Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
Hypnotherapy: A Handbook (Psychotherapy Handbooks)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£30.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 October 2014
I wanted to buy Hypnotherapy edited by Michael Heap when I noticed that there was a kindle edition and I downloaded the book. To my surprise I received a book called Hypnotherapy and anxiety.This is really misleading and not an accepted Practice. I read the book which is only a few pages. The book is a narrative account on the historical and academic discussion on CBT and Hypnotherapy and discussion on various types of anxiety disorders .Reader will be disappointed if he/she looking for Hypnotherapy scripts for induction, deepener, ego-booster and details of Hypnotherapy scripts specific to anxiety disorders. Of course the author has provided a long list of references. This book is for the academics and NOT for the use of Hypnotherapy. Do not waste your money on this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2013
thorough, well written, well reseached, excellent in every respect. An essential reference for hypnotherapists, counsellors or anyone interested in how hypnotherapy can help anxiety.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2015
Always good to see a different angle on something you already do and this book helps to see from a different angle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2014
Lots of medical jargon and terminology,much of which I didn't understand. More suited to the shelves of medical school library
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2013
Really Pleased. with the book, full of information that I needed which was useful to pass onto others interested in the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2013
has helped me through many many essays and towards my hypnosis case study sessions, really good easy to read and understandable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2014
The layout of the book is that chapter one introduces the concept of hypnosis including brief theories of this phenomenon. Chapter two gives an overview of the application of hypnosis in therapy including the evidence base. The rest of the book allocates a chapter each to key mental health conditions such as anxiety, depression and eating disorders. Finally, there are two chapters one looking at hypnotherapy with children and the other, hypnotherapy in dentistry.

Each chapter starts with an introductory section, other treatment modalities before focusing on the role of hypnotherapy approaches/applications, specific approaches and future directions. Some chapters cover theoretical views and give practical tips. However there are no hypnotherapy scripts in this book.

This book is well written with excellent up to date evidence base research. However, background knowledge of hypnotherapy and other psychological therapies such as CBT and behavioural therapy would be important in understanding some of the treatments discussed. As a practitioner with limited experience in hypnotherapy some treatment suggestions are unfamiliar to me but thankfully the book has plenty of references for the reader to look up. This book is worth buying and would be useful for students as well as qualified hypnotherapy practitioners looking for up to date evidence base with comprehensive reference sections.

Dr Zai Edworthy, Clinical Psychologist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2013
Good service, prompt delivery. Will buy from here again. Well packaged and prompt delivery. Good service. Good service good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)