Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Blu-ray Audio|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 August 2016
This is John Lennon's "Imagine" (1971) album on Blu-ray audio. When I first saw this item, I thought that it was a newly released collection of music videos in HD. However, it's not that at all. Rather, it's the audio recordings presented in dts-HD - producing a pure high fidelity audio experience. In other words, the sound quality is improved.

The album originally came out some 45 years ago, and technologies have improved substantially since then. So the aim of re-releasing this classic album in a way that allows for a better listening experience is worthwhile. Yet the outcome is not vastly different from the digitally re-mastered CD version Imagine. If you possess a good Hi-Fi with top quality speakers, you'll be able to identify a some improvement in terms of audio clarity. But on a standard stereo, you'll not really notice any real difference.

Note, this Blu-ray audio is still a stereo recording. Regardless of what the packaging says, there's no Dolby TrueHD - which could allow for 7.1 surround sound. Indeed, it's not even 5.1 quality. In this regard, this Blu-ray audio is a missed opportunity - as the potential improvements have not been realised. Yes, this disc possesses the capacity for tracks to carry up to 8 audio channels (7.1 surround) and 20 objects of 24-bit audio at 96 kHz or up to 6 channels (5.1 surround) at 192 kHz ... but, in reality, it's just 2.0 stereo.

Nonetheless, as 2.0 stereo the audio reproduction is very good - and, in fact, it's the best this album has ever offered. As it's only slightly more expensive than the standard CD version, I do recommend this item. But please be aware that, as a Blu-ray disc, you'll need to play this using a Blu-ray machine (as a CD player won't be able to read it).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
i'm a massive beatle and lennon fan, so ordered this which is arguably his best solo work (the other being, plastic ono band) i have an oppo bluray player and a denon amp. so i have listened carefully about 4 or 5 times now. so what does the bluray give you that the cd doesn't? better clarity, separation of instruments (though to be fair it is intentionally very sparse in this department) and presentation, it has a simply beauty that is stunning at times. i'm familiar with bluray audio, so to certain degree i can understand people who have said that there isnt much difference, but the truth is, this is dependent on your equipment and system set-up. in my opinion there is a difference, but its not night and day and more subtle in comparison to the cd. the ten tracks contained on this album if you like them, i would recommend buying this bluray presentation in stereo only. but just bear in mind that the differences are an improvement over the cd, but not massive. one for the fans only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
This Blu Ray audio edition of Imagine contains high resolution versions of the 2010 remaster.

However, I found this disc sounds little better than the 2010 CD so if you own that disc, you may find the Blu Ray offers little improvement.
2020 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Sound quality is good but was expecting dts-master in more than 2 channels; thats why I bought a blu-ray. Instead I got stereo and for the money, its not worth it.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2016
Great high definition copy - some bonus tracks could be added...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Lennon's best soloalbum, A remarkable collection of songs he never was able to repeat. The sound is open,pure, The dts-Hd Master track is superb. Only stereo,not 5,1 but it don't matter. No CD can beat the sound on this one.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
The best album ever,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Only decent album Lennon came up with post Beatles. Well mastered onto Blu-Ray Audio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
The sound quality is simply over the top, and so simple music like John Lennon's is really good this way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I was disappointed this is 2.0 not 5.1. The sound quality is good but not as amazing as I would expect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)