Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2017
lots of ideas about setting up and avoiding pitfalls
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
A very practical and helpfull guide for the complete beginner to this area of business. Gillean Sangster is able to keep the subject alive and interesting as she discusses some of the boring but necessary elements of starting to run this kind of business. Speaking from a wealth of practical experence she helps you to see if you are suited to become a holiday letter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
I had to cancel this ebook order and get a refund - it's just too old, so much isn't right or relevant now, needs a new edition.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
We used the first edition of this book to guide us when we started out in the holiday cottage business. All the advice was so practical and relevant and answered most, if not all, of our questions. We still go back to it and recently, I recommended it to someone about to set up their holday cottage business.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
A basic understanding of what is involved. Well written, but not enough depth. Leaves you needing further research to fully understand and get the most out of running a holiday cottage.

Could have been so much better
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
As first timers, we found this book useful, especially as a comprehensive checklist to follow. The main downside was its age (2007) which meant that it was not up to date on some areas of legislation (e.g. fire safety). Still well worth buying though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
Very informative as a starter reference book for anyone contemplating a new holiday let business. I found the advice really helpful - pointed me in the right direction for further research/information
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
This is an excellent guide to anyone thinking about starting a holiday cottage business. It throws up a lot more questions than I originally had and then answers them too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
This book is so basic and so obvious that anyone over the age of 10 could probably write it. Some examples are 'ensure you buy a dining table large enough to seat all guests', ' the UK has a very wide variety of tourist sites', 'ensure your rooms are not to small and not too big....... you don't say....really, please......anyone with more than 2 brain cells could probably write a more useful guide than this. It does not quotes any actual business advice or examples. Lots of 'don't forget to consider's' and reels of lots of lists of things that are blatantly obvious. Please don't waste your money, or time even reading it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Great book. Covers a lot, providing good detailed info for day to day running etc. However, a lot has changed since this was published, eg marketing through social media, use of channel managers etc. Still very useful though! Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)