Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

How Fiction Works Hardcover – 7 Feb 2008

4.0 out of 5 stars 45 customer reviews

See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover, 7 Feb 2008
£427.32 £1.05
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Jonathan Cape Ltd (7 Feb. 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0224079832
  • ISBN-13: 978-0224079839
  • Product Dimensions: 13.6 x 2.2 x 22.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 45 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 962,217 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'...refined taste, keen observation, and the ability to make the reader argue, passionately, with it.' -- Financial Times

'Intelligent, well-read and extremely confident' -- Gaurdian

`the world's leading critic.... Whether he praises or pillories, he makes you want to read the text he's freshly filleted.' -- Sun Herald

'the overall spirit and implication of this book are as important as its direct statements'
-- Irish Times

'there aren't many book reviewers like James Wood'
-- Sunday Telegraph

`James Wood is Britain's lost literary critic... very little literary criticism achieves that.' -- Evening Standard

`James Wood's enchanting new book...Witty, concise, and composed with a lovely lightness of touch' -- The Economist

`exceptionally illuminating... brilliantly acute and enticingly widely red work. It should be compulsory...' -- Herald

`this compelling essay shows just how deeply, sensitively, imaginatively and joyfully he reads' -- Scotland on Sunday

`what is impressive about How Fiction Works is its practical utility' -- TLS

Synopsis

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel" and Milan Kundera's "The Art of the Novel", "How Fiction Works" is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint?Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.

See all Product description


Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

4 May 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
3 June 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
19 February 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
12 September 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
11 December 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
19 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
27 May 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?