Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2016
great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 1980 broadcast of the 25-year old Stevie Vaughan (not yet known as Stevie Ray) was only released two years after his death in 1990.
It features Vaughan, drummer Chris Layton and then-bassist Jackie Newhouse tearing through a nine-song set with youthful enthusiasm....three of the songs, including the smoking Elmore James-inspired slide guitar instrumental "Slide Thing", are Stevie Ray Vaughan-originals, the rest are cover versions of classc blues and R&B tunes.
Stevie Ray does a funky rendition of Eddie "Guitar Slim" Jones' "They Call Me Guitar Hurricane", a supremely groovy "All Your Love (I miss loving)" (the Otis Rush classic) with some excellent syncopated drumming by Chris Layton, and a very good and very mature take on the classic slow blues "Tin Pan Alley".
And you get to hear early versions of his own "Love Struck Baby", the opening track on his debut album three years later, and the wonderful, swinging blues-rocker "I'm Cryin'", which was called "Live Another Day" back in 1980, after the line "(If) I can't love my baby / I can't live another day".
This is a really, really good "live in the studio" album, with only a few SRV originals, but featuring some well-chosen and masterfully executed cover songs. A very worthy and highly enjoyable addition to Stevie Ray's catalogue.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2001
This CD was recorded live in Austin, Texas, in 1980, although as far as I know it wasn't released until after Stevie's death. It contains some tracks not included on SRV CDs recorded in the studio, and some standards.
The CD 'opens' with In the Open, a Freddy King number, performed at SRV's raunchiest, with his own 'Texas' interpretation.
Other familiar SRV tracks include Tin Pan Alley and Love Struck Baby.
On this CD Stevie has covered other artists' material ranging from Willie Dixon (Shake for me) to Howling Wolf (Tell Me). Yet each and every track bears his own trade mark - his distinctive frenetic guitar style. There is no attempt to imitate the styles of the original bluesmen who recorded the tracks before him.
He proves himself a worthy bottleneck guitarist on Slide Thing, recalling elements of Elmore James, (although Stevie wrote this himself).
This is a CD which predates SRV's studio successes. It has the an even greater raw quality that his studio works had.
This is an essential addition to the CD collection of any blues fan.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2002
at first listen this confounded me a little for it is such a "dirty" recording, you can tell that stevie was playing at 11 on his amps and although his guitar sound is a bit rough it only highlites his incredible intensity, every stevie ray performance(that i have heard) was like an exorcism and as such get ready to be touched by some really raw playing, thank god it survived
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
A lost recording by an artist performing in a setting that was not intended to be heard by the masses can be a great find. Opportunities to hear a musician on a concert bootleg gives you access into the unique creative process of an artist, mistakes and all.
This recording captures Stevie Vaughan (not yet known as Stevie Ray) and Double Trouble in such a setting. Broadcast live over Austin, Texas, airwaves in 1980, Stevie and company rip through nine tunes. On ‘Love Struck Baby’. ‘Tell Me’, and ‘Live Another Day’, Vaughan is bursting with energy from start to finish. Stevie’s sense of rhythm on ‘In The Open’ is flawless, and his slide playing on ‘Slide Thing’ is ferocious. On the tour de force, ‘Tin Pan Alley’, he makes his guitar weep before bursting into a furious hurricane of of chordal bends and lead runs with his signature stinging vibrato. Mistakes are scarce, but when they do happen, Stevie does what all great blues artists do – he plays the mistake again.
In The Beginning clearly indicates that Vaughan’s style had been well developed long before he burst onto the guitar scene in 1982 with Texas Flood.
When it comes to down ‘n’ dirty Texas-style blues, it doesn’t get any better than this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
I've been a huge SRV fan ever since I first heard him in 2004, having taken up guitar only 6 months earlier. I instantly bought up every record and dvd including the excellent boxset, yet for some reason only recently got this one. This recording is now my favourite. It captures all the energy and atmosphere from this gig, his playing the same textbook of ideas, technique and unlimited expression as all the subsequent records. Maybe it has a touch more freshness than the next 6 years would, although I feel he never stopped improving. For me the version of Love Struck Baby is the best i've heard, and this playing of Tin Pan Alley is legendary. Don't hesitate, buy now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2007
....and so it begins with the opening announcement from the radio station host. What a gem this is. It sounds just like you are on the front row. Recorded and salvaged from an original radio broadcast from 1980, this recording is an absolute delight as Stevie Vaughan (an early incarnation of Stevie Ray Vaughan), bassist Jack Newhouse and rock steady Chris Layton on drums positively thunder through a dynamic set. Just before the start of 'Tin Pan Alley' you can hear someone in the crowd shout "go Stevie!". He certainly did that night and this cd is a fine testament to that...buy this cd and enjoy it again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2002
>
Recorded in Austin in 1980 "In the Beginning [LIVE]" bears witness to the fact that Stevie Vaughan was a guitar great even before he added the 'Ray' to his name.
This recording dates back two years before the seminal Montreux Concert of 1982 (catalogued for posterity on the recent "Live at Montreux double-CD). Two years before the Swiss audience (in)famously booed him, while in the crowd David Bowie and Jackson Browne spotted the emergence of a raw and devastating talent. "In the Beginning [LIVE]" shows that even those two rock luminaries were slow to spot genius!
Tracks like "Tin Pan Alley" and Otis Rush's "All your love I miss loving" bear comparison with any of his later live work, and in many ways are all the better for the rawness of SRV's early style. Compare also "Love Struck Baby" on this album and the version on the Montreux '82 CD, hard to say which is better, personally I think the earlier recording just shaves it.
To sum up.....a great CD, full of energy, passion, grit and power. Okay so the recorded sound quality is a little on the rough side and might normally knock half a 'star' off a rating, but here it just adds to the sense of this recording being an undiscovered gem.
Mr. Bowie and Mr. Browne?.....well, better late than never.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I have just lost my cd and record collection in a big house fire and this was the first cd I bought to start my collection again. 'Nuff said!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Check out other srv albums superb
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£6.63
£7.21
£5.12
£6.95
£7.07

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)