Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

How much can one man drown a good story under so many words?

While a lot of his stories seem to have a great tagline, his old writing style shows with overextended descriptions of things that are meant to be indescribable which, in essence, ends up draining a lot of the interest from them.
The worst is not all of the stories suffer from this. As you read this book, you find a few narratives who are pleasing to read, with the impending horror being wonderfully weaved (one finds that these also tend to be short). Their number, however, is not enough to compensate for all others.

If anything, this anthology served to teach me two things:
* Lovecraft is to be read one short story with some days in between
* It is time for me to leave Lovecraft and head for other things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
This collection is available as a free to download public domain pdf.
Amazon are charging for the ease of access and utility of their wonderful Kindle system.
Apart from that, great stuff - now I don't need shelf space for all my paperbacks.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I found it a very tedious insight into American 20th century social life. It is very good as a sleeping aid!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
Excellent - all you can eat Horror from the original expert of the genre.
Lovecraft follows several similar plot lines but then manages to spin the stories in unexpected directions.
All work from a basis that nothing is as it seems and the super natural world is always present.
The stories can be read quickly so if one doesn't get your imagination going the next will.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
Just wanted post that further to the review below this collection DOES now contain "shadow over innsmouth"
I haven't checked every other story is present and correct but i have no reason to believe this is not the case.
I love H.P. Lovecraft and will work my way through this huge collection. Great reading and I'd recommend it to everyone.

[...]
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
This is going to take a loooooong time to get through, but if you love Lovecraft, then this is the collection for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
There is no author quite like HP Lovecraft.

Born out of a period in which the first terrible world war had created atrocities that warped the minds of men, from an author whose xenophobia was extreme.
This unique background led to the creation of a unique mythos, imitated by many authors today (I have written a couple of Cthulhu mythos inspired stories myself).

They generally concern the invasion of our universe by unfathomable entities from elder times and the hideous corrupted nature of their worshippers.
Those who have the misfortune to encounter these entities tend to go mad, if they survive at all.

The volume is also very good value, all the author's stories for 99p when I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
The language reflects the period in which it was written, but the ideas were revolutionary at the time even if they appear dated now. However, worth reading if you want to experience the origin of this genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
An absolutely thrilling set of reading ... once you start reading each story you can't put it down until the end to see what happens! Lovecraft is gifted in immersing you in the story and the worlds he creates making sure that you will always find the way to go back to those places to explore them further on your own (if you dare!) long after you've finished reading and moved onto different things. Highly recommended!

The text size in this version is a little on the small side, but that's nothing the Kindle zoom function can't fix, so points all around!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
H P Lovecraft and M R James stand in the same Gothic tradition of teasing horror stories, in which the reader is terrified not by what he or she 'sees' (as described directly by the author), but by what the reader imagines has been happening off-stage. In fact this off-stage action is described, but only by hints and suggestions, and vivid scene-setting. We see the reaction of one protagonist to what he hears is happening out of his field of vision, and this is quite enough to quicken the pulse.

This is a large collection of short stories. Some are very short indeed; in a few paragraphs Lovecraft can weave a wonderful tapestry of words that communicates fear and apprehension, so he is not necessarily committed to page after page of complex narrative. His skill rests upon his ability to conjure up the unimaginable, but without actually telling us much about it. These stories will give me hours of entertainment, though I have yet to be terrified out of my wits!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse