Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The American War of Independence was part great power struggle, part imperial war and part civil war. For those interested in the uniforms of the war this is a most useful volume. You can go from Spanish units, to German mercenaries, from New England militia to South Carolina Loyalist. In a war with difficult supply problems and a lot of decentralised authority being certain as to uniform colours is a mug's game and this book should be regarded as just one resource. What the book does in spades is to inspire you to research more as well as giving you an excellent starting point. It is a bargain in all senses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
very interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
A great book for those familiar with the history but unsure what the combatants looked like.Excellent illustrations.
Ideal for wargamers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Superb book. The illustrations are absolutely excellent and the evolution of the uniforms well explained. Unhesitatingly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
An excellent addition to my growing library on the American Revolutionary War. Good descriptive text and clear colour plates, ideal for the Wargamer/Figure painters out there.

Really pleased with the book so purchased the sister volume "Napoleonic Military Uniforms"
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2008
I have been waiting for this book since November. I had pre-ordered it on the strength of its sister volume; Uniforms of the Napoleonic wars and its been worth the wait.

Its packed full of details of the uniforms and equipment used by all the main participants of the war; the Americans, the British, the French, the Spanish, the Hessians and the Native American units who like the Americans themselves were on both sides of the conflict.

The illustrations are fantastic and anyone interested in this war/revolution or military history in general will love this.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
If you like wargaming the traditional way buy the figures paint em and fight em, this book is a reference to uniforms that took part in the war that lost us America.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
On the face of it this book looks very comprehensive. I would definately recommend this book and the illustrations are excellant. However authors note the 5th Northumberland Regiment were not made fusiliers until 1836, so that was a bit dodgy. I was also slightly disapointed by the lack of uniforms for the southern campaigns. After the early war militia and minute men there were no images of the south and north Carolina militia, or campaign dress for Cornwallis's army. I also felt one page on Hessian infantry was a bit disapointing considering they made up a large proportion of the British effort. However I don't want to sound to critical as the rest of the book was excellant and I very pleased with my purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
An excellent primer for the period, button counters may find things to criticise but wargames will love it for the wealth of uniform plates and the detail on units - a must have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
I'm a wargamer and from that point of view I fond all the plates very usefull.

Also, the brief history of the AR presented within gives us a base where we can build upon and compels one to researsh further.

Also, for the price, one can't go wrong with this volume!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)