Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Hurricane: The Life of Rubin Carter, Fighter
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 March 2001
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter's tale is so incredible that you may need reminding this is not fiction. As possibly one of the best biographies I have ever come across, it becomes apparent that the pathetic injustices we continue to ignore in our own societies are what engrave this story into the history books.
All I'd ever heard about Rubin Carter was from Bob Dylan's song the "Hurricane"; Hirsch however has done remarkably well in presenting the story, supporting Rubin Carter's innocence with confirmed and detailed facts. I found the book intriguing, concise and pleasant to read; I'd recommend it to anyone interested in finding out more about Rubin Carter.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2003
I am giving this book 4 stars because it portrays the story of what happened to an innocent man which only happened because of white America's racism which wasnt addressed soon enough. The best part of this book is Carter's determination and refusal to give up on what he knows was the truth. The book did grow a little boring but Carter's conviction and strength of mind are reason alone to read the book. If we all had his perserverance and attitude then there would probably be no povety, disease or world hunger! His story should be required reading in all schools in the world as a testerment to the human spirit and also to how fear of difference can drive people to such lengths as the police officers and courts in this case. If a certain police force in New Jersey had put the same amount of effort into catching real criminals as they put into victimising Carter then New Jersey would be the safest place on earth!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2002
I have read many books related to boxing and racial injustice. I also heard about Hurrican through Bob Dylan's song. The release of the movie made me go out and get the book.
As far as books go, this is not written very well and doesnt hold one's imagination too long. If you've read The Night Train by Nick Torsche and found that boring than avoid this one. Its just as boring...perhaps less. I barely finished it i was that bored.
Other books on Rubin Carter would probably be a sensible purchase.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
idn
A well written and researched account of Rubin Carter's long struggle to get justice. The strength of the book is the author's even handedness. Rubin Carter does not come over as very likeable and the Canadian commune - despite all their good work - does come over as rather strange and perhaps not of this world. But the author rightly focuses on the real villians - the US legal system and the people within it. Incompetence, deceit and vindictiveness appear to be the hallmarks, in this case, of the state legal system. Combined with the inherent racism of the authorities in the 1960s one shudders to think how many other Rubin Carters there are out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
Read it, read it, read it. This well written, true story about Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, a pro boxer at the peak of his career, who was arrested with others on trumped up charges of murder.
The ensuing bias against the black defendants in a predominatly white environment, their incarceration and Rubin refusing to conform or admit to any of the charges. This, of course, as we know in GB, resulted in him & the others having their parole appeals consistently turned down.
How this man used his professional sport disciplines to cope with his imprisonment is testament to his massive inner strength.
A MUST READ, absolutely recommended, *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2004
Hurricane: Life of Rubin Carter, Fighter.
James S. Hirsch
In 1979, a 16 year old boy called Lezra, an African American moved over toToronto in Canada. He was invited by a group of Canadians who offered himfree education. He finally had the skills to read, so he bought anautobiography of a book called 'the sixteenth round'. As he reads the bookhe was struck by the story of Rubin 'Hurricane' Carter.
June 1966, two men shot 4 people and killed3 in Lafayette Grill in Paterson, New Jersey. At the time Rubin'Hurricane' Carter was living large. He was already known for hisexcellence and gratifying fights in boxing and being contender for themiddleweight belt. He was only contender because of loosing against themiddleweight champion due to racism. Carter won it and the crowd knew it!A fan of Carter's called John Artis was let to drive with Carter, but twopolice men stopped them and told them to go to the police stationimmediately. They later found themselves charged with murder for alifetime sentence for being accused of the murders of the three people inLafayette Grill.
The 'Fighter' is aninspiring and tremendous book to read, of the 22 year fight to regain his(Carter's) freedom.
When I finished reading the book I wasspeechless. It is breathtaking to read if you don't now the end of it. Butthroughout the book James Hirsch has given a balanced view to the story,and hasn't taken Carter as the main object. He has described in good handsto show the change of Carter being known for his temperament, anger andrejecting to listen to anyone in the jail with authority, to a changedperson who had feelings for others, not just himself and a person whodefeated despair.
My best character isRubin Carter. I enjoyed the struggle to try and get out of jail. Thegrammar and punctuation gets you at the tip of your seat.
Lezra is a good character who unravels the mysterious evidence beingfound. His Canadian friends and he went out of their ways to freeCarter.
The story of the Hurricaneleads celebrity support from Muhammed Ali, Jesse Jackson and Bob Dylan,using Carter in a song called 'The Hurricane' to appeal against the crimeCarter never committed. The bittersweet story ends in a great andremarkable way. Please read this book it is a fast flowing book that iswonderfully crafted.
Rahil Dhul
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2007
An existing reviewer taint's this book as "boring". I can only believe this was concluded by someone whose literary intellect stretches only as far as comics. That said, if you're searching for a simply worded `two-syllable only' short account of Rubin Carter's life, look it up on the Internet. For those of you who would prefer a detailed, extremely well-researched (and well-written) explanation of The Hurricane's tale, then look no further.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
Tragic story of yet another legal injustice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Bought as Xmas present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
very happy with item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)