Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
9
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 21 January 2003
We all know that in most cases the movie is a poor reflection of the book it is based on. This is in movie about stories within a story. It is very well paced to give you a feel for what is happening and time to anticipate what may happen. Rod Steiger has time to really act instead is being a cameo. The stories are naturally imaginative. The sets are well designed to bring out the nuances and display the implications of the character's actions. In all this is a very well designed movie for 1969.

A man is encountered who has skin Illustrations all over his body. Each illustration represents a tale from the future. The illustrations come to life and tell a tale of doom or impending doom. In this way ray Bradbury can tell related but different tales in this book. Its Bradbury's writing style and dialogue that holds you as much as the storyline.
At first they are intriguing and fresh. Later they don't as much repeat but are similar in form and function.
One of the best "The Veldt" is first. Of course everyone will have a different favorite.
I suggest that you make your cats leave the room during the veldt scene.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2002
As one of the elite films in the kitsch sixties sci-fi genre, Illustrated Man will keep you fixed in a what-next? fascination. Rod Stieger plays the main role in what seems to be an experimental choice style of film for him.
Originally a normal man, Steiger is cursed by a mysterious female tattooist who seduces him into being covered in supernatural tattoos. He is left with no choice but to join a travelling freak show. People who stare into his tattoos find themselves seeing there own future and not liking what they see.
Find yourself experiencing the future, the past, other dimensions and stark madness on levels quite rare for films of this age. This film is quite unique and is an accomplishment for the late Steiger (who passed away last week).
I would recommend this film for the individual (like me) who finds themselves spending up to 3 film lengths in the video store trying to find something that they have not already seen or is not a rubbish B-grade. This film is certainly not "arguably the greatest film ever made" but worth the novelty of the early sci-fi experience.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
I saw the film when it first came out and it stayed in my mind so much so that after about 30 years I purchased it!

It is a series of 'short stories' each ending with a twist. Rod Steiger is excellent throughout. The first, The Illustrated Man, is the most impressive. I believe that it holds the 'film record' for application of makeup.

My favourite, however, is the tale of the planet of eternal rain. The final scene and tranquility of the 'Sun Dome' is perfection.

This DVD is hard to get in the UK and I had to buy this from the USA but it proved no problem and plays without any bother here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
..there are some strange little films of strange little stories. As a film - references to the book are made better by reviewers other than myself - this is one to seek out. Steiger is brilliantly sinister, but for me it's the look and feel of the film that appeal most. Genuinely odd without trying too hard to be - there are real senses of being somewhere else throughout. As a late night treat, it's hard to beat. if only a lot of other Sci Fi managed to be this leftfield...still, we've got this - or at least I have!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
The Illustrated Man is a brilliant set of short stories and there was always going to be a problem insofar as there had to be a selection process. I feel there were better stories on offer here for dramatisation. Rod Steiger is excellent in his linking role as the Illustrated Man and the individual vignettes are well acted in most cases but for some they were not given a great deal to work with. Feels like a missed opportunity for a really great film. Worth a viewing though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
A collection of scifi short stories linked by the "Illustrated Man" and his unusually animated "skin illustrations". A good cast make this film more effective than it may otherwise have been and Ray Bradbury's idiosyncratic and quirky style does come through in this limited sampling from the book. As one who enjoys Bradbury's works I found the film reasonably convincing and compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 August 2008
We all know that in most cases the movie is a poor reflection of the book it is based on. This is in movie about stories within a story. It is very well paced to give you a feel for what is happening and time to anticipate what may happen. Rod Steiger has time to really act instead is being a cameo. The stories are naturally imaginative. The sets are well designed to bring out the nuances and display the implications of the character's actions. In all this is a very well designed movie for 1969.

A man is encountered who has skin Illustrations all over his body. Each illustration represents a tale from the future. The illustrations come to life and tell a tale of doom or impending doom. In this way ray Bradbury can tell related but different tales in this book. Its Bradbury's writing style and dialogue that holds you as much as the storyline.
At first they are intriguing and fresh. Later they don't as much repeat but are similar in form and function.
One of the best "The Veldt" is first. Of course everyone will have a different favorite.
I suggest that you make your cats leave the room during the veldt scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
fantastic film, possibly rod steigers best performance,if you like him you will love this film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Rod Steiger does a great job but the rest of the crew and movie sucks big time....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)