Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
36
S24.2103 Human Skull, life-size, 3 parts
Price:£39.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 25 February 2014
The product is manufactured out of high quality PVC and seems to be an actual molding of a real skull. It is composed of three major segments, with the jaw seated into the underside of the cranium on soft inserts and attached with two springs and four small screws to replicate it's movement when manipulated.

The cranium itself can be opened (although on receipt of the item the upper half was stiff and had to be gently prized open as not to accidentally snap off any of the pegs which allow it to remain seated) easily after some time, although it does remain suitably stiff, and will not just 'drop off' when not in use. The cranium retaining pegs are aided by two small magnets, which may from time to time be pushed back into the skull to re-seat them.

The interior of the skull reveals the cavity into which the brain and spinal cord are inserted. Such is the HIGH QUALITY of this item that individual bony ridges and gaps are well represented, even down to the channels for the ears.

The jaw, both upper and lower includes all of the teeth, although none of them are loose or come out. They are however, individual items which have been mounted in their appropriate locations.

In my case, I purchased two of these items as I wanted to dismantle one of them (I removed the springs and screws from the skull and jaw) so that it would be possible to unseat the jaw and better examine the skull and the teeth especially. Disassembled like this, the cranium and jaw easily pop back together once more without any problems. The item arrives in a box and when not on display or being used can be safely stored there.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 July 2015
Full size skull, super quality, super detail. This is the second I have purchased the first having been adopted by my daughter and they cannot be separated.

The detail is all there, looks like it must have been cast from a real specimen. It is life size and no distortions. The top of the skull lifts off and reveals accurate detail in there too. There are little magnets embedded in the 'bone' that help keep the 'cap' on. Yeah, Im not a medical doctor. There are springs on the jaw which can be removed but I leave mine on. The silicon rubber bumpers on the jaw were translucent 'white' on mine not pink as in the photo.

This one is going to be part of an internet-of-things project I am working on. Say no more. Beautiful item if you are into skulls. No doubt I will buy a third. And a fourth…
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2017
The positive reviews here sum it up well. Basically this is a great product. Solid and robust feeling, nice level of surface detail, movable and removable jaw. Enviable set of teeth ;)
I use it for artistic anatomy reference for which it serves its purpose extremely well. I can imagine that it is also a very good learning aid for medical professionals too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2014
I bought this for Artistic reference and the quality of the cast and build are outstanding for the price. This isn't a cheap kid's toy for halloween but a very robustly constructed and accurate facsimile of the Human Skull. Buy with confidence.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2016
I bought this skull for my own use as an aid to learn artistic anatomy (so many reviewers seem to be buying this kind of item for a niece or nephew who is training to be a doctor!). I think it is an excellent aid for this purpose. It has all the bony landmarks that I've been learning about (e.g., temporal line). The skull is life size but on the smaller side of the spectrum and the superciliary arch and frontal eminence are fairly subtle making me think that it is possibly female - a young one if the teeth are anything to go by. ... or maybe I've been watching too much CSI - in any case an excellent purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2017
Good mould with good views of the foramina. Serves its purpose for anatomy teaching. Top skull comes off easily and jaw is attached through a spring and hook mechanism which is pretty reliable. Some mould lines but good value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2016
It really is an amazing item. I love it. Its exactly what it says, and all my friends love it.
My skull has an inside spring for the jaw not side ones as in the picture.
I may buy two small springs just for show. Gives it an ex-medical look.
Nice weight to it too.
An excellent buy and for great price
Fits in well with my Goth style.
Will buy another at some point
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2013
I have purchased a few plastic skulls over the years from cheap 'props' to anatomically correct resin casts. This one falls in what I would call a mid range quality product but is the best overall value I have come across. Surface detail is very crisp and well defined, it has a few mould seams and flash but nothing too troubling. It should prove to be a useful training aid and has a nice detail touch in the form of an impacted molar. The magnetic cranium retainers are a clever idea too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2017
Use this as photo reference for art projects, great quality and detail!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2015
Great skull. I'm a medical student at the University of Cambridge, and am required to know the anatomy of the skull in an absurd amount of detail - which is very accurately shown by this skull. It doesn't have the internal or external auditory canals (but, inexplicably, does have the facial canal...).

Great purchase - definitely worth it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)