Buy Used
£2.10
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah Paperback – 1 Oct 1992

4.6 out of 5 stars 166 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 1 Oct 1992
£95.06 £0.01
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 144 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow; New edition edition (1 Oct. 1992)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0749313803
  • ISBN-13: 978-0749313807
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 1.2 x 17 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (166 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 862,135 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"The five books that changed my life" (Woman) --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Book Description

An inspirational classic novella and mystical adventure story, from the author of the international New York Times bestseller Jonathan Livingston Seagull. Perfect for fans of Nevil Shute's Round the Bend. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on 4 Jun. 2005
Format: Paperback
I bought this book several years ago and from the first page it captured my imagination. Make no bones about it, this book is life and thought changing stuff. I have lent my copy to many friends and now it has started to fall apart, hence I have returned to Amazon to buy another copy.
I try to reread it about once a year and every time I pick it up, the story manages to provide answers to whatever questions about life that may be in my mind at the time.
Probably the best book I ever bought.
Comment 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I first read Illusions 28 years ago, and it blew me away to find this guy saying so simply and so engagingly all the things that I'd struggled so hard to find out for myself .. all the things that really matter in life, but written like a fairy story, or an hour round the fire with a good friend, or ... well, you get the idea, I'm sure.

I kept having to put the book down every few pages, and just go, "oh YES! why couldn't I describe it like that?"

I must have bought around 20 copies by now - to give as presents and to replace when someone I'd lent it to said how much they loved it, and I told them "just keep it, then".

I still read it now & again ... and enjoy it as much as ever. I wonder how many books have that sort of loyalty? Not many in my (book!) case.

It's a fascinating book, because it can be read on so many levels: simply as a light fantasy; as a parable for all the spiritual things that really matter in life; a buddy story ... or indeed all of the above at once.

I call it my Bible, because I feel the God I know would prefer it to the Bible we're brought up with .. sorry to anyone who finds that blasphemous and upsetting, but that's my honest belief.

And it's so gently amusing while it's telling you something profound ... oh, that school teachers could grasp the value of that!

Look out particularly for the part where the vampire appears in order to illustrate the point that it's NOT always a good thing to do whatever you want so long as you hurt nobody .. that's one of favourite bits, along with the Butch Cassidy/tomato sauce blood explanation.

If you want a totally feel-good overall experience, and to be reminded of things we all would be better for remembering, do buy Illusions. I'm almost certain you won't regret it.
1 Comment 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Since discovering this book I have bought many copies of it to give to my students at the end of their 'A' level courses. An apparently simple story clearly told - but one which will tease you and make you review your own life and re-read the book over and over again.

If you need to reaffirm the purpose of life, see the wood from the trees, live life to the max and escape from a world view riddled with cliches ( ! ) then this is the book for you.

Undoubtedly the best present you could possibly give to yourself or any one else.
1 Comment 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This is the first book you should read by Richard Bach. It is a short yet compelling story infused with the notion that reality is not what it seems. There are many insightful visions in this text and like most important lessons, we already know them but need to be reminded from time to time.

If you have a few hours to spare then read this book. It will not change your life but it will change your attitude.
Comment 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Richard Bach's classic is one of the very first self-development/spiritual books I ever read, and 15 years later it still compares very favourably with the best of the rest. There is profound truth and subtle humour on nearly every page, and I strongly recommend this beautifully written book to anyone who has not come across it yet.
The author meets stranger and fellow pilot Donald Shimoda and the story unfolds. About a third of the way through Richard starts reading the "Messiah's Handbook" which is quoted liberally from then on. It contains various pearls of wisdom.... "You teach best what you most need to learn", "Argue for your limitations, and sure enough, they're yours" and (one of my favourites) "You are never given a wish without also being given the power to make it true. You may have to work for it however".
The chapter where Shimoda and Richard visit the cinema to discover the meaning of life is a high point and the twist at the end of the book is absolutely brilliant. Enlightenment!
Comment 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 1 Oct. 2002
Format: Paperback
I was lent the book by someone who had already made a great impression on my life, I had been inspired by this person and their views on life but when I read 'Illusions' i realised that this book was the source of my friends beliefs. I have always questioned life, it's meaning, my role, and worried about my responsibilty to others, within Illusions i have found many of my answers and have since been able to view things from different perspectives. You can get out of the book any answers that you want, you can read things as you wish to read them - it will therefore satisfy any mind and help with the answers to any questions. Thank you Nathan for passing on 'the massiahs handbook'.
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Richard Bach's "Illusions" is a little book telling a story of two biplane pilots of whom one was Messiah and the other - his student willing to become Messiah.

In a form of the "Messiah Handbook" and continuous dialogues between the two as well as the situations happening in the book, Richard Bach delivers us the life-changing information and the greatest wisdom of life where every person is responsible for the life he has and has power to change it if he wants, also that the material life is illusion and that the spiritual life where no space or time exist is what is real...

I've read this book several times but each time I read I see and understand it differently. However it is always highly inspiring, awakening, positive, thought provoking and by all means brilliant!!! I love this book. It's a bit like Antoine de Saint-Exupery's "The Little Prince" or Paulo Coelho's "Alchemist" which are all masterpieces of all times.
Comment 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback