Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
63
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2017
My husband was very pleased with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Bought as a gift for my son, he said it was excellent and he really enjoyed it, He also said it complemented the film version "Rush"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Despite what it says on the DVD case, this is not "as seen on BBC TV" - with a running time of just 52 minutes, around a tenth has been edited out.

Probably due to licensing issues, music is missing and, more damagingly, many of the scenes that went with it - noticeably James Brown's Get Up Offa That Thing (used for Parkinson interview with "playboy Hunt" and footage of "Hunt the Shunt" at Hesketh), Kraftwerk's Autobahn (when looking at Lauda's approach to racing), T-Rex's Get It On (talking about McLaren's Marlborough sponsorship) and Boston's More Than A Feeling (used so effectively when describing the social context of the British GP and then showing Hunt's controversial victory).

Off the top of my head, Jackie Stewart's brief Nürburgring in-car commentary has also been cut in half, while the chilling narration from fellow driver John Watson, who held Lauda's head in his lap in the aftermath of the accident, is gone. Strangely I think a quote from Lauda may have been added - about being asked to date an autograph before the German GP "because it might be the last one."

This is a bare bones release and there are no extras. Even at a fiver I felt slightly hacked off buying it, so I took it back for a refund.

Wait for it to appear again on the BBC - it's a great documentary and well worth seeing in its original form. Incredibly moving and makes the recent Rush movie completely redundant.
22 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Note that I have not seen the DVD version of this programme, only the BBC4 broadcast, but as I was reviewing the film Rush [DVD], I took the opportunity to write a review of this also, as the two are inseparable. Please note some of the warnings in the other reviews.

This is an excellent documentary on the 1976 Formula One championship rivalry between James Hunt and Niki Lauda. I knew nothing of it before seeing this programme, but found it fascinating. Hunt came over as a public schoolboy who had no direction in his life, and was just chasing the moment, whereas Lauda’s approach, whether it was the intention or not, appeared to be the future of F1 racing, as we know it today. The film manages to show the drama and suspense of the races and the various political decisions much better than the recent film Rush does, which concentrates more of the character differences between the two rivals. This programme made me think of the famous quote on the English Civil War, that “the Royalists were romantic but wrong, the Parliamentarians repulsive but right”; though I would not call Lauda repulsive – he was simply being professional while Hunt was just a gifted amateur. However, as Napoleon is oft quoted as saying “I don’t care how good he is, is he lucky?” Hunt got lucky, but consistency won out in the end.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
With so much renewed interest in this battle between two of the racing worlds drivers as Ron Howard's RUSH showed, it's marvellous to hear & see the real footage & hear from the drivers & engineers & very moving firsthand experiences from partners & friends. This documentary is very well edited & a remarkable piece of documentary making about James Hunt & Niki Lauda, it's also an in-depth focus on the teams & cars of that era.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
I have been fascinated with this story because as I child I witnessed the events unfolding.. The BBC did a great documentary... but this is not it! It's been edited by about 10 minutes. One very annoyed customer!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
One of the most amazing battles in history of Formula One. It even showed to me another side of James Hunt compared to movie Rush that more focused on the rivalry between two drivers. this film made me wish James Hunt would be here today with us..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
10 out of 10 even if you're not into formula 1 racing,amazing determination and courage from both men.The actors were perfect for the roles!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
This is the film on which I believe 'Rush' was based but portrays a different James to that of Champion: James Hunt, which I choose to believe is the more accurate one. Good story though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Saw this brilliant doc when it was shown on BBC; really looking forward to seeing it again on DVD. The story of Niki Lauda's crash is both harrowing and uplifting and it's amazing to see what F1 was like back then.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)