Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2010
This is one of the best documented works I have read. The story is impactful from the first page till the end. The writer has not given in to the temptation to give opinions, but has stayed with facts only. I think this is mandatory material for whomever opens his mouth about Chavez and has never actually read or studied anything. Especially if you do not speak Spanish fluently, you cannot judge about Chavez without reading such a book first. Apart from a perfect documented political & war story, it is also exciting to read. I can't recall having read such a good piece of work ever before. Important note: the book does not change one's opinion about socialism, capitalism, communism or pro- or anti-chavez. You decide for yourself.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
This is probably one of the best books i have ever read in any genre, it is brilliantly written, researched and explained. Bart Jones explains his subject in a balanced clear and intellectual manner.My only criticism would be that sometimes the chronology of events is described month by month and its not always easy to remember what year the events are taking place in.Putting this aside Jones shows that the way Hugo Chavez has been portrayed in the world's media is completely wrong. Everyone should read this book, especially if you are american and especially if you are an american journalist or politician exposed to the anti chavez media. I am no liberal or left leaning person but i think that Hugo Chavez will probably be remembered as one of the great leaders of our time. Read this book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Although he has his flaws like most leaders Hugo Chavez is a great man! This book is the truth and opened up my eyes to a country and society that resembled my own country (Zimbabwe) with its corrupt elitist gvt looting and plundering the countries resources at the expense of the poor. Venezuela has been transformed to give everyone a slice of the Venezuelan dream! Hugo is driven by a desire to create a socially just country where everyone can reap the benefits of the countries resources!
This is a great read and Bart Jones did thorough research for this work you can tell!
Hugo Chavez makes me proud to be a socialist
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Surprisingly revealing: so much that is unknown to UK/Western readers that got snapshots and soundbites and not very accurate ones at that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This book really demonstrates how much we are not told by the media. Chavez was clearly a man on a mission. Aside from some obvious criticisms he did a lot to improve Venezuela, following years of US capitalist puppets leaving millions in squalor all in the time of "profit" and the "free market". The author has an easy to read style and really makes this book come to life. If you have interest in Chavez, Venezuela or international affairs, this is a MUST read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
though I am half way through the e-book, I can say this is an excellent insight into the man, the politician, and the effect he had on his country.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
Leave the corporate media's propaganda aside, read this for the truth about Chavez. Hard data, full context, political nouse, and a sense of social justice and compassion drive this riveting book. You're either on the iede of the poor and dispossessed like Chavez, or the rich and powerful like most of the media. This book is on the side of the angels.

Written like a dream, too, hard narrative, deft characterisation, telling details, just enough political theory and relevant history.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
This is a great book for anyone who wants to know more about Hugo Chavez. It tells the truth rather than the propagnada.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
A fascinating and well-written exploration of the life of one of the most influential characters in Latin American politics. A must read for anyone with an interest in current affairs or the continent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)