Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2005
We recommend this book to people trying to get hired at Microsoft or companies influenced by its hiring practices; people who want to think critically about how hiring practices work; and people who want to see how smart they are. The last group includes those who enjoy puzzles, and will relish the fun, challenging questions presented here. The book's core is a collection of entertaining brainteasers from job interviews. Given the high level of competition, most people who are trying to get hired at Microsoft probably need the edge it provides. Readers can work methodically through the questions, and the reasons behind them, to build a general approach for dealing with most puzzles. Readers who want to reflect on hiring practices - such as human resources personnel or scholars of corporate culture - will find the book intriguing but incomplete. Author William Poundstone is incredibly useful when discussing the gaps between what these questions do and what they are intended to do, but he delivers only quick sketches of explanations about how corporate culture retains these approaches despite their relative lack of function. His suggestions for alternative approaches are equally brief. Even after reading this entertaining book, readers are likely to find that perfecting their companies' interviewing processes will continue to be something of a puzzle.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Great little book - which gives the background on why high-tech companies ask these questions, and quite a few puzzles you can share with your family and friends.

I can't comment on the efficacy of this book yet for interview preparation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2006
Another demonstration of Microsoft geekiness.

You don't need to be preparing for an interview in order to buy this book.

It is full of brain teasers & smart answers for tricky questions which will make your brain busy for hours..

You will also have a lot to talk with your friends if they all read the book, will try to find geeker answers to the questions if you are one of a kind.

I read it, I loved it; if there will be a second book with more questions in it, i would not hesitate but would go and buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2004
Most of this book traces the development of how brainteasers and other puzzles found their way into Investment Banking, consulting-type interviews. This in itself is not very useful, although there are 2 chapters dedicated to the actual brainteasers often used in banking interviews and their answers.
There isn't much on how you should actually answer these questions in order to impress your interviewers.
The upside of this book is that the chapter containing the brainteasers probably covers all the brainteasers you'll ever 'bump' into during typical Wall Street/City interviews.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 July 2007
I loved this book. The puzzles are great and there's a good spread of difficulties. About half the book is given over the story of the rise of the tech giants and how they recruit good staff, particularly developers. It's all highly entertaining, the only bit I didn't care for was Poundstone's own theories on the best way to interview staff. I'm not in HR so this I could do without, but other than that this book is great fun, especially if you're a programmer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
I'm not sure how good it is to prepare you for a Microsoft interview but in any case it's a fun book to read. Nice puzzles to keep you amused.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Bought this for brother as Xmas present, the boy who has everything. Thought would be handy for next job interview.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
It's great it you are trying to get a Microsoft job but that is it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
The book talks a lot about measuring intelligence, and has some puzzles, more an entertaning read that something that would get you ready for an interview. includes a lot of history on the Intelligence Tests, some general information about interviews and some puzzles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse