Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2011
A lot of thought has gone into the writing of this book. It is not the usual rehash of cliched ideas and fluff that all too often find their way into business books.

This publication provides some unique insights into developing a business or professional reputation.

Section 1 of the book takes time to establish the credibility of the author's ideas and supplies numerous benefits of developing a superior reputation.

Section 2 on designing reputations is excellent. It contains some insightful exercises, such as the reality gap exercise and the employment exercise (with its impressive selection of key action words). These tools can be used again and again in assessing one's progress to achieving the desired reputation.

Also worth reading are the 4 ways to build niche, analysing a target audience, key questions for selecting a niche and formulating a unique value proposition.

Section 3 is arguably the best part of the book. It starts by introducing the personal reputation plan. It outlines 10 different strategies for building a reputation, but recommends focusing on one or two that are best suited to the reader's preferences. Detailed and specific guidance is then given on how to achieve each objective.

The next part on gaining influence as your reputation grows is also highly practical and specific. Although adapted from John Maxwell's work (which is duly credited), the author has stamped his own identity and angle on this issue.

The 70 best tools, tips and tactics provide a menu from which business owners can choose the most relevant ways to enhance their reputations.

Section 4 is also very good and will provide a handy reference in case one's reputation is damaged and needs recovery.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Very disappointing in this book. Its a load of hot air and no substance! The writer constantly refers to his website and his business, it feels like its all sell, sell, sell! He compares himself to another speaker who gets paid more then him per lecture - very unnecessary information!

However the main flaw with this book is it promises that even if you don't have anything special about you/your product with amazing reputation you can still get ahead. The whole concept feels very fake like you are trying to fool others you are something you are not. And, like all lies once others find out the truths it would make your reputation worst then before.

He does briefly touches on finding out what is unique about you/your product using very basic methods like SWAT and Gap analysis but this doesn't even scratch the service. I suggest reading "7 Habits of Highly Effective People" by Stephen Covey to really delve into your core to find what is unique about you and what is really important to you. Also the book "Business Networking" by Heather Townsend is very good to then get yourself noticed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
I was lucky enough to see Rob Brown in action today - brilliant! He's very motivational and gave us lots of practical ideas, tips and scripts that we can use to help differentiate ourselves in the marketplace and increase sales. Unlike many motivational presentations, all his ideas are down to earth and easily adopted by anyone wanting to grow their sales cost-effectively. Can also thoroughly recommend Rob's book "How to Build Your Reputation" which I read last year and this live session really reinforced the book's message - win more business, achieve success and wealth, by doing it in a way that sits comfortably with you (as long as you're prepared to work at it, of course!). Highly recommended to anyone who wants their business to be successful.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
Rob Brown is a well known speaker with a reputation of being engaging, motivating, and always leaving you with something to take away. He does it again with his book about building your reputation.

The book is laid out in a simple way, offering the greatest tips and tools to build your reputation in the way you want to. It also tells you the perils of not working on your reputation, and that alone is a reason to buy this book (which is the one of the only ones in this field), and follow the easy lessons - it would harm your reputation not to!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
Over the years we have witnessed many house-hold names disappear so quickly - This demonstrates the power of reputation - what takes years to build can be lost in seconds.
On the other hand most of my friends only keep-on buying goods from a well-known high street despite the fact they can find the same items cheaper else where - Why?

This book helps us understand this power - which we know as reputation -

It is extremely beneficial for not only entrepreneurs and business people but every individual because - if we have identity than we have reputation whether you like it or not

Rob Brown's book "how to build Reputation" has practically shown me how to actively manage other people's opinions and perception about me and my business to maximise our most valuable asset - reputation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
I have read Rob's book twice now and would thoroughly recommend it. It is toe-curlingly insightful and very relevant for anyone out there wanting to achieve in business. No, you probably don't want to examine what reputation you are building for yourself, but sadly, it is important that you do. With the growth of business networking as an important part of marketing strategy comes the greater importance of selling ourselves. Rob tells you how to do this and why you should. Ignore his advice at your peril!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
I have seen Rob speak a couple of times and he is a great communicator. His approach is direct, down-to-earth and actionable. This book is just the same. It helps you work out the reputation that you want and shows you how to set about achieving it. The rest is down to you!
Whatever your profession, if you want to improve how you market yourself, this book should be high on your list of "must-reads" .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
If you work in a competitive industry and rely on your reputation to do business then this is the book you MUST read. Rob Brown is an expert in the field of building business relationships through networking and referrals. This is often a complicated and misuderstood area that people fear but in his book Rob gives the reader the confidence and skills to build that all important reputation!

He not only explains how to build your reputation but also how to defend it too! As the world gets smaller through technology and the speed at which information flows (bad more often than good) it's never been more important to convey the right image!

If you want to stand out from the crowd, be heard and remembered for the right reasons then this book is highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
This book is full of useful, practical tips on ways you can boost your reputation (both as a business owner and an employee). Rob has managed to simplify some previously over-complicated processes and get to the point with things you should be considering and putting into action.
I particularly liked the Value Seeking Questions as a way to boost profits and create loyal customers, and the way in which everything is broken down into its basic components.
I'm a Chartered Marketer and use a lot of the models within the book, but I've never seen them displayed in such a way that everyone can easily understand them - well done Rob!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
I first read this book in 2009 and re-visited it this week. Forgotten how good it was and I really like some of the quotes in the book including the ones from Rob himself.

Great content whilst being easy to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)