Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2008
My wife and I have done the Norwegian Coastal Voyage round trip (Bergen-Kirkenes-Bergen) twelve times, and are booked for our thirteenth. We very much we'd had the benefit of this excellent book for our previous voyages, and are looking forward to taking it along next time. Quite frankly the voyage itself stands well on its own merits. What this book does is to add a number of extra dimensions, and is an invaluable aide to understanding more about the scenery, the history and the culture. If you read it before a voyage, it'll help you get the most out of the trip; if you read it after a voyage, it'll bring back beautiful memories.

This book is a labour of love, and to those of us - and there are many from all over the world - for whom the Norwegian Coastal Voyage is a wonderful (and repeatable) experience, it is essential. If I were allowed only two books as a desert island castaway, Berit Liland's book would be one of them.

Buy the book, and take it - along with binoculars and camera - on the voyage.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
This stunning book is both unusual and essential for those who love or are considering the unique voyage along the beautiful Norwegian coast from Bergen to Kirkenes run on a regular basis by Hurtigruten.
A labour of love it covers in great detail every part of the voyage together with what can be enjoyed at each of the stops along the way.
When I say detailed I mean exactly that
Co-ordinates so those using GPS enabled technology can plot their position day by day minute by minute and map lovers can see exactly where they are and what they are looking at any time of the day and bearing in mind this is the land of the midnight sun at night.
Lots of practical information and suggestions at all the ports of call.
It is a unique publication I have never seen its like or equal.
More than a guide book although it serves that function well it is the perfect souvenir of a memorable voyage.
There are some reservations
It is an expensive purchase and too heavy and detailed to serve well as a guide book while ashore.
Print and photographic quality are first rate but here again there are some that might say the text is to detailed and photographs too small for the book to be used readily as a guide ashore.
To make best use of it some idea of the journey being undertaken is necessary so perhaps it is best purchased while on board
All the Hurtigruten ships offer it for sale but be aware it will be offered for a short time at a 15% discount during each voyage and all purchases in Norway are higher than the UK price.
A cut down version will be offered free to travellers by Hurtigruten and for many that will be enough but for those who love the voyage it is a wonderful companion and this traveller gives a unqualified recommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Correct book delivered in excellent condition well within the forecasted delivery period.
We thought that this purchase might be a bit of an extravavagnnza.
Proved to be an invaluable reference during the voyage.
Extremely good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Very detailed and full of information. You will know about everything you are seeing and very well put. The only thing for me is it is very busy and almost too much info. It will be fun to use it on the trip/ship and see how well it works out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
An excellent book which is referred to many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Brilliant book delivered promptly. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
A brilliantly indepth look at the 11 day Norwegian trip on the Hurtergruten Coastal Steamers. To buy on the vessel is around £40 and this second hand book was around half the cost and in excellent condition. The book provides an almost minute by minute guide to what you are passing( and believe me there are thousands of islands) and the history etc of Norway.The vessel provides you with a small paperback version but this book really gets to grips with Norway.And Yes! I am going to keep it!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
I would strongly recommend this book to anybody contemplating the Hurtigruten round trip Bergen-Kirkenes-Bergen. The book itself is superbly organised and the layout makes it easy to read, despite containing everything (and I mean everything) that you could possibly need to know regarding what you can see on the cruise, its history and its cultural context. Detailed maps are included of every stage of the journey, including town maps where applicable, photographs are numerous and appropriate. The book is broken into days 1-12, with timings from each port of call. Each day's journey north is detailed, then the night voyage assumes you're asleep, and the details pick up again the next morning, with the missing night elements included in the southern voyage detailed later. There is even a section at the back to make notes in, which for a pronounced geek like me is welcome.
I love to research places before I visit them as I find it makes me appreciate what I'm looking at all the more. This book satisfied even my eternal thirst for knowledge - my only problem is that I don't know when I shall find time to sleep whilst on the cruise!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
If you are doing the voyage this gives so much information about the places you are seeing. Sometimes almost too much but there is something for everyone from ancient legend to modern facts.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
This book has a detailed information for travelers of the Hurtigruten Norway Coastal voyage, it is an ogligated lecture to know more about History of Norway, events on each one of the ports, detailed maps routes and times of the travel.

It is a very useful guide to plan the travel and to add value to the magnificent fjords along the Norway coastline travel and enjoy each one of the natual sceneries during the travel.

That is very recommendable for people who wants to book the travel and for people who took the travel is an essential lecture to recall memories of the travel.

A great book for a great travel.

LGR
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)