FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
How to Get a (Love) Life has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Over 6 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Over 6 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

How to Get a (Love) Life Paperback – 2 Feb 2017

4.3 out of 5 stars 106 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£2.88 £3.49
Audio CD
"Please retry"
£17.35
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
£7.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


Frequently bought together

  • How to Get a (Love) Life
  • +
  • How to Find Your (First) Husband
Total price: £15.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Corvus; Main edition (2 Feb. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1782398643
  • ISBN-13: 978-1782398646
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (106 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 700,081 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Wonderfully likeable characters and a realistic plot." Sun"

"The dates in How To Get a (Love) Life can be excruciatingly awkward, but they're hilarious . . . a great read." Hello"

"A very funny, very real portrayal of someone struggling with an extremely large rut . . . Nicola's search for a date and, ultimately, for someone to love is ridiculously funny, sweet and had a proper 'sigh out loud and hug my kindle end.' I'm sad I've finished it." chicklitlove.blogspot.co.uk"

-Wonderfully likeable characters and a realistic plot.- --Sun

-The dates in How To Get a (Love) Life can be excruciatingly awkward, but they're hilarious . . . a great read.- --Hello

-A very funny, very real portrayal of someone struggling with an extremely large rut . . . Nicola's search for a date and, ultimately, for someone to love is ridiculously funny, sweet and had a proper 'sigh out loud and hug my kindle end.' I'm sad I've finished it.- --chicklitlove.blogspot.co.uk

Book Description

A feel-good, hilarious romcom perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Nicola Brown is borderline obsessive compulsive. She likes control and order in her life so much so she eats at the same time every day, has a set menu for her week and absolutely does not day. She likes to be alone. So when her fun-loving, carefree colleague Caroline dares her to get a date for Valentine's Day which is in three months time, Nicola flat out refuses. However, when her brother later tells her again that he couldn't date a woman at thirty three due to the effort of wooing her and them being a relationship would leave her infertile due to her age has her wondering. Has she left it too late? So she accepts the dare to get a love life in three months and the chaos that ensues allows Nicola to see that not only did she need to get a love life but she needed to get a life.

How to Get a (Love) Life is Rosie Blake's debut novel and what an entrance to the literary world she has made. How to Get a (Love) Life is a funny, romantic and addictive novel that I read completely in one sitting. Her characters were poles apart in their personalities and yet jammed well to make a realistic work setting while going on a hunt for possible dates. Nicola's brother, Mark, comes and goes through her life leaving the reader with small smiles on their faces. With chapter openers being laid out like a lonely hearts advert Blake shows a unique style of keeping the audience entertained with her novel.

I obviously won't ruin the book by telling you if Nicola finds love but I think the important lesson learnt through this book isn't about finding love. It's about finding time to live and to enjoy things in life. Yes, you're going to have dates from hell. Yes, your perfectly organised world might crash around you at times. But it doesn't matter. Life is a learning curve and one you should enjoy no matter what. So why not enjoy it a little more and give this book a read?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I would like to thank Kerri at Novelicious Books for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

I want to say I love the cover of this books, nothing fancy or over the top as it might have been, but it just makes you want to pick up the book to find out what it's all about.

We first meet Nicola as she is the queue to go on a singles holiday, this instantly had me intrigued..... but this book isn't about Nicola trying to find a lovelife on a singles holiday. It is all about what happens before she ends up at the airport......

I've got to say Rosie had me laughing at Nicolas disasterous dates the one with the Kayake was hilarious, think personally I would of killed him with anything I could of got my hands (middle of November, no way).
Rosie surrounded Nicola with a host of likeable characters Charlotte and her madcap but loveable children. Nicholas brother, who if he was mine think I would of killed after the dates he set Nicola up with.

Then there was James, Nicolas boss, wish I had a boss like him.....
I loved all the dates totally believeable, I'm sure everyone can tell about disasterous dates, I certainly can, although not as good as Rosie's. I would love to read more of Rosie's books.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A deeply interesting story about a girl called Nicola who appears to be happy with her life and her singleton status. She has routine - she works hard and is dedicated and is willing to go to any length to retain clients for the firm including dating a client and stepping into an acting role in a catsuit if required. She diets and eats very healthy foods and is strict with herself. She doesn't date and hasn't had a boyfriend for 7 years. Her heart was broken by someone from university and as a result she prefers to not date to protect herself from losing control and being let down. Just thinking about this ex-boyfriend of several years ago brings on all the old hurt and sense of betrayal.

She starts a new job at an acting agency run by the rather georgeous, good looking James Sullivan. The only other person in the office is her work colleague Caroline, a mum of two young children whose life is all nannies and chaos with the kids running wild around the office when the babysitting arrangements fall down. Caroline looks at Nicola's life with sadness, she sees Nicola a very young and attractive girl, set in her ways and sadly with no one to share her life with. She decides to turn this on its head and challenges Nicola to find someone by Valentine's Day. Although initially Nicola is reluctant and sceptical about the whole dating scene she takes up the challenge. What ensues is a whole load of hillarious dating disasters with men who are completely unsuitable but which results in her being able to relate the tales of these to her friend Caroline and brother Mark resulting in lots of fun and laughter.

This new scenario she is in suddenly makes her a more interesting person and makes her determined to continue with the dating until she finds someone to share her life with.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Nice easy read. Kept me entertained. I think I missed a bit of description of James along the way. For some reason I thought he was much older and not even in the running. My fault I often fall asleep at night reading. Pleasant read, would recommend.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category