Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2013
The production quality as well as the research that has gone into this book make it a must have for anyone interested in the importance of Hazoor Sahib within the Sikh faith.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
A fantastic production that reveals the hitherto little-known history of Hazoor Sahib. From the earliest construction of a shrine in memory to the tenth Sikh Guru in 1708 to the willful destruction of Sikh built heritage 300 year later, this book narrates the highs and lows of the story accompanied by hundreds of magnificent paintings and photographs. A must read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Wonderful book, with an alternate view of how Sikhism developed from the Hazoori Nihang perspective. A worthy area for further research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Everyone interested in Sikh history should read the monumental work done by the dedicated Sikhs. Years of hard work into researching and writing is quite evident. I just returned from Takhat Hazoor Sahib 2 weeks ago and reviewed the "In the Master's Presence". Many aspects about which I had questions were answered by this book. The Hazoori Sikhs deserve recognition by the SIKH world at large for preserving the Heritage of the Sikh traditions and the Takhat Hazoor Sahib as it was then. Over 300 years Hazoori Sikhs have braved thru the changing political regimes preserved the life as it was during the times of tenth Guru of the Sikhs Guru Gobind Singh ji. Sikh world needs to know the trial and tribulations of this Sikh community which has prevailed and in comparison with the Sikh community of Punjab and the rest of the world. Conflicts exist in the traditions carried out in the Sach Khand Sahib and the teachings of the Guru Granth Sahib; however, preservation of the traditions and the Gurudwaras cannot be discredited. This most informative book on the Hazoori Sikhs I have ever read could not be put down until I had read it all. Of course there is a bias in this book. so let it be. But the exposure of information cannot be denied. At least the discussion will begin.

I highly recommend this book for all Sikhs and Sikh historians to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
A good read some parts are questionable, but all in all worth the buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
Fantastic book! Immediately, the quality of the book grabs your attention - the rich detail of the photographs and illustrations, rarely seen before, captivate the reader, and, combined with the detailed information, makes it an absolute pleasure to read.The extensive research which has gone into producing the book help to illuminate a seriously under-researched aspect of Sikh history certainly making it a book to be cherished by all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2009
Very few Sikh Historians are brave enough to publicly question the traditions of the current `ruling' Sikh establishments, and even fewer put their views to print. Thankfully Nidar Singh Nihang and Parmjit Singh are amongst the vanguard of authors that show no fear.

Sikhs, as well as other religions, are still suffering the affects of British influence, and their `Christianisation'. This book gives the reader an alternative view of how Sikhs lived their lives away from British managed Panjab. It accurately documents how Guru Gobind Singh's traditions have been kept alive since his death and how those traditions differ from what we see inside Gurdwara's in Panjab, and across the world.

Rarely do I read Historical books that I can't put down. This one kept me up for nights on end. The images are literally breathtaking and I spent just as much time being mesmerised by them as I did reading the book. I hope that Volume 2 picks up where the first one left off and explores further the depths of British meddling in Sikh practice. Please hurry with Volume 2!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
This 'labour of love' is a magnificient piece of literature that I hope will reach the Times 'Top 100 books of 2009'. Each illustration and picture shows the rarity of this great, unique and hidden side of Sikhism in the middle of India.

Personally, I've read a few chapters and I am thrilled. I must admit that I was one of those 'mainstream Sikhs' who thought that my Hazoor Sahib counterparts were a bit behind in their practices, but now I am enlightened and more educated. I now believe that I was the one who was behind and ignorant. This wonderful piece of work and effort on your behalf is an exceptional endeavour. In one word, 'sublime'. The illustrations alone make it unique and well sought after.

The Sikh world needs to know what its history is. Ignorance needs to be dispelled and with the collaboration of Parmjit Singh with Nihung Niddar Singh, Sikhism can reach its full potential.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2009
Good luck to the authors as high quality books like this is exactly what Sikhs need in this day and age - its about time we move on from the 2 page leaflet. Maybe someone could make an epic film from this to highlight a forgotten part of our people's heritage? The bravery and courage of the Hazoor Sahib Sikhs has to be admired.

so many beautiful, unseen pictures taken from libraries/private collections all over the world, not to mention much detailed information. There are so many sources (some of it collected from local people) its amazing! Alongside many British accounts of soldiers/policemen are the documents and records of officers who, under the British Raj, used the temple as a political hub for there own agendas. Also included are interviews and images of various festivals and gatherings. Wonderful stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
This is a treasure trove of a book, chronicling the hidden history of Hazoor Sahib, the final resting place of the Tenth Sikh Guru.
The unique history and practices of the Hazoori Sikhs have been much maligned, misunderstood or plain ignored by historians, academics and Sikhs alike. In The Master's Presence puts pay to that.
This is both compelling storytelling and academically rigorous historical study combined. In order to tell their tale the authors have scoured libraries and collections the world over to offer never before seen paintings, photographs, maps and artefacts. And in doing so they have produced a unique, visually stunning and impressively comprehensive work.
But despite being a weighty tomb the story of Hazoor Sahib over three centuries is lucidly written and broad in its scope setting the events in their proper context allowing the lay reader to follow the bigger picture as well as the minutia of Hazoori intrigues.
The research and footnotes are exemplary and back up a wonderfully epic tale composed of a broad tapestry of characters including the Guru himself to Mughal Emperors, Hindu Rajas, Arab mercenaries, Colonial administrators, Nizams and Nihangs.
The Guru's `Sach Khand', or Realm of Truth, has been brought brilliantly back into the spotlight, just as the site itself is being `renovated' and its original spirit is replaced by marbled mundanity.
Volume 1 ends with a lament at the recent `modernisation' bringing the story up to date in a very timely and pertinent manner. The wilful destruction mirrors the ignorance of many Sikhs of a huge part of their own history, traditions and identity- that is, until now.
Beautiful, bold and comprehensive, an absolute must buy for those interested in Sikh history and religion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)