Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
103
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2013
.....to the mindless drivel you can download for free or almost-free to your Kindle now!

Save your 20ps here and there and spend 99p on a classic.

The premise is simple, elegant, and both traditional and modern: sex and class are what define us. Forster uses three intertwined families to play out the problems faced by so many people in the UK in the first part of the 20th century. Some of the questions raised are still relevant today (should we interfere in the lives of others?) whereas others are more rooted in the contemporary context (disastrous consequences of unmarried sex), yet still engaging and perhaps enlightening, depending on the reader.
Forster creates a sense of place very skillfully, delinates characters in utterly convincing detail and manages a rather long time frame for the plot with skill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
A winner. Worth every moment of your reading time. Worth savouring and reading slowly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Beware, this printing has tiny text that is very hard to read comfortably.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
An enjoyable book but wrecked by terrible proofreading. Multiple full stops and speech marks have been missed out, and the formatting choices are so bad that they're distracting. I don't recommend the Start Classics edition - it's cheap but not worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
I was recommended Howards End many years ago but somehow couldn't get into it, or didn't fancy it, then. I've just put that lapse right, and so glad I did. It's a beautifully written story subtle and surprising (to me, at any rate) in its turns of events. But it`s really the characters that are the novel's main strength. Love 'em or hate em, they are real.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I loved this book . E M Forster cleverly portrays the hypocrisy of an age when women were still seen as second class citizens and the poor deserved their status and were to be ignored as much as possible. The two Schlegel girls are budding feminists with caring if naive attitudes to society. Their contact with a wealthy business man and his family plus a poor bank clerk and a stolen umbrella come together for a plot that makes it hard to put the book down. It is a book I shall read again and again.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I had always wanted to read an E M Forster novel having heard good reports of his work.

Beautifully written in a style reminiscent of the Bronte Sisters. In fact, if Branwell Bronte had ever got round to writing
a book in between bouts of drunkenness and drug use, this could have been the book he would have written.
The struggle of two orphaned young ladies, and their strange brother, to survive with some dignity in the world is compelling reading. The fact that the older and plainer sister succeeds in gaining Howards End whilst salvaging her younger sisters reputation along the way was touching.

Anybody who enjoys reading a good story written in expressive English will enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
It took me a while to get into this book but once I had I really enjoyed it. Some powerful women and some unpleasant men, but all works out in the end.
.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Great classic of its time , not everyone's cup of tea but if your into classics this is a very good book written in the idiom of the early 20 th century
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
Would be a great story. Unfortunately, this particular edition is completely unreadable without a magnifying glass. Suggest they pulp the lot and
produce a new edition in a normal print size. What is the point of describing the print as intentionally small?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse