ultimate star. I've seen him in a few movies and he can do so many different characters brilliantly that you wonder where this guys talents stop. Denzel would have been given top points for his performance but his Miami-Vice 1980's wardrobe just killed it for me! Jodie Foster was the negotiator I guess you could call her. Her interest in the heist extends to the contents of one safety deposit box inside the bank and her job is to secure it one way or the other. She gave a brilliant performance as a no-nonsense, know-it-all and it's great to see her back on our screens again.

I think what I loved most about this film is that it was absent the usual predictable plot and you find yourself thinking `mmm.....I'd never have thought of that'. It sucks you in because you really don't know what will happen next. I loved it and thoroughly recommend it.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
I do not want to ruin the surprises of the film so I will not give any of the elements of it away.
Denzel Washington plays detective Keith Frazier and has to work out what exactly this bank robbery is all about, the robber played by Clive Owen doesn't give anything away and shows he knows what he is doing leaving false leads and clues that you will find out about later on in the story.
The film very well done by using flash aheads of the questioning of some of the hostages and when the film comes to the climax you still need to be thinking and adding up what you have learnt throughout. This is the sort of film you need to see atleast twice because of the trickery in the plot and the fact that the robbers don't give anything away.
Denzel Washington is great as always playing the good cop, Clive Owen is good aswell although you see him in his mask alot of the time and he doesn't talk much. When the film does climax I find myself hoping that the 123 mins approx is wrong because I really wanted it to go on. So this might not be the best film i've ever seen but it comes damn close.
And lets just say its an ending you won't expect.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2006
I loved this film. If you stick with it it gets VERY good! The ending is very clever! Denzil Washington is fantastic as usual! Clive Owen was also very good! Highly recommend!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Inside Man or How Spike made a hollywood film and still preserved his style and critical approach.
This is not just a excellent crime film with a great plot and actors, but proves how a moral and almost political subtext can make the crime pot even more compelling, intriguing and engaging.
Brilliant twists and dialogues reinforced by the idea of the state of siege around a bank that discloses secrets and hidden truths buried for ages.
A great narrative solution.
Excellent blu ray that let the burning lights as well as the dark moments of the photography gloriously come out
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2007
'Inside Man' is an excellent watch! And probably the best heist film you will see for a long time! Clive Owen is excellent as the cool, calm and collected mastermind behind a daring bank robbery. Denzel Washington is the detective trying to put the pieces together, and there are a few! But we don't see enough of Jodie Foster as the bank investigator, hers is almost a bit part, but a vital one. She steals almost every scene she's in! A clever film, that you know is gonna twist and surprise you, but you don't know how, until the last few scenes. Cleverly done. No gratuitous sex or violence, proving that good films really don't need that! Watchit! You'll enjoy it. TJ
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2006
If you think you know how every movie ends before it starts then this one is for you because you will be wrong. Enjoy it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2016
What was a really great idea and plot for a movie then seemed to go downhill. Let me explain, how the film was meant a bank hold up plot with the robbers taking 50 odd hostages. What then happened was the cop and the robbers decide to do too odd things. I will not say what but needless it means the cop get taken off the case. However, all is not as it seems the bank robbers do not even get caught and the police do not have a crime.
So what left is weird kind of plot with in plot that makes no sense. What rob a bank and not take any money. The whole things is stupid when it could have actually worked if the film producers had not tried to be too clever. Sad as it would have made a good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2006
This film is wonderfully acted, brilliantly directed, and fantastically scored. Unfortunatley one thing lets it down... the script.
The story revolves around a bankrobbery-come-hostage-situation that has Denzel Washington negotiating and trying to outsmart Robber Clive Owen. The plot has plenty of breath stoppingly tense moments and it twists and turns at every possible oppertunity, the sad thing is that bits of this plot and the occasional line just don't work (eg. "I never repeat myself" said twice).
The film is shot in two timelines, one in the robbery and one afterwards as Denzels negotiator and his partner interveiw suspects (Which is everyone pretty much) to try and find the one who was working for the robbers - the inside man/woman. This works really well and helps build character and tension, as these interveiws often prolong some of the tenser or most thought-heavy moments in the earlier timeline.
The music is very unusual in places (bollywood?) but actually gives the film a very original feel.
Spike lee is on top form directing, Washington gives one of his best performances, Clive Owen proves he can act, William Dafoe is underused but a treat when he's there, and Jodie Foster has one of the best ruthless parts ever written.
This Film has few flaws, and though they keep it from a five star rating (RATING : 4.8 stars), they shouldn't prevent you from buying it or at the very least renting it because it really should not be missed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
I thought i had not seen this but whilst i was watching it I recognised bits of it. I like most movies with Denzel in but i feel Clive Owen aces it in this one though Denzel was still excellent. The plot is engaging and clever with the odd nod to director Spike previous life as a political director. TBH the core value of the film was unusually (for the director of Malcolm X) the building of Western wealth on the back of the gassed Jews - one of those embarrassing little events we do not get taught in history class!!

The execution of the heist itself is masterful and you do not understand it until you get right to the end of the film - even though i had seen it before!! The favourite little scene which again is loaded with social commentary, was "baddie" Owen looking at the black child's handheld game (which basically was black men blowing each other's heads off, calling each other MFs and killing anyone walking) and Owen saying "i need to go and see your Dad about this game". Of course, all the main characters are black or ethnic, it was a clever mainstream film making lots of social points but keeping it action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.73

Need customer service? Click here