Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
298
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2017
I found this 130 min REGION B/2 DVD highly entertaining and very engrossing and am sure that it will keep most viewers on the edge of their seats. It's a very intense film but nothing serious.
Based on Tom Clancy's bestseller, directed by John McTiernan and starring Sean Connery and Alex Baldwin. The Hunt for Red October seethes with high-tech excitement and sweats with the tension of men who hold Doomsday in their hands. A new technologically superior Soviet nuclear sub the Red October, is heading for the U.S. coast under the command of Captain Marko Ramius (Sean Connery) The American government thinks Ramius is planning to attack. A lone CIA analyst (Alex Baldwin) has a different idea, he thinks Ramius is planning to defect, but he has only a few hours to find him and prove it as the entire Russian naval and air commanders are trying to find him too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
A fantastic film and a brilliant copy. Like most older films the faces are not as clear as the rest but this is one of the most icon films of it's time.

Jack Ryan is brought into a meeting about a new sub just launched by Russia. They set out to find out what the submarine's purpose is. We find out a lot about Jack. It has a lot of action in the cat and mouse chases. Not only the Americans but the Russians are looking for the sub. There is a great twist at the end.

The film has a lot of character, some amazing acting and amazing special effects for it's time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2016
Absolute classic and one of my very favorite movies. This is Sean Connery at his best and there are some other great actors in there too. The storyline is superb and somewhat believable as a 'true story' (it is not, but could be easily if the technology was there at the time!). The soundtrack is fantastic too and I have lost count of how many times I have watched this movie and not got bored of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2016
Still the best film ever made that accurately depicts naval combat in the late Cold War. Casting is a little off - Tim Curry was never convincing in his role, but Connery and Sam Neil excelled. It's a brilliant period piece that shows the dangers of the Cold War we all lived with every day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Purchased this for a christmas pressie in September 2016 - my hubby has just watched it for the first time (we have a 10 month old baby!) and it only played half of the film then stopped working. Very disappointed in the quality of this blu-ray. The returns policy states all returns within a month so I'd missed it before he'd even had it for Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
Great film, one of my all time favourites, you can watch this many times over and still enjoy, unlike many other films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
This is one of my favourite movies ever... I pretty much know the script and can watch it over and over. I am recovering from surgery, so was looking forward to watching this a few times. However, the copy I received was very poor. It keeps changing speed - going from normal to ff without being commanded. Also, in the Russian language parts of the movie, the qualuty of the subtitles is very poor, and in one place, they refer to a previous piece of dialogue... not that which is being shown! I would normally return something like this, but as I only paid about £5.50, it is more trouble than it is worth to return it. Very disappointed with this copy. I will have to buy another copy on the high street :-(
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2016
A great submarine movie! if you want to know more about its plot search it on IMDB or ROTTENTOMATOS!
Video is excellent (for the video's age!) with that grainy vintage look that makes it feel very lifelike!
Audio is awesome! LPCM for the WIN!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
One of our top five films of all time

Now reading the book on Kindle
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
How I missed this movie in the first place, I cannot recall. A terrific find and very cheap. A rather good and interesting story, kept you glued to the television. Thanks for careful packaging and arrived in wonderful condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)