Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2014
But the description of the combat goes over board, that i sort of lost the plot a little the combat seems to go on and on in over great detail, they all seem to blur into the same battle. I wonder how many troops the US and Britain has left.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Fantastic Series , thoroughly enjoyed ( still on Impasse ) but really looking forward to the next instalment. As has been said in previous reviews the biographies add to the detail and enjoyment of the characters ....... What a great Alternative History TV "What If?' series this epic would make
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
A have read all the current book in this series by Colin Gee and await the next one with anticipation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Very well written and researched. The best historical fiction I know of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Good book, but too complex, too many plots and sub-plots, could
do with a central character. But compulsive reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Whens vol 5 due.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Great book, amazing storyline
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This bio compliments what is an excellent book from the 'Red Gambit' series. The author add's extra commentary and expands on the characters and circumstances that surround the events that take place in the main book 'Impasse'.

I've come to like these bio's and after reading them I feel it completes my reading journey after reading the main event. Certainly this bio is a quality addition to the 'Red Gambit' series and helps to develop the background/history outlined in the main books.

It's also prompted me to re-read some chapters just to help me if I misread anything previously. A nice bit of reading add-on for a small cost and good to have in the series. I loved the section with all the quotes.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
‘Impasse ‘is the fourth chapter of a journey that chronicles the events of war throughout Europe and the Pacific after the defeat of Germany in 1945. The Red Army has invaded Europe and once again the allies have had to take up arms and fight a growing war even worse than the previous one. ‘Impasse’ give’s up some of the finest and bloodiest action scenes I have ever read and left me shaking due to the depth of action, tension and events that unfolded as I read this book.

To anyone thinking about reading these books please start with ‘Opening Moves’ as the continuity stays throughout all the books. A great set of books to read and the author stands out in his own right with his account of what happened to a group of soldiers, airmen and sailors who took up arms once again on the battlefields of Europe in the 40’s.

The author has to be congratulated for this enthralling 4 book series that from the first outset of ‘Opening Moves’ through to the final episode of ‘Impasse’ gives a truly captive read. These 4 books of what is the ‘Red Gambit’ series are exciting and engaging which don’t hold back on excitement and tension!

Thank you Mr Gee for these books, I won’t forget the ground events from ‘Impasse’ for sure, can’t wait for the next battle!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Impasse is the fourth book in the Red Gambit series and the best so far. It is probably the darkest in the series but this has to be taken in the context of the story and is in no way gratuitous for the sake of it. The author shows he has no favourite characters and is ruthless in killing off key characters. The multiple plotlines are well written and handled well in their coming together. If you have not yet read any of the series you should start with Opening Moves and work your way through the rest of the series as you would not be able to run with the story by buying this book first. The author has also helpfully produced a series of Biographies of the characters. The Red Gambit series is certainly Alternative History at its best.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here