Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
97
4.7 out of 5 stars
Size: 67 mm|Change
Price:£49.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2014
A great good quality kit.
There are loads of very cheap filters available now, but it is insane that people will pay good hard earned money for a camera, then even more for lenses, then compromise their quality by placing cheap filters on the end - just to save a few quid!
Hoya produce good quality filters at very reasonable prices
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hoya 49 mm Filter Kit II Digital for Lens
With a digital camcorder there are only two filters (possibly one) which may be considered as “essential”. For movie makers wishing to counteract the immense depth of focus of small camcorders we may add a third
1) A circular polariser to remove reflections / enhance colours – particularly in tropical areas and when photographing items in water (e.g. fish) or through glass (as in museums – subject to you being allowed to film!)
2) A UV filter for high altitude (mountains, flying) or some seaside views to cut out UV haze .On still camera they were often used to protect the lens from scratches in place of lens caps. This camcorder has its own “shutter cap” which closes when the camera powers down.
3) A neutral density filter to force the use of wide apertures to reduce the depth of field
This Hoya kit combines a pack of all three for the price of a circular polariser.

On test on a Panasonic HC X920 I noted the following:-

The filters as received (in a nice travelling pack in optical paper sleeves) are of the thin variety and threading on the front (49mm as well) to “piggyback” filters.
The combination of the thin filters and the part cut threading on the front of the camcorder mean you need to be careful putting them on – not to be a rushed job. With the polariser ( which works well) you can fit the camera’s ( small) lens hood back on the front – all without apparent cut off ( vignetting) even at wide angle.
Similar results were obtained with UV and ND filters.
So first impressions – 3 for the price of one – 5 star.
(Will update after more serious use in India at the end of this year).

(Note – for those who like to experiment with Cokin filters and have the 49mm mount, these also work but the above Hoya is the good basic workhorse kit for travel)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I was looking for a UV filter to double up as a lens protector and came across this triple set which includes a polariser and a ND. A good entry point for anyone looking for a first filter set and it's really nice how you can screw one on top of another.

Overall a good quality product at a good price
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
This set provides a more than adequate set of basic filters at a more than reasonable cost. I've not used all 3 yet, the UV is a permanent fitting to protect the lens and I used the polarising filter a few times to great effect. I'm not actually using the wallet as there is a location specifically for 2 filters on the case (also from Amazon) the Amazon Basics camera case ~ see separate review for that.
Highly recommended as a great product at a great price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Got these to use with my Panasonic FZ200. As an amateur enthusiast I canon comment on how good the filters are professionally but in my experimenting so far I'm very impressed with them.

The build is exceptionally good. The case that comes in the box is great. Very pleased.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2015
Decent set of filters for a great prices. Comes with a booklet with quite alot of info on the filters, when to use them (if you don't know), along with details on other filters available.

Very pleased with the results.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
You get what you pay for. I am happy with Hoya.

ND has white spot on it. My fault or it came like this?
PLC working as should.
UV - don't use as I already have one.

It came in nice case. But it touches filers glass. I prefer plastic cases.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
great product, bought specifically to use on holiday in the soith of france over the summer. juust make sure once youve used the filter ypu remove it. as they are aluminium the have a habit of expanding in the heat - the polaroid one was stuck on the lense the entire holiday but as the metal contracted back in the UK if became free and was able to remove it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Great set of 3 Hoya circular filters at a reasonable price. I much prefer the pouch to plastic filter cases which are fiddly to use. The main thing to be aware of is that you do not get the slim (thin rim) filters but the thicker ones. Therefore, when using at smaller focal lengths of 18-25mm, the thickness of the filter rim could lead to vignetting. However, this is a minor issue for all but the most discerning photographers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Bought these for my girlfriend at Christmas to go with her new camera (D3100) and lens (Sigma 18-200 mm f/3.5-6.3 HSM DC OS II). So far they have produced great results and the quality appears to be more than satisfactory. We are very happy with the filters and carrying pouch is great too. Very useful kit!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)