Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2014
Our son has been under our cars with me more than a few times, and seems very interested in the inner workings. Picked the book up as a stocking stuffer for the Christmas season, and he really seems to have been enjoying going through it.

The book gives broad explanations of what different parts of the car do, which will hopefully intrigue our son enough to delve further into how those parts do their magic and how they can be worked on and tweaked. Maybe it is already working, 'cause he asked if it would be OK to take a small engine mechanics class in school next year. We shall see.

Nice introductory book to learn the basics of which part does what job, and maybe to help someone take the next step along the path of more in-depth learning. Recommended if that is what you seek too.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
If you're interested in learning about cars, but don't know where to start, this can be a great help. It's full of information, it's not massively in depth, but theres enough to learn about cars and how they generally work. It also covers quite a bit of the 'newer' stuff, or what I would consider 'newer', Again, not very in depth, but does brush up on it.

Overall a great book IF you're completely new to cars and just want a learn a little. If you're a car guru or you want to become one quickly, this probably isn't the most ideal book for you.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
This book is the perfect primer for anyone who needs to understand how cars work. It is very well illustrated, and the text is very easy to follow in conjunction with the illustrations.

You are not going to diagnose or service your car straight away after reading this book, but it will ease you into the more advanced texts and give you the vocabulary you need to read them.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
Definitely a must have for all wannabe car fanatics. Diagrams are very well drew and labelled. Question bit at the end of each section to make sure you've fully understood it all is also a brilliant idea.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
I bought this book for my nephew, he was really impressed with the book, he found it to be a useful with loads of reference points. The book arrived on time in secure packaging.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
I used the kit to teach English to a 12-yr-old French boy. He has learned how an engine works and he has learned a great deal of English. He has also learned how to use the internet as a learning tool and not just as a source of games and videos.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Easy book that shows the basics,
suited for everyone whithout basic knowledge of how a car works.
Maybe best for young teenagers ?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Bought for my car mad 12 year old, he loves it, his 34 year old uncle was impressed too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Great book for an introduction to the basics of vehicle mechanics and components.
Good read for pre-apprentices.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
My nephew loved this! He's learning about cars he said it's great reference with diagrams...soft back.thin and bendy A4size book..all in black and white illustrations, but ideal for beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)