Buy Used
£3.36
+ £0.00 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ex-library **EXPRESS DELIVERY AVAILABLE AT CHECKOUT** UK Dispatch
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Incarnations Hardcover – 3 Jul 2014

4.3 out of 5 stars 49 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£14.99 £0.57
click to open popover


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



60 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Doubleday (3 July 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0857522574
  • ISBN-13: 978-0857522573
  • Product Dimensions: 16.1 x 3.1 x 24 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 49 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 980,911 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Reads as China's Midnight's Children. Utterly remarkable" (The Independent)

"An extraordinary novel. Erudite, intriguing and compulsively readable, THE INCARNATIONS takes the reader on an intimate and mesmerizing journey through Chinese history. Susan Barker, a born story-teller, has written one of the most remarkable novels of recent years." (JOHN BOYNE)

"A thrilling journey through a thousand years of obsession and betrayal and a vivid tapestry of the individual's struggle against the tyranny of history, this is the most extraordinary work of imagination you'll read all year" (ADAM JOHNSON, WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2013)

"A brilliant, mind-expanding and wildly original novel" (CHRIS CLEAVE)

"What a ferociously talented writer Susan Barker is. The Incarnations is a hallucinatory ride. Highly recommend" (ANNA HOPE, Author of WAKE)

"Remarkable - ambitious in scope, painstakingly researched and most importantly, a gripping read." (Publishing Perspectives)

"Letters from someone who claims to have known him for 1,000 years unsettle a cabbie." (The Observer)

"A MUST-READ - July picks" (Marie-Claire Magazine)

"Ambitious in scope, scholarly in depth, and absolutely rivetting ...Sure to make an impact and she deserves all the praise - and most likely prize(s) - that will follow." (South China Post)

"Light and often witty ...There is tragedy, though perhaps not where the reader expects it, but there is also hope." (www.thatsmags.com China)

Book Description

LONGLISTED FOR THE FOLIO PRIZE 2015: A literary novel of betrayal and intrigue in China lived again and again by one soul across a thousand years - for fans of THE NARROW ROAD TO THE DEEP NORTH and LIFE AFTER LIFE.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 March 2016
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 March 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?