Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2017
Well written and easy to read. Lots of authentic detail a real feel of this part of the country, makes me want to go see it. A central character who for once didn't walk with the grace of a cat and with a steely eyed stare that betrayed hidden strengths and caused men to step aside. A hero who instead got beaten up out foxed made professionally impotent and finally sacked before getting the bad guy, but only with help from his best mate, my kind of here
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
These books about Joe Pickett are superb. Finish one- you want the next, immediately!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
A Joe Pickett novel could not possible disappoint
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Another great slice of the picket life keeps you on edge to the end cannot wait for the next installment
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Page turner
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
As usual with C.J.Box, a great read. Joe Pickett is Ace!!! and he has a lovely Family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
Joe Pickett books - Wow

YES , THEY ARE THAT GOOD, ONCE YOU START READING THEM YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT THEM DOWN.

What can I say that I haven't said before people! If you haven't started reading the Joe PICKETT novels by this author, you really are missing out on a good reading experience...

When we last left Joe he had just returned from assignment to another district where he ended up shooting a legendary game guide, fell out big time with the next director of the Wyoming Game Service and arrested for almost punching the American Vice President this guy just can't keep out of trouble. Added to that he had feelings for another woman, which we were all glad he didn't act on and then he also discovered that Marybeth, his long suffering wife had also had feelings for Nate ROMANOWSKI, which neither acted on. Good lord but life in Wyoming is getting even more complicated than it has been.

IN PLAIN SIGHT introduces us to a new danger that threatens the whole family in the form of a deranged sole living survivor of the long departed KEELEY family who you may recall also had a daughter that the PICKETT's tried to adopt, but before they could, she too died in tragic circumstances, something the family have never really recovered from.

So, John Wayne KEELEY is released from a five year prison sentence, where he has become more and more convinced that the reason he is the only survivor of the KEELEY clan is solely down to Joe PICKETT, and so heads North to exact revenge.

While he heads North, things in Saddlestring are beginning to fall apart as Opal SCARLETT, matriarch of the Thunderhead Ranch the biggest and oldest ranch in the valley goes missing. She has been the glue and the buffer of the family, holding them together at the same time as setting her sons against each other as youngsters to determine who would be the strongest and meanest, and therefore able to take over the ranch and business when she dies.

The town of Saddlestring is split down the middle as the blue collar brigade come out in favour of Arlen SCARLETT, the oldest and most articulate of the brothers who is also the majority leader in the state senate, with the bars and labour faction on the side of Hank, Arlen's younger brother. A third brother, Wyat, is in the mix but he is despised by both the elder brothers and is the local joke for his simpleton and strange ways.

A dead Millers weasel is pinned to the PICKETT's front door, four Elk are killed and decapitated, the carcasses left in town and the heads shoved onto fence posts outside the PICKETT house. Nate ROMANOWSKI has been missing for six months and Joe is fighting his new boss, Randy POPE, at every turn. He won't let Joe do anything without first getting permission. Then, all hell breaks loose as the drought is broken, the river is in flood cutting off everyone from everyone else and the PICKETT girls are kidnapped... AND Joe crosses another line

Yet again Mr Box writes in an easy flowing manner, a book full of suspense and danger, involving a good man and his family, a family who are growing up and teenage rebellion is in the air, he continues to deliver a consistently great readable story. You just can't stop turning pages.....

I am slowly getting there with these books, however as they are such a joy to read I am tending to keep those I have still to read in reserve, for that moment, where I know I want something special to read and I know I will get it from Mr Box through Joe PICKETT and his family

Book 1 - Open Season '
Book 2 - Savage Run '
Book 3 - Winterkill '
Book 4 - Trophy Hunt '
Book 5 - Out of Range '
Book 6 - In Plain Sight '
Book 7 - Free Fire
Book 8 - Blood Trail
Book 9 - Below Zero
Book 10 - Nowhere to Run
Book 11 - Cold Wind
Book 12 - Force of Nature

Editing for Kindle: 5 out of 5
Reading Enjoyment: 5 out of 5
Plot: 5 out of 5
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
I have now bought, through Kindle store 11 C.J books since Christmas. I am now reading the last one.
I've enjoyed reading every one of them. Will continueeto buy Joe Pickett books as they are published.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 May 2013
I really like these yarns. You can just imagine Joe Pickett as someone you could meet if you went to Wyoming. The stories build up slowly, always keeping your interest, to a really exciting ending. I've read a few now and they follow pretty much the same tempo, but I am still intrigued to read the next one. If you manage to do this in sequence, it travels over time from his elder daughter being about 8.
If you need something to keep you reading and interested, these will keep you going for ages!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
I will say that all the C J Box I have downloaded onto my kindle have been great reading. Joe Pickett the main man is always, getting into trouble, but by some twist he sometimes gets out of it.
All books by C J Box re Joe Pickett have been worth reading so have a go not a bad price and truly satisfying and an easy read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse